xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 Yup.. Spent about 55k for the renovation alone... But again, perhaps my floor area is big... that's why it really cost quite abit for the flooring.. My carpentry also got abit.. Everything add up, it's alot liao... No lar.. to be frank, the renovation, more than half is paid by my boy... I only pay abit abit nia... That's why I never do all at 1 go... Feel bad to spend all his savings like that.. That's why now, I wanna contribute using my 13th month mah... My company already announced, 13th month, we will be getting.. That's why... if i rem correctly, Air's house also around the same size as you.. ni zhen de heng you qian.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 if i rem correctly, Air's house also around the same size as you.. ni zhen de heng you qian.. We both EA, should be around same area bah.. Mine is 148sqm.. Not you qian... but just wanna do it up nicely, as long as within our budget.. Previously, our budget was 50k for reno alone... But aircon cost us 4.6k... so, shot off abit.. That's why we cut out the cosy corner.. Did not do it up except for the platform & string curtain... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 Morning! your reno cost 55k! That's almost comparable to a private property reno man! now you're going to spend more money on your reno again! but if your initial reno is like you mentioned, only do basic things like flooring etc, 55K is too much leh.....MY friend's EA, 146sqm, her reno costs 30 - 40K nia for a complete overhaul including things like built in carpentry leh...some more hers is resale flat.. but seriously, i got 13th month too but then, i still don't think it's enough lor and to spend it again on reno.... for me....I can do better things with that money i agree with Air.. i also got news for bonus also.. but i not going to spend it if possible. my plan is to spend the current mth pay to buy clothes for my mum and MIL. treat my family for a good meal.. thats all.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 Issit? Ok lar.. The prices we were quoted are quite acceptable.. For the same things, I was quoted 60k by 1 ID, and 66k by another ID... And both quotes are without aircon... My 55k includes the aircon liao.. So, strictly, the reno is only 50K... It's my bloody kitchen and WIW that cost alot on the carpentry... And we chose quite expensive tiles that time... Used veneer for our carpentry also.. If we chose laminates, it will be much cheaper... Resale flat reno should be cheaper right? Mine was totally empty when I got the flat... I need to tear away the tiles, flooring and cornices... And mine got quite abit of kocking down of walls and reconstructing new walls... All the small things add to the final bill.. As for the 13th month, I just wanna contribute abit to the house... Really felt bad that my boy is always the one paying... Yours was a new flat? Resale flats reno usually cost a lot more because they need to hack and lay new tiles....need to electrical re-wiring too....not to mention patching back walls etc.....so i'm quite surprised to hear that you spent 55K on your reno then your intended reno now how much it's gonig to cost?? Dun tell me your total reno adds up become 100K.... :bangwall: i agree with Air.. i also got news for bonus also.. but i not going to spend it if possible. my plan is to spend the current mth pay to buy clothes for my mum and MIL. treat my family for a good meal.. thats all.. Actualyl our 13th month is fixed but this year HR never announced yet...i hope the 13th month is still on ar i planning to invest my money......and save part of it...in case next year i out of job Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 We both EA, should be around same area bah.. Mine is 148sqm.. Not you qian... but just wanna do it up nicely, as long as within our budget.. Previously, our budget was 50k for reno alone... But aircon cost us 4.6k... so, shot off abit.. That's why we cut out the cosy corner.. Did not do it up except for the platform & string curtain... but if you check around hor.. not much newly wed couple spend so much for reno leh... consider that cost.. can so 2 4room reno liao.. somemore is pretty nice one.. plus the car you drive.. tell ppl you no money.. no one will believe lor.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 Yours was a new flat? Resale flats reno usually cost a lot more because they need to hack and lay new tiles....need to electrical re-wiring too....not to mention patching back walls etc.....so i'm quite surprised to hear that you spent 55K on your reno then your intended reno now how much it's gonig to cost?? Dun tell me your total reno adds up become 100K.... :bangwall: Not new flat... Got from HDB.. But when we took the keys, only left the flooring and the ugly old cornices...So, we also need to hack off everything there.. The flooring of the entire house, the wall tiles of the kitchen and both toilets.. Knock down 6 walls, reconstruct 3 walls.. Relay whole house tiles, toilet wall tiles, living room, study room, MBR's false ceiling.. I also re-wire the whole house.. Actually, we really did alot of stuffs... just that can't see at all... No lar.. Where got 100k? I only intend to spend 10k on my house nia... Nothing more than that.. My contractor comes back to me with the quote liao.. The mini pub I want will cost about 3.8k... plus the plastering and wallpapers.. about 10k or less lor.. Nothing to do after that.. Ttoally complete liao... Actually, the above, should be done during reno... But we dont wanna pay so much at 1 go... So now we slowly do up.. To you guys, it's like we do more and more.. In actual fact, we are just doing what we wanted to do back then... Coz no $$ back then, that's why doing it bit by bit now... