Cavie

Cavie's Home

After browing renotalk.com for the past 1 month, I'm getting very excited towards my own renovation. Really thanks to those who share their valuable tips and experiences, I cut down many unnecessary mistakes.

I bought a 3-room flat in Bedok in November. I had collected the key on 1/1/2008 (a good start to 2008 ) and completion is scheduled on 11/1/2008.

I had handover my existing flat to the new owner last week and was storing all my barang barang temporarily with a friend. My contractor promised to complete the wet work before CNY so that I can move my barang barang into 1 room first.

Cavie

Went this evening hoping to take more pre-reno pictures but my contractor is so efficient and had hacked most of the original stuff. :curse::D:)

My original floor plan

The view from my main door

The view from my kitchen (can watch live soccer matches :yamseng: )

for the various sizing...still trying how to load and reduce the images....

My corridor

MBR toilet

Common toilet

hmmm...juz wondering how come my pictures come out different sizes when what I did were all the same?? :dunno:

Edited by Cavie

Went down today again....the wall between the kitchen and living was hacked and the MBR toilet wall also hacked..super impressed as they only gotten the approval from HDB yesterday...no PE required..heng ah... saved $600-$800 according to my contractor..

after hacking away the wall, the living room and kitchen look much bigger and brighter :-)

the MBR toilet also looks acceptable now..at least a reasonable size that I can have a comfortable shower there :dancingqueen:

Also aftering discussing with my contractor, we had come up with a prelimnary design including all the material used..

Here is a "hand-sketched" layout.

I will be getting some prospective or 3D drawing in a week's time. This contractor has a different work style. He doesn't believe in "designing" the house in the early stage. He says 99% of the home owner will change their mind as things goes along.. :bangwall: sure enough, i changed my mind so many times on the theme and design that I lost count too... but luckily, this contractor is very reliable and did not keep adding $$ for everything I requested additional (not major things lah).

Edited by Cavie

wow your contractor sounds really good

care to share which company is he from?

the sketched layout looks really good :good: :good:

can kaypoh and ask if you staying alone? ;)

wow your contractor sounds really good

care to share which company is he from?

the sketched layout looks really good :wub: :wub:

can kaypoh and ask if you staying alone? ;)

hi applefreak,

the company is AiJia. they don't have a showroom nor they do advertisement in magazines as they are doing more on development projects. their factory is located in AMK. my friend's sis's highly recommended them to me. btw, i "hand-sketched" the layout leh...my contractor was doing the talking and i was doing the drawing hehehe...

bingo...how u guessed i am staying alone? ;) actually i will be the only human + 2 dogs :good:

clear tempered glass for your MBR wall, sexy! ;)

thanks arcturuz...i kinda like the idea but was concerned abt maintenance and privacy.....but hack care..just do it and worry later le....now only have to worry how to make my MBR toilet 美美 ;) so will be shopping for my stuff these few days....

hi cavie,

care to share your contractor contact? can PM me if not convienent to publish here.

谢谢了:good:!

rina

hi rina,

no problem, pm u the number liao...

Edited by Cavie

awwwww your cavalier is so :curse::)

love the sad look they always give :wub: :wub:

dunno leh, from your layout seems like you are staying alone

and usually pple will say my bf/gf and i :P

awwwww your cavalier is so :dribble::notti:

love the sad look they always give :):wub:

dunno leh, from your layout seems like you are staying alone

and usually pple will say my bf/gf and i :P

Hey Cavie,

way to go man! All the best to ur reno.. hopefully all will work out smoothly for u, can understand the headache u have to face, esp when u have to handle ur reno alone... anyway, think of ur new home, new lifestyle.. abit of hardship is endurable ;) all the best!

think my doggies look sad cos i woke them up, push and pull at them for the photo session :notti:

normally they have smiley faces and most neighbours and friends always commented that they din know dogs can smile wan heheh..

hi sam, thanks for the encouragement..infact the fun part is handing the reno alone as i won't have any objection to any crazy or impractical ideas (阿Q 精神) but also means no one to share my reno cost :notti:

more items confirmed for the living room, dining room and kitchen

• Living Room
  • Super white grossy floor tiles
  • Black/White grossy laminate/glass door for shoe cabinet and TV console n feature wall
  • Silvery lavender paint for the wall behind the sofa (think it is lavender mist?)
  • False celing + L-box with cove lights for ceiling
  • Still thinking if I want to have a celing fan or just use my old standing fan?
    Dining Area
  • Same floor tiles as living room
  • Mirror Mirror on the wall
  • False Celing
  • Black Tempered Glass dining table set (use back current set)
  • Matt black floor tiles + white wall tiles with very light n fine grey lines (pic can't show the lines)
  • Black China Glaxy Granite top + silver laminate for my L-cabinets
  • Frosted glass doors for the tall cabinet opposite my L-cabinets

All other walls and all ceiling will be painted white.

Black granite sink (but can only top mount...hmmm..i prefer bottom mount but stainless steel sink looks good with black granite top?

Using the top right laminate for kitchen cabinet...

My old standing fan (to be used in living room)

More shopping...more pictures later....

Edited by Cavie

Black granite sink (but can only top mount...hmmm..i prefer bottom mount but stainless steel sink looks good with black granite top?

f962ab05.jpg

why cannot undermount?

your sink looks almost exactly like mine, except mine is 1 1/2 bowl

also undermount leh 8|

check out my kitchen blog entry to see pix of my sink and how my contractor mounted it

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?au...;showentry=3289

hmmm...i will check with the shop and my contractor...

btw, your sink looks nicer than my single bowl one leh....but i seldom cook => seldom needs a big sink...

hmmm...i will check with the shop and my contractor...

btw, your sink looks nicer than my single bowl one leh....but i seldom cook => seldom needs a big sink...

hehehe, one of the most important requirement when i got my sink was it must fit a 40cm wok :yamseng:

we cook pretty often so need to get a bigger sink

my sink is $399 from hoe kee :wacko: