Phantom

Housewarming Invite

Somwhere near Paya Lebar.. It's inside an industrial building.. They also conduct cooking lessons there.. Teaching ppl to do cakes, desserts, pastries etc.. They have a smaller branch at the older NTUC located in Toa Payoh..

Wah paya lebar da mn far :bangwall:

Somwhere near Paya Lebar.. It's inside an industrial building.. They also conduct cooking lessons there.. Teaching ppl to do cakes, desserts, pastries etc.. They have a smaller branch at the older NTUC located in Toa Payoh..

wah ok.. damm far.. :bangwall:

Air if you want to go.. lompang me also.. :lol:

doing desserts very easy one lah.. somemore i only doing mango dessert.. cannot compare to proper cooking.. just need mangos, sagos and pamelos will do.. :lol:

Ehh can share recipe?? I like leh...i also want to do leh....:P

Wah paya lebar da mn far :bangwall:

Aiyo.. You very lazy leh.. Want to learn and buy, also hiam far.. You can try to order the stuffs.. They can arrange for delivery if you buy in bulk.. The other time, my MIL got her lotus paste from them during Mooncake Festival for her mooncakes.. They deliver the paste & powder to her.. Very convenient...

wah ok.. damm far.. :bangwall:

Air if you want to go.. lompang me also.. :lol:

Paya :bangwall: Lebar :bangwall: leh :bangwall:

there's a shp selling all those bakery stuff in Jurong...called phoon huat...quite popular....not sure if they sell ingredients like sago pearls or not leh....

Aiyo.. You very lazy leh.. Want to learn and buy, also hiam far.. You can try to order the stuffs.. They can arrange for delivery if you buy in bulk.. The other time, my MIL got her lotus paste from them during Mooncake Festival for her mooncakes.. They deliver the paste & powder to her.. Very convenient...

Hmm...now that you mentioned mooncake....i suddenly got craving for mooncake......:dribble:

Mooncake festival over le ma!?!?!?!?!??!

Ehh can share recipe?? I like leh...i also want to do leh....:P

here you go.. :D

Mango Sago Dessert

(adapted from Zu's Kitchen)

Ingredients

600gm mango (abt 2 honey mangoes)

400ml mango juice (Peelfresh or any other similar brands)

125ml evaporated milk

80g sago pearls (original uses 300gm pomelo, split into small pieces)

250ml water

2~3 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp cornflour/tapioca starch

1 tbsp water

extra 100ml water

Directions

1. Boil 250ml water and sugar till sugar dissolves.

2. Mix cornflour/tapioca starch with 1 tbsp water and pour into the syrup and stir over low heat until mixture is smooth.

3. Take syrup and cornflour mixture off the heat and leave it to cool.

4. Cut the sides of the mango and cube them.

5. Scrap the remaining mango and put in a bowl, add 100ml of water to blend, put aside.

6. Add blended mango, cubed mango, mango juice and evaporated milk into the syrup solution (from 1) then stir.

7. Add sago pearls and stir, if too thick, add abit of cooled boiled water or more mango juice.

8. Chill before serving.

Preparation of sago pearls

1. Soak sago pearls in water till they turned abit translucent (About an hour)

2. Boil the pearls with water till it turns totally translucent.

3. Pour the cooked pearls into a sieve and wash it with tap water remove the starch and now it's ready to be used

(PS: I had some difficulty cooking sago the 1st time, and I found a better way of cooking sago pearls, from Eupho Cafe and English Patis.

Boil about 3 cups of water in a saucepan. Add in sago pearls and bring to boil.

Once it boils, cover saucepan and turn off heat. Leave for 20 minutes.

Remove the lid, stir the mixture, turn on the heat and bring it to boil again.

Once it boils the second time, cover again, turn off the heat and leave covered for 10 minutes. The sago should be cooked by now.

Drain the sago from the hot water and rinse. Soak in cold water (to stop it cooking further). When completely cool drain again and set aside.

This results in a soft but still chewy texture and not mushy at all. )

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PS: if you got more time can prepare your own mango juice by blending fresh mangos... :P

there's a shp selling all those bakery stuff in Jurong...called phoon huat...quite popular....not sure if they sell ingredients like sago pearls or not leh....

Hmm...now that you mentioned mooncake....i suddenly got craving for mooncake......:dribble:

:bangwall::bangwall: 7th mth not yet arrive lor.. how to have mooncakes.. :bangwall:

I think also can lar.. Same kind of shops.. You beri hungry now issit? I can feel your craving.. :bangwall:

here you go.. :D

Mango Sago Dessert

(adapted from Zu's Kitchen)

Ingredients

600gm mango (abt 2 honey mangoes)

400ml mango juice (Peelfresh or any other similar brands)

125ml evaporated milk

80g sago pearls (original uses 300gm pomelo, split into small pieces)

250ml water

2~3 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp cornflour/tapioca starch

1 tbsp water

extra 100ml water

Directions

1. Boil 250ml water and sugar till sugar dissolves.

2. Mix cornflour/tapioca starch with 1 tbsp water and pour into the syrup and stir over low heat until mixture is smooth.

3. Take syrup and cornflour mixture off the heat and leave it to cool.

4. Cut the sides of the mango and cube them.

5. Scrap the remaining mango and put in a bowl, add 100ml of water to blend, put aside.

6. Add blended mango, cubed mango, mango juice and evaporated milk into the syrup solution (from 1) then stir.

7. Add sago pearls and stir, if too thick, add abit of cooled boiled water or more mango juice.

8. Chill before serving.

Preparation of sago pearls

1. Soak sago pearls in water till they turned abit translucent (About an hour)

2. Boil the pearls with water till it turns totally translucent.

3. Pour the cooked pearls into a sieve and wash it with tap water remove the starch and now it's ready to be used

(PS: I had some difficulty cooking sago the 1st time, and I found a better way of cooking sago pearls, from Eupho Cafe and English Patis.

Boil about 3 cups of water in a saucepan. Add in sago pearls and bring to boil.

Once it boils, cover saucepan and turn off heat. Leave for 20 minutes.

Remove the lid, stir the mixture, turn on the heat and bring it to boil again.

Once it boils the second time, cover again, turn off the heat and leave covered for 10 minutes. The sago should be cooked by now.

Drain the sago from the hot water and rinse. Soak in cold water (to stop it cooking further). When completely cool drain again and set aside.

This results in a soft but still chewy texture and not mushy at all. )

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PS: if you got more time can prepare your own mango juice by blending fresh mangos... :P

:bangwall::bangwall: 7th mth not yet arrive lor.. how to have mooncakes.. :bangwall:

I think she too hungry liao.. Mention what, she will also have the urge to makan one...

Gum sia! but but where does the pomelo come in?!?!?!

the sagos part.. can either use sagos or pomelo... but i believe can use both lah.. i always eat got both inside..

I think also can lar.. Same kind of shops.. You beri hungry now issit? I can feel your craving.. :bangwall:

I think she too hungry liao.. Mention what, she will also have the urge to makan one...

Ya I very hungry now leh...i just went toilet to download.....i need to upload....stomach empty liao :P

I took breakfast, haven download, already hungry liao.. That's why, I always download after lunch.. :notti:

but i think these desserts are easy kind.. desserts like yam paste.. i think is difficult..

but at which stage do i add in the pomelo?? Need any special handling or cooking for the pomelo beforehand??

add together with the sagos (stage 7). pomelo is edible in the 1st place.. the only thing to do is to pluck into small small pieces..