Fifi 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 Ok lar.. nothing much to be joyful about.. My friends who studied higher also got the same pay mah.. I am just being lucky.. Hopefully, will have pay increment in June.. dun make me u!!say nothing to be joyful then still say ur fren higher qual oso same pay!degree useless one.. is like a baseline there.. ppl wants local grad.. honours somemore.. still got quite a no. of companies whereby they dont accept pte degrees.. frankly speaking hor... dun mesome of my colleagues took pte deg courses, grad within 1.5 years PART TIME studiesbut us who took local uni, took 4 years FULL TIME studiesi find it not fair if still get the same recognition... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 You meant you used to work in a bank too?not bank.. but a big investment company.. very closely related to us.. that place not easy ah.. ppl say not easy to get in.. get in liao.. stress not becoz of work.. is becoz of rat race.. big big boss brain wash you to study.. what ever **** also study.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 Wah lao.. The way it sounds.. Ma chiam being a recept is very glam sia.. But seriously, everyone in the company is doing the same things over the years.. The only thing that is changing is the pay.. Last year in Feb, there is a Manager-level lady who is doing exactly the same thing as what I am doing now.. But her pay is like 6k plus.. Just becoz she worked some time in the company liao..For me, I don't mind doing the smae old things over a long period of time.. Coz I am afraid of changes.. As long as I am paid well, then ok lor.. Ya lor.. I also used to have this kind of concept.. Coz banks managed to let ppl feel that it is glamorous to be part of the banking industry..SIM also degree leh.. Still a paper to be proud of..Btw, you are a banker right? You see, your company at least can see the pay jump....banks hor, i tell you, if you depend on their yearly measly increment per year, you will die man....starting pay high...but increment kanasai....No lah i not banker....and I dun understand how come ppl so proud to call themselves banker.....they don't own the bank what.....how can call banker?!? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 dun make me u!!say nothing to be joyful then still say ur fren higher qual oso same pay!frankly speaking hor... dun mesome of my colleagues took pte deg courses, grad within 1.5 years PART TIME studiesbut us who took local uni, took 4 years FULL TIME studiesi find it not fair if still get the same recognition...Wah lao.. But they just came out and worked not long ago mah.. Me worked for some years liao leh.. They worked 2 years.. but I worked so much longer mah.. So, you cannot smack me lar.. not bank.. but a big investment company.. very closely related to us.. that place not easy ah.. ppl say not easy to get in.. get in liao.. stress not becoz of work.. is becoz of rat race.. big big boss brain wash you to study.. what ever **** also study..Then how come you leave that company? Good companies not easy to get in leh.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 bank's increment so little meh? i thot that only applies to engineering?? increment machiam like pi sai like dat so little Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 frankly speaking hor... dun mesome of my colleagues took pte deg courses, grad within 1.5 years PART TIME studiesbut us who took local uni, took 4 years FULL TIME studiesi find it not fair if still get the same recognition...i feel we should not use the period to determine.. local uni courses involves other external modules, thats y took 4 yrs.. for pte deg courses, only involves the core modules thats why shorter.. somemore those who took pte deg, are mostly poly grad.. sure will get exemptions, thats why shorter mah.. arent we pte degree holders also had hard time getting our degrees? juggle with work and studies at the same time.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 You see, your company at least can see the pay jump....banks hor, i tell you, if you depend on their yearly measly increment per year, you will die man....starting pay high...but increment kanasai....No lah i not banker....and I dun understand how come ppl so proud to call themselves banker.....they don't own the bank what.....how can call banker?!? Ya.. The only thing that I can consoled myself is that, at least I can see my pay increasing slowly..Starting pay high is better than those start pay low, increment also low jobs leh.. Banker is the job title right? Not they wanna call themselves that.. But coz it's the rightful title isn't it? What are you doing for your job? I mean, other than RT... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 some truth in datbut my colleague's pte uni's course seems almost similar to local uni lehthose from poly go local uni oso gotta take 3 yrsi'm only talking abt the engineering course coz dat is the course dat i know wat they include in the modules Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 bank's increment so little meh? i thot that only applies to engineering?? !!increment machiam like pi sai like dat so little ya little.....cannot depend on their increment lah...work a few years, you become seriously underpaid....so got to jump ship....can at least 20-30% more if jump to good ship....!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 Then how come you leave that company? Good companies not easy to get in leh..you forgot i am contract staff there? that place only sees local grads.. pte ones will be always at low level.. next week tell you lah.. long story leh.. i repeat many times liao.. !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 What are you doing for your job? I mean, other than RT... !! !!if say wanna quit job, gotta ask which job!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 bank's increment so little meh? i thot that only applies to engineering?? !!increment machiam like pi sai like dat so little I agreed with you!!! That's why I left the hole that you are leaving soon... The increment really pathetic one.. i feel we should not use the period to determine.. local uni courses involves other external modules, thats y took 4 yrs.. for pte deg courses, only involves the core modules thats why shorter.. somemore those who took pte deg, are mostly poly grad.. sure will get exemptions, thats why shorter mah.. arent we pte degree holders also had hard time getting our degrees? juggle with work and studies at the same time..What you said also made sense too.. I guess, different people got different views from the different stands they are standing on... No hard core right or wrong..Xinyi, you also took up private degree? In which course? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Fifi 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 ya little.....cannot depend on their increment lah...work a few years, you become seriously underpaid....so got to jump ship....can at least 20-30% more if jump to good ship....!!not all can get so muchgot 10% u shd go 1 corner hide and laugh liaozyou forgot i am contract staff there? that place only sees local grads.. pte ones will be always at low level.. next week tell you lah.. long story leh.. i repeat many times liao.. no time for long long story!! better start ur story here and slowly end next week! !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 Ya.. The only thing that I can consoled myself is that, at least I can see my pay increasing slowly..Starting pay high is better than those start pay low, increment also low jobs leh.. Banker is the job title right? Not they wanna call themselves that.. But coz it's the rightful title isn't it? !! !! What are you doing for your job? I mean, other than RT... Ya mostly "banker" titles are used for front-end staff....cos deal with customers mah..must give them glam glam sounding titles...cannot be too shabby...u see those ppl selling insurance at roadshows also call themselves banker...I'm in middle office....it's between front and back office....duh.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted April 15, 2008 Ya.. The only thing that I can consoled myself is that, at least I can see my pay increasing slowly..Starting pay high is better than those start pay low, increment also low jobs leh.. Banker is the job title right? Not they wanna call themselves that.. But coz it's the rightful title isn't it? !! !! What are you doing for your job? I mean, other than RT... banks really depends.. ****ty jobs will be like ops.. that pay littles.. those front office ones then will have good pay.. Full time RT thread poster.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites