Phantom

Housewarming Invite

ask for ur opinions...

there's this discussion at another forum...

if u are able to 100% pay for ur HDB loan, will u

1) pay in full

2) pay a few percentage and use the remaining $ in CPF to invest

i will choose option 2. i prefer to have some CPF on hand. CPF is not just using for house loan eh.. next time kids education also can use.

Hmm....tough question leh....i think i will choose option 2. Cos the amount deducted from CPF per month is also quite minimal nia....unless your flat costs a bomb....anyway should you decide to settle your oustanding loan amount in full for the HDB loan, there's no penalty mah...

but i think if i am old, maybe will try my best to used up all CPF before i die.. haha.. dont want to give back to govt..

i also think we wont have to chance to withdrawal cpf monies lor.. the withdrawal limit keep increasing..

but considering dat u wont be able to get ur CPF $ back until u're very old leh

and after deducting in full, quite likely u may still have a few Ks left in the CPF and u dun have to worry if it's enuff to pay for the loan anot shd u be out of job.

ask for ur opinions...

1) pay in full

which will u all choose???

ya.... Kong Qi got it correct.... AIR is all around us!! :dancingqueen:

Wah.. This kind of chim question.. I am an idio* when comes to $$ or financial planning.. That's what my boy is for.. :)

But I guess the 2nd option sounds attractive.. But it will be also great if you are loan-free..

i will choose option 2. i prefer to have some CPF on hand. CPF is not just using for house loan eh.. next time kids education also can use.

but i think if i am old, maybe will try my best to used up all CPF before i die.. haha.. dont want to give back to govt..

i also think we wont have to chance to withdrawal cpf monies lor.. the withdrawal limit keep increasing..

I agree on the kids' education part.

Actually on one hand, it's good to pay in full cos after that, no more oustanding debts...so if in case in future anything choy choy happens, you won't hv to worry abt having to pay for housing debt....on the other hand, since we are still able to contribute to our CPF, I dun see the point of paying in full now. Until one day, when you have invested enough CPF and still have enough to settle the outstanding amts, i will probably clear the debt one shot..

I agree on the kids' education part.

Actually on one hand, it's good to pay in full cos after that, no more oustanding debts...so if in case in future anything choy choy happens, you won't hv to worry abt having to pay for housing debt....on the other hand, since we are still able to contribute to our CPF, I dun see the point of paying in full now. Until one day, when you have invested enough CPF and still have enough to settle the outstanding amts, i will probably clear the debt one shot..

i agree with you.. now we still young.. still have the ability to work.. so choose not to pay full lor.. when older liao then pay in full also not a bad option eh..

anyway, both have pros and cons. financial things doesnt have 100% correct.

Don't think got any problem.. Initially, we also wanted that.. But we decided to splurge on the TV feature wall for our room instead.. Don't want too many carpentry in MBR.. $$ also a problem leh..

Ok, I don't pretend pretend.. But I scared ppl cannot tahan my always kbkp.. :)

Like that I think I will win hands down.. :)

Ya lor.. Powerful ppl don't always show their power in public.. We better wear bullet proof vests..

Instalments should be the last resort.. Too many instalments will make our heads bigger.. :)

Yeah.. And we can tell from this reply of yours.. :dancingqueen:

what powerful ppl? now we on the topic of super heros ah? lol

too many installments will kill one.. sigh... i also got abit..

me not like u all so free leh.. got to work one..

i agree with you.. now we still young.. still have the ability to work.. so choose not to pay full lor.. when older liao then pay in full also not a bad option eh..

Ya lor, all depends on individual's earning ability and needs, so this is where financial planning comes in.

Cos what works for one might not work for another :dancingqueen:

hmm... coz now still cant decide

true we're still young etc... but no job is stable now loh..

no such ting as job stability :dancingqueen:

oso, if invest using CPF, the returns will be back to CPF. how nice if the returns can be in my own pocket :)

coz i dun believe saving with CPF... who knows wat rules for the withdrawal will be changed to :)

ya man.. the effect occur right away.. pls call him and say 'diam lah'

Yeah.. he's stimulas package.. haven't out.. already "stiumulated" global economies..

ha ha ha...

ask for ur opinions...

1) pay in full

which will u all choose???

Invest. For sure.

Let the markets pay for your home.

oso, if invest using CPF, the returns will be back to CPF. how nice if the returns can be in my own pocket :)

coz i dun believe saving with CPF... who knows wat rules for the withdrawal will be changed to :)

best thing is BE WEALTHY. can pay everything in full.. haha.. *dreaming*

Wah.. This kind of chim question.. I am an idio* when comes to $$ or financial planning.. That's what my boy is for.. :dancingqueen:

But I guess the 2nd option sounds attractive.. But it will be also great if you are loan-free..

True, but alot of high net worth ppl welcome the use of leverage i.e. borrowing at cheap rate to invest and gain the difference.

e.g. if the cost of funding is 3% and I believe that equity markets can generate an average of 8%. why not?

Ya but if you invest your CPF, and you find one day choy choy lose job, just liquidate your investments to clear your housing loan if need be....provided dun suay suay lose lah....:)

CPF is good on one hand that, govt forces you to kp aside a sum of money so that in future, you can support your kids' education and buy a flat...imagine if govt didn't impose such rules, then u think most of us can afford to buy a flat meh?? Cos not all of us have the discipline to set aside a sum of money each month....on the other hand, i feel it's stupid to have them lock our money like that...after all, it's our hard-earned money...how come they kp imposing such rules to lock the money inside I dun understand...

I dun see the point of paying in full now. Until one day, when you have invested enough CPF and still have enough to settle the outstanding amts, i will probably clear the debt one shot..

Agreed.

I have the mentality investing and amassing more CPF.. then pay lump sum in the future.. after doing the sums.. its quite plausible.

i feel that ppl should take as much risk as possible younger.. coz old liao very risk averse.. scared of losing the hard earned monies.

the general rules are the same. but some ppl don't dare to do that..

True, but alot of high net worth ppl welcome the use of leverage i.e. borrowing at cheap rate to invest and gain the difference.

e.g. if the cost of funding is 3% and I believe that equity markets can generate an average of 8%. why not?

Ya totally agree....:dancingqueen: