Zc31 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2008 Would it be feasible for a 3yr old resale?Am thinking of doing it for whole house except toilets.But also wondering if got alot of negative effects like tiles botching up, easily crack? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted January 2, 2008 hehe side track abit, i like ur signature.."i like my car, i love her more"agree totally!! heh Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
phoenix 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2008 Would it be feasible for a 3yr old resale?Am thinking of doing it for whole house except toilets.But also wondering if got alot of negative effects like tiles botching up, easily crack? whats your current tile size? fr what i understand, if u overlay over big big tiles like 600x600 or 800x800, then its not advisable. chances of popping is higher. if flat is new, less then 8 yrs and tiles size are smaller 300x300..overlay should be ok. (as advised by several contractors & id).actually a bulk of the reno money is spent on flooring. and its not sometime u wanna do every few yrs once i think more advisable to hack and lay if your current tile size are big ones...thats what i keep telling myself, just pain ONE time! (ouch! ). if not nextime might have problems, thats even worse! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zc31 0 Report post Posted January 3, 2008 my flat abt 4yrs old with standard brown tiles frm hdb.tks for advice, still in dilemma =( Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 3, 2008 i'd go for hack and relay as wellpopping tiles, as i have learnt the hard way, does not apply to hollow tilesmy previous place's tiles popped after 20yrs, with no sign at alljust went pop pop pop one night also, you'll never know if the previous owner offended his contractor and the tiler put something under the tiles sound really paranoid but i'm a paranoid person Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
phoenix 0 Report post Posted January 3, 2008 i'd go for hack and relay as wellpopping tiles, as i have learnt the hard way, does not apply to hollow tilesmy previous place's tiles popped after 20yrs, with no sign at alljust went pop pop pop one night also, you'll never know if the previous owner offended his contractor and the tiler put something under the tiles sound really paranoid but i'm a paranoid person hmm.. after 20 yrs is quite a long time. your hse telling u time for reno!! juz kidding..so how did u deal with the problems of the tiles popping? i have no clue what popping actually means... is it like cement loosen then it juz comes out of the floor? or does it really pop and crack? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 imagine firecracker-loud sounds in the middle of the nightthen suddenly the tiles just exploded and shards flew all over the placethat's how bad it was for my casecheck out this post in my blog for the scary pix http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?au...;showentry=3305 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zc31 0 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 Wah ttz really bad man.But i dun think i will live in my hse for 20yrs. Think i'll jux laminate my mbr. Safer right? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
phoenix 0 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 imagine firecracker-loud sounds in the middle of the nightthen suddenly the tiles just exploded and shards flew all over the placethat's how bad it was for my casecheck out this post in my blog for the scary pix http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?au...;showentry=3305 OMG! that looks really bad and scary! was yours overlayed? were these hdb original tiles? this looks dangerous, if its hdb original tiles, even after 20 yrs they should be answerable for it?? so what actually caused it???Wah ttz really bad man.But i dun think i will live in my hse for 20yrs. Think i'll jux laminate my mbr. Safer right?laminated overlay? shouldn't be any problem i think... i'd be doing that too. i'm overlaying my kitchen n toilets as well. we've checked and no hollow tiles, hopefully no problem like applefreak. but for my living and dining, i'd be hacking and relaying 600x600 tiles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 OMG! that looks really bad and scary! was yours overlayed? were these hdb original tiles? this looks dangerous, if its hdb original tiles, even after 20 yrs they should be answerable for it?? so what actually caused it???not overlayed, was laid by our own contractorhdb said the tiles are too dry so it poppedread somewhere in this forum that old ceramic tiles needed to be soaked in water before layingmaybe the contractor didn't soak long enough guess that's why i don't encourage overlaying coz we don't know whether the original tiles are in good condition or not !! !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
phoenix 0 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 not overlayed, was laid by our own contractorhdb said the tiles are too dry so it poppedread somewhere in this forum that old ceramic tiles needed to be soaked in water before layingmaybe the contractor didn't soak long enough !! !!guess that's why i don't encourage overlaying coz we don't know whether the original tiles are in good condition or not oic... ok... didn't know old ceramic tiles gotta soak in water before laying. thats sounds really troublesome. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zc31 0 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 OMG! that looks really bad and scary! was yours overlayed? were these hdb original tiles? this looks dangerous, if its hdb original tiles, even after 20 yrs they should be answerable for it?? so what actually caused it???laminated overlay? shouldn't be any problem i think... i'd be doing that too. i'm overlaying my kitchen n toilets as well. we've checked and no hollow tiles, hopefully no problem like applefreak. but for my living and dining, i'd be hacking and relaying 600x600 tiles.I dun think overlay toilet is a good idea. Rear ard that the wetness may pre-accelerate the popping. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
phoenix 0 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 I dun think overlay toilet is a good idea. Rear ard that the wetness may pre-accelerate the popping.i think toilet overlay is very common rite? well, i think it all boils down to workmanship, maybe a wee bit of luck too? i know friends who have revamp bathrooms only and after many yrs like no problem. hmm... anyways, i think its only the shower area that gets wet, since there is a curb there. very most if really goes popping, i'd juz have that part replaced lor. *cross my fingers* and hope that doesn't happen though. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
renoGirl 1 Report post Posted January 6, 2008 Actually I overlay my both toilet flooring. And I overlay my kitchen wall tiles too. Its a new flat froom HDB but the block was built ard 6-7yrs ago. Dont think there will be a problem. As in for applefreak's case. 20yrs is a long time. I kinda agree with what phoniex said, ur house is telling u... its time for reno. *Sometimes worrying too much prevents you from having what you want. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 6, 2008 hehehe, more like the house is telling us to shiftthe tiles popped when we decided to delay the shifting date !!hdb tiles a bit unreliable right?my cousin's kitchen tiles popped after she stayed in her unit for about 2yrs !!think i'll just save up and hack my bathroom tiles when i have enough Share this post Link to post Share on other sites