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 Actualyl our 13th month is fixed but this year HR never announced yet...i hope the 13th month is still on ar i planning to invest my money......and save part of it...in case next year i out of job we dont have 13th mth bonus.. just mid mth and year end bonus.. yesterday my friend told me.. insider news.. probably 3 mths.. really hope wont revise any more.. *pray hard* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 but if you check around hor.. not much newly wed couple spend so much for reno leh... consider that cost.. can so 2 4room reno liao.. somemore is pretty nice one.. plus the car you drive.. tell ppl you no money.. no one will believe lor.. Becasue we don't intend to move at all... We straight away get an EA coz we wanted to stay for good even if we have kids in future.. I have frens spending only 20k for reno... But they alr plan to sell the flat off in the near future.. For us, we totally have no intention of moving at all... Thus, had make up our minds to do the house nicely once and for all... I know not many people will think like me... But I am somemore who hate changes.. Will try to avoid change... Even if I can earn alot by selling, I will still stay put... As for the car we drive, it does not belong to us mah.. It belongs to the finance company.. If we are rich, we would have fully paid the car.. To us, we just wanna have a go at this kind of turbo car at least once when we are young in our lives.. Life is like that.. You see me good, I see you good.. I have frens driving same cars as us, but none of them are as rich as what you think... Everyone has different piorities in life.. Some people want to scrimp and save now.. But we are those who will enjoy and scrimp at the same time.. We rather give up certain luxuries.. Just that no one knows.. we dont have 13th mth bonus.. just mid mth and year end bonus.. yesterday my friend told me.. insider news.. probably 3 mths.. really hope wont revise any more.. *pray hard* That's great!!! At least yuor company is still giving out bonus... We also had both mid and end year bonus...Mid year also got 3 months.. But end of year, no news.. Only 13th month is cfm... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 That's great!!! At least yuor company is still giving out bonus... We also had both mid and end year bonus...Mid year also got 3 months.. But end of year, no news.. Only 13th month is cfm... got already good.. mai hiam.. i will not touch the bonus if possible.. will try to invest it, if possible also.. $$ grows $$... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 got already good.. mai hiam.. i will not touch the bonus if possible.. will try to invest it, if possible also.. $$ grows $$... Good lar.. But for me, so little $$, how to invest? And hor, I dunno how to invest one.. Later lose $$, I will cry... Is it a good time to invest now? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 Not new flat... Got from HDB.. But when we took the keys, only left the flooring and the ugly old cornices...So, we also need to hack off everything there.. The flooring of the entire house, the wall tiles of the kitchen and both toilets.. Knock down 6 walls, reconstruct 3 walls.. Relay whole house tiles, toilet wall tiles, living room, study room, MBR's false ceiling.. I also re-wire the whole house.. Actually, we really did alot of stuffs... just that can't see at all... No lar.. Where got 100k? I only intend to spend 10k on my house nia... Nothing more than that.. My contractor comes back to me with the quote liao.. The mini pub I want will cost about 3.8k... plus the plastering and wallpapers.. about 10k or less lor.. Nothing to do after that.. Ttoally complete liao... Actually, the above, should be done during reno... But we dont wanna pay so much at 1 go... So now we slowly do up.. To you guys, it's like we do more and more.. In actual fact, we are just doing what we wanted to do back then... Coz no $$ back then, that's why doing it bit by bit now... hmm...cos general rule of thumb is reno cost should not exceed 20% of the price of your flat leh..... wow...plastering and wallpapers why need 10k?!? hmm....but to you, it's just slowly do....to us, the reno cost is like spending 60K+ on reno is ALOT of money leh.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 Good lar.. But for me, so little $$, how to invest? And hor, I dunno how to invest one.. Later lose $$, I will cry... Is it a good time to invest now? you always say.. little money.. wah liao.. scually your little money is 20k-30k type.. no comments on investment.. is all abt reading up the news and understanding the current market.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 Good lar.. But for me, so little $$, how to invest? And hor, I dunno how to invest one.. Later lose $$, I will cry... Is it a good time to invest now? there's no certainty in investments...nobody can tell u whether u will gain or lose.... my hubby said now's a good time cos prices are already so low....how much more lower is it going to go? but u must be prepared to hold it for a longer period of time....at least 5years..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 hmm...cos general rule of thumb is reno cost should not exceed 20% of the price of your flat leh..... wow...plastering and wallpapers why need 10k?!? hmm....but to you, it's just slowly do....to us, the reno cost is like spending 60K+ on reno is ALOT of money leh.... The price refers to the valuation? Or the price you bought the flat? I understand that theory.. But somehow, I gonna rot and die in this house.. Want to make it as nice as possible within our budget.. Nah... The mini pub, plus 2 veneer doors, plus 1 glass door, plus the plastering and wallpaper will amount up to about 10k... it's the wallpaper itself that is expensive... I know... It's like snowballing.. But we had already set a last 10k limit to it.. hmmm... After that, we will be saving every single cent we earn... Anyway, tks for your advice.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted November 25, 2008 hmm...cos general rule of thumb is reno cost should not exceed 20% of the price of your flat leh..... wow...plastering and wallpapers why need 10k?!? hmm....but to you, it's just slowly do....to us, the reno cost is like spending 60K+ on reno is ALOT of money leh.... the thing is when you decided to have kid.. you need to do up kid's room again.. i believe there goes another few thousands.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites