Phantom 1 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 Wah..I think I really know nothing.. Thanks for sharing, Xinyi.. But hor, I being to their forum, but it seems to me that the members are quite crude in their postings but their comments were never banned.. Why is that so?Every forum have their own policy or a set of terms and conditions. On the other hand, whether these are being enforced is a big question mark. Maybe that said why I never log in to HWZ anymore. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Devilaz 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 Those ID advertised here needs to pay. Other than that will be admin's own pocket liao..Forum policy is not suppose to delete away any posts unless is those rude ones. i think is to maintain transparency.So if RT one fine day becomes like HWZ, then starts to get fee for every member.I think now RT seems to have the plan of releasing membership cards. so maybe to get some funds from the memberships also. Of coz they also need to attact ppl why they should own the memberships, maybe by discounts on some shops and etc.yapz...maintaining a forum isnt easy. need to have cash to settle payment. somemore payment in singapore doesnt seems cheap. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Phantom 1 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 yapz...maintaining a forum isnt easy. need to have cash to settle payment. somemore payment in singapore doesnt seems cheap. the most expensive cost is bandwidth followed by server space.domain name is not too expensive.Forum will depend which software is used. For example a forum like vbulletin cost about $ 185USD for a full licence and roughly $30 USD thereafter.depends, you can find cheap server space in singapore or overseas. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 Every forum have their own policy or a set of terms and conditions. On the other hand, whether these are being enforced is a big question mark. Maybe that said why I never log in to HWZ anymore.But the govt won't interfere? I mean, I thought we are not supposed to hurl vulgarities in public or something? Theirs is super extreme kind.. The pictures are also very...... yapz...maintaining a forum isnt easy. need to have cash to settle payment. somemore payment in singapore doesnt seems cheap. Nothing in Singapore is cheap.. the most expensive cost is bandwidth followed by server space.domain name is not too expensive.Forum will depend which software is used. For example a forum like vbulletin cost about $ 185USD for a full licence and roughly $30 USD thereafter.depends, you can find cheap server space in singapore or overseas.Wah.. All the IT related names and words sound very foreign to me.. I guess you mean the software will determine how the forum layout will look like? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 Every forum have their own policy or a set of terms and conditions. On the other hand, whether these are being enforced is a big question mark. Maybe that said why I never log in to HWZ anymore.ya man.. if rules get too strict, ppl will complain.. afterall forums is a free flow of ideas exchange place. only place to have freedom of speech. heh~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 ya man.. if rules get too strict, ppl will complain.. afterall forums is a free flow of ideas exchange place. only place to have freedom of speech. heh~Wah lau, this thread is really anything under the sun thread....now suddenly discuss forum on forum!Sorry for being kuku....but what does HWZ stand for???? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 Wah.. All the IT related names and words sound very foreign to me.. I guess you mean the software will determine how the forum layout will look like? yes kat. software will determine the layout.. like RT forum, the software comes with readily designed buttons and functions Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 Wah lau, this thread is really anything under the sun thread....now suddenly discuss forum on forum!Sorry for being kuku....but what does HWZ stand for????Hardware Zone..yes kat. software will determine the layout.. like RT forum, the software comes with readily designed buttons and functionsOoh.. Then the software of HWZ is really not friendly.. Very messy sia.. See liao also headache.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Phantom 1 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 But the govt won't interfere? I mean, I thought we are not supposed to hurl vulgarities in public or something? Theirs is super extreme kind.. The pictures are also very...... Nothing in Singapore is cheap.. Wah.. All the IT related names and words sound very foreign to me.. I guess you mean the software will determine how the forum layout will look like? lol.. if you are talking abt the avatars used.. lol.. or others.. then years.. quite.. ahem...Singapore still prefers an approach of monitered tolerence in my opinoin. if its nothing politically inclined, normally they will close an eye. Software would mean how the forum looks like in a minor degree but majorly functions are the other issues.. for example the one i've mentioned has a reputation function.. which is quite hilarious. member can up or down a forummer's reputation points.. that has its drawbacks as ppl start to cheong post count or register "phantom" nicknames to have multiple accounts.on the other hand it creates alot of fun and buzz around the forums.bandwidth can be likened to pipeline.. the bigger the pipe.. more things can pass through.. meaning faster to surf the forums.. no lag time.. etc..ya man.. if rules get too strict, ppl will complain.. afterall forums is a free flow of ideas exchange place. only place to have freedom of speech. heh~yes. too lax.. ppl will also leave. freedom of speech but with common courtesy. we don't want RT to become "Flame Wars" .. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 lol.. if you are talking abt the avatars used.. lol.. or others.. then years.. quite.. ahem...Singapore still prefers an approach of monitered tolerence in my opinoin. if its nothing politically inclined, normally they will close an eye. Software would mean how the forum looks like in a minor degree but majorly functions are the other issues.. for example the one i've mentioned has a reputation function.. which is quite hilarious. member can up or down a forummer's reputation points.. that has its drawbacks as ppl start to cheong post count or register "phantom" nicknames to have multiple accounts.on the other hand it creates alot of fun and buzz around the forums.bandwidth can be likened to pipeline.. the bigger the pipe.. more things can pass through.. meaning faster to surf the forums.. no lag time.. etc..Really very chim.. I don't know why am I such an IT idiot.. Can never truly understand the IT or cyber world.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 Really very chim.. I don't know why am I such an IT idiot.. Can never truly understand the IT or cyber world.. Me too...I got a headache trying to understand what phantom trying to say... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
katvolution 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 lol.. if you are talking abt the avatars used.. lol.. or others.. then years.. quite.. ahem...Singapore still prefers an approach of monitered tolerence in my opinoin. if its nothing politically inclined, normally they will close an eye. Software would mean how the forum looks like in a minor degree but majorly functions are the other issues.. for example the one i've mentioned has a reputation function.. which is quite hilarious. member can up or down a forummer's reputation points.. that has its drawbacks as ppl start to cheong post count or register "phantom" nicknames to have multiple accounts.on the other hand it creates alot of fun and buzz around the forums.bandwidth can be likened to pipeline.. the bigger the pipe.. more things can pass through.. meaning faster to surf the forums.. no lag time.. etc..yes. too lax.. ppl will also leave. freedom of speech but with common courtesy. we don't want RT to become "Flame Wars" ..Yup.. I really enjoyed surfing this forum.. At least the people here are more civil to one another.. Me too...I got a headache trying to understand what phantom trying to say...Maybe that's why The Newpaper was quoted saying that the IT industry is earning the biggest bucks among all fields.. That's why we both in financial and shipping line.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Air 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 Yup.. I really enjoyed surfing this forum.. At least the people here are more civil to one another.. Maybe that's why The Newpaper was quoted saying that the IT industry is earning the biggest bucks among all fields.. That's why we both in financial and shipping line.. ah....hahahaha....that's true! ! ! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Phantom 1 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 I also enjoy this forum very much. I use to participate in a number of forums.. tech forum also have.. investment forum also have.. this ranks the best place in terms of friendliness.LOL.. www.vbulletin.com. there is an option called demo forum.. just log in and you can try to be a 1 day forum adminstrator.. quite fun.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xinyi_reiko 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 Ooh.. Then the software of HWZ is really not friendly.. Very messy sia.. See liao also headache..haha.. i not sure abt the software of HWZ, i think they are rich enough to employ their own designer to redesigns the layout.RT ones are default template. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites