Phantom

Housewarming Invite

Maybe the due to the surface of the cememt screed the grease is harder to come get off when cleaning? Seems like cement screeded wall quite popular these days. It does give a nice raw feeling.

Over time, hairline cracks are inevitable....not only for tiles and glass, even normal walls also....it all boils down to maintenance lar...

for tiles how to maintain to prevent cracks?? :unsure:

mine is metal backing.. also not advisable lah.. because long run the can see wiping marks on it...

i need help.. my MBR toilet flush is leaking leh.. you know any contact of change the pump inside?? :unsure:

Initially, I also wanted to do cement screed for the whole of my kitchen.. But a friend of mine who did it a few years ago, advised me against it.. Saying that it's difficult to clean on the long run..

That's why I did painting.. But I don't know how true it is... :dunno:

will have cracks one.. its not easy to maintain. true.

Over time, hairline cracks are inevitable....not only for tiles and glass, even normal walls also....it all boils down to maintenance lar...

Hmm.. How to maintain? I clean my backing every time after I cook.. And make sure that I don't knock into it at all... Anything else to take note of?

but i think you still ok leh.. painting.. can suka suka repaint or retile next time if you suddenly like tiles..

Becoz really no need lar.. I feel that tiles gives the kitchen a very complicated look.. Unless, you are talking about a whole colour like white or light peach etc.. Unless you got a certain concept.. Like those black and white kitchen, might need some coloured tiles to contrast the effects for the overall look..

I spend alot of time in my kitchen.. The last thing I want is to feel messy in it.. But different ppl think differently also.. I am more orbiang.. :P

mine is metal backing.. also not advisable lah.. because long run the can see wiping marks on it...

i need help.. my MBR toilet flush is leaking leh.. you know any contact of change the pump inside?? :unsure:

You can't prevent hairline cracks from appearing one...don't bother....:P

Y leaking? You sure it's the pump? Open the cistern and see if anything's loose first??

Edited by Air

Maybe the due to the surface of the cememt screed the grease is harder to come get off when cleaning? Seems like cement screeded wall quite popular these days. It does give a nice raw feeling.

I guess so.. The colour will differ as time passed.. That's what she told me.. You like that raw feeling? I don't like it.. If you go to my incomplete t-blog, I think I got 1 pic that shows the cement screed kitchen.. Looks very.... cold and dry...

I like cosy colours.. :)

Change the whole pump?

will have cracks one.. its not easy to maintain. true.

Everything also have cracks lor.. I tore down alot of walls in my house, and rebuild a few in some areas.. Already have cracks liao.. Also don't know how.. I just leave it there lar.. Think too much also sian.. If get wallpaper, can help anot ar?

You can't prevent hairline cracks from appearing one...don't bother....:P

Y leaking? You sure it's the pump? Open the cistern and see if anything's loose first??

that time my common toilet also have the same problem.. then my contractor help me change it.. he say is the pump inside.. some rubber parts loose liao.. then will leak.. when no flush the water also leaking.. :bangwall:

I guess so.. The colour will differ as time passed.. That's what she told me.. You like that raw feeling? I don't like it.. If you go to my incomplete t-blog, I think I got 1 pic that shows the cement screed kitchen.. Looks very.... cold and dry...

I like cosy colours.. :)

Change the whole pump?

Everything also have cracks lor.. I tore down alot of walls in my house, and rebuild a few in some areas.. Already have cracks liao.. Also don't know how.. I just leave it there lar.. Think too much also sian.. If get wallpaper, can help anot ar?

wallpaper can.....the only difference is you can't see the cracks only....but will still crack....:notti:

The difference is that your wall will still be swee swee with the wallpaper....:P

wallpaper can.....the only difference is you can't see the cracks only....but will still crack....:notti:

The difference is that your wall will still be swee swee with the wallpaper....:P

Okok.. Then alot of my walls need to do wallpaper liao.. Coz I covered 2 doors, and shift 1 entrance.. My bedroom's original door, my bathroom's original wall...

Btw, can they do wallpaper on a feature wall?

Okok.. Then alot of my walls need to do wallpaper liao.. Coz I covered 2 doors, and shift 1 entrance.. My bedroom's original door, my bathroom's original wall...

Btw, can they do wallpaper on a feature wall?

Can but then why would you want to do it?? Your feature wall already cost alot, then you wana find wallpaper to cover it.....doesn't justify leh...

Haiz.. A big regret lar.. Say liao also sian 1/2.. My feature wall for my living room is those whereby you can flip over to another room.. My feature wall is between my dining room and living room.. I knocked down the wall for it..

But due to a magazine I saw, I sprayed the feature wall in white.. Even though it's grossy white, but it still end up looking like a wall... That's why I wanna do wallpaper on it to make it look more outstanding...

Haiz.. A big regret lar.. Say liao also sian 1/2.. My feature wall for my living room is those whereby you can flip over to another room.. My feature wall is between my dining room and living room.. I knocked down the wall for it..

But due to a magazine I saw, I sprayed the feature wall in white.. Even though it's grossy white, but it still end up looking like a wall... That's why I wanna do wallpaper on it to make it look more outstanding...

If your feature wall is a swivel type, your wallpaper will start to peel very fast at the edges...i would advise you not to...respray to another colour would be a safer option...then again, some things stick out like a sore thumb in the beginning but if once you get used to it, it no longer look out of place or ugly anymore....so justbear with it until the intial phase pass....dun waste money....:P

Another option you can consider without spending too much money and bring out your feature wall even more is to stick wall decals....cheaper option and you can choose the design you like and DIY....very easy...

Edited by Air

If your feature wall is a swivel type, your wallpaper will start to peel very fast at the edges...i would advise you not to...respray to another colour would be a safer option...then again, some things stick out like a sore thumb in the beginning but if once you get used to it, it no longer look out of place or ugly anymore....so justbear with it until the intial phase pass....dun waste money....:P

Another option you can consider without spending too much money and bring out your feature wall even more is to stick wall decals....cheaper option and you can choose the design you like and DIY....very easy...

Hmm.. I am thinking, if I am doing wallpaper on my feature wall, I won't wrap around the edges.. Becoz it is pure white, I will get a brown shade of wallpaper with bits of white or biege colour in the designs.. Then leave the edges alone.. Like that, can create a frame-like look.. At the same time, no need to worry about peeling..

I saw that concept somewhere before too.. Very striking..

My current feature wall is not ugly or out of place.. In fact, it looked TOO 'in place' liao!! Looked like I mounted my tv on a normal wall!!!! :bangwall::bangwall:

End up looking very bare there.. Tell me lar, is it lame or what?? :(:(

Hmm.. I am thinking, if I am doing wallpaper on my feature wall, I won't wrap around the edges.. Becoz it is pure white, I will get a brown shade of wallpaper with bits of white or biege colour in the designs.. Then leave the edges alone.. Like that, can create a frame-like look.. At the same time, no need to worry about peeling..

I saw that concept somewhere before too.. Very striking..

My current feature wall is not ugly or out of place.. In fact, it looked TOO 'in place' liao!! Looked like I mounted my tv on a normal wall!!!! :bangwall::bangwall:

End up looking very bare there.. Tell me lar, is it lame or what?? :(:(

Wallpaper not cheap also leh....that's y i advised you against it....you've already spent a bomb on your wall feature and now you wana spend extra money to cover it....:bangwall:

I would think wall decals is a better option leh....

Wallpaper not cheap also leh....that's y i advised you against it....you've already spent a bomb on your wall feature and now you wana spend extra money to cover it....:bangwall:

I would think wall decals is a better option leh....

Hmmm.. Seems like a good idea too.. But I wanna change the base of the feature wall from white to other colours.. Decals can only add on colours to it.. But still, it's a more affordable idea.. :D Thanks loads Air..

Stupid feature wall already cost me 1.6k liao.. Now, still need to waste $$ to beautify it.. :curse:

Btw, where to get the self-fix decals ar? :P