Zc31

After 8mths Of Failed Balloting At Hdb . . .

Yes.....finally......after surfing renotalk so long..... keep wanting to renovate but cant get flat.

So bo bian, dun wan to wait and speculate the market, bought a resale, but pretty good buy i would say given the current market environment.

2nd owner with flat being only abt 4yrs of age, 5-10mins to mrt and just downstairs got basic amenities like coffeeshop, bread shop, a shop tt sells home essentials, no mor/noon sun and faces N - S direction and most importantly, on high level and facing forest for the living room, i bite my teeth and bought it.

Currently in the phase of streaming down on electricla shops, lobangs, contractors and ID's, lotsa recommendation and referral from fellow members like :

1) Dizzy

2) Delonchew

3) diva79

4) sean yeo

5) ranval

6) karen77sg

7) gohkm

8) fifi

9) taiji

10) toonsim

11) yang guo

12) xinyi

Wah....so many ppl but i still a lost noobie :notti:

1st appt on 16th Feb then gonna bring the chosen one to take actual measurements as i have to complete reno and move in, take bridal shops, diy my invitation card, house warming, furnishing.... e list goes on till my big days where i ROM and have dinner in july with my other half.

Hope this would be a lively blog.

Woohoo~!~!~! :dancingqueen:

Congrats! :notti:

Can I know how much was yr cov? Yr 1st appt on 16th ah? Mine was submitted in early Dec, 1st appt 11th Feb! $#@%#%$ :notti:

Yup, Applefreak is one of the resident spammers. Muah haha!! :dancingqueen:

Congrats! :P

Can I know how much was yr cov? Yr 1st appt on 16th ah? Mine was submitted in early Dec, 1st appt 11th Feb! $#@%#%$ :notti:

Yup, Applefreak is one of the resident spammers. Muah haha!! :dancingqueen:

Mine was submitted on 26th Dec.

My COV is $18k, staying on #20.

Of course dun expect AMK, TPY kinda location :notti:

Currently in the phase of streaming down on electricla shops, lobangs, contractors and ID's, lotsa recommendation and referral from fellow members like :

1) Dizzy

2) Delonchew

3) diva79

4) sean yeo

5) ranval

6) karen77sg

7) gohkm

8) fifi

9) taiji

10) toonsim

11) yang guo

12) xinyi

Wah....so many ppl but i still a lost noobie :dancingqueen:

Congratulations to u, Zc31.....very suprised to see my name.....allow me to say something....i feel that one should not spend too much on renovation.....most important is that your place is spacious and easy to keep....dont spend money make this make that........remember if ever you sell your house....u cannot take your built-in wadrobe, false ceiling... etc with you........even if you renovate your house until nice but if its hard to keep...no point also...

Also when selecting renovation contractors be careful.....alot renovation company employ alot of those nice salemans which they call "ah meng".........they just sweet talk you to sign up then after that they fly u aeroplane...

lastly, happy new year to you and may your dream house come true...:-)

Rgds,

James aka gohkm

Congratulations to u, Zc31.....very suprised to see my name.....allow me to say something....i feel that one should not spend too much on renovation.....most important is that your place is spacious and easy to keep....dont spend money make this make that........remember if ever you sell your house....u cannot take your built-in wadrobe, false ceiling... etc with you........even if you renovate your house until nice but if its hard to keep...no point also...

Also when selecting renovation contractors be careful.....alot renovation company employ alot of those nice salemans which they call "ah meng".........they just sweet talk you to sign up then after that they fly u aeroplane...

lastly, happy new year to you and may your dream house come true...:-)

Rgds,

James aka gohkm

Thanks James. U pm me abt eng hock, remember? :dancingqueen:

Yes i understand abt tt. Got one contractor is my friend who's my age under 30 so i think likely to go with him but still doign my homework comparing and he's fully aware of that. If i say not ocmparing only look for him, he'll believe meh? haha..... keeping options open.

Veri tempted to hack walls, open concept bathroom etc....... but i'll see the $$$ involve and mayb at the end of the day, just go for something simple. I already scrap the idea of changing the whole house tiles. Hopefully can keep it within control :notti:

Will post floorplan and pics soon.

Qing duo duo zi jiao :notti:

Mine was submitted on 26th Dec.

My COV is $18k, staying on #20.

Of course dun expect AMK, TPY kinda location ;)

No lah.. just was wondering how come from early feb to almost end feb and only a difference of 5 days in 1st appt. :bleah: My agt had initially 'predicted' end Jan but when the letter came, we were all in shock. *sobs*

The cov amt is okay... aiya, so long near mrt can liao, how big is this merlion country anyway? zz

Hehe me!

$1RT

Simi is cyber dime? :unsure:

OMG the prediction is soo true --> http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=11797

Tks applefreak zz

:):rofl: :rofl:

Thanks James. U pm me abt eng hock, remember? ;)

Yes i understand abt tt. Got one contractor is my friend who's my age under 30 so i think likely to go with him but still doign my homework comparing and he's fully aware of that. If i say not ocmparing only look for him, he'll believe meh? haha..... keeping options open.

Veri tempted to hack walls, open concept bathroom etc....... but i'll see the $$$ involve and mayb at the end of the day, just go for something simple. I already scrap the idea of changing the whole house tiles. Hopefully can keep it within control :P

Will post floorplan and pics soon.

Qing duo duo zi jiao :unsure:

personal take on this issue

how much you spend on renovation should be relative to how long you plan to stay in the unit

if you shifted there as it's near your children's school and do not foresee shifting in the next 15yrs, maybe you can consider spending around 20% of the unit price on renovation

however, if you plan to have children but your new place is not near any school, and you plan to shift near their school in say 5yrs time, then 10% of the unit price is a good choice

all said, it still depend on your budget and how much you want that open concept bathroom :bleah:

Congrats! COV of $18k is a good buy with all the amenities and high floor. Which area is that?

It's at Bukit Gombak, Blk 38*.

I staying sengkang now and work in tuas. Drive to work everyday has been a nightmare for past few years.

Everything shld be beta soon. Fuel, time, etc..

No lah.. just was wondering how come from early feb to almost end feb and only a difference of 5 days in 1st appt. 8| My agt had initially 'predicted' end Jan but when the letter came, we were all in shock. *sobs*

The cov amt is okay... aiya, so long near mrt can liao, how big is this merlion country anyway? zz

Simi is cyber dime? 8|

Cyber dime is like virtual money lor :D

:rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

personal take on this issue

how much you spend on renovation should be relative to how long you plan to stay in the unit

if you shifted there as it's near your children's school and do not foresee shifting in the next 15yrs, maybe you can consider spending around 20% of the unit price on renovation

however, if you plan to have children but your new place is not near any school, and you plan to shift near their school in say 5yrs time, then 10% of the unit price is a good choice

all said, it still depend on your budget and how much you want that open concept bathroom 8|

Nearby got schools like dunearn and duno what. Given the small sized new hdb flat, chances are i'll stay here for awhile and th e onli upgrade i see myself doing should be private property, if not "ren ming" liao :bath:

Still playing around with the quotes cox cash is king and economist prediction of 2008 outlook is so uncertain.