ckoonyin

False Ceilings Vs Lamps; Yellow Lights Vs White Light

Be careful about buying electrical stuff from outside of Singapore. Lighting comes under the controlled list of items that need to be tested by PSB, thus bearing the "Safety Mark". Some electrical stuff are manufactured without meeting the safety requlations, and may need lead to electrocution or fire.

Should something happen as a result of not using "Safety Mark" electricals, your home insurance becomes void.

Oh ya hor... ok ok thks for ur info, I will take note...

Be careful about buying electrical stuff from outside of Singapore. Lighting comes under the controlled list of items that need to be tested by PSB, thus bearing the "Safety Mark". Some electrical stuff are manufactured without meeting the safety requlations, and may need lead to electrocution or fire.

Should something happen as a result of not using "Safety Mark" electricals, your home insurance becomes void.

Oh wow. Thanks Chunky, for reminding. Will note this. !!

hi skywolf ~ no la i mean i will be buying all my lights at one go so if u also buying then i can help u buy lor.

hi Nipponho u r right. lightings in sg is **** x. when i went into my friend lighting shop...he ask us to see which one we like etc. then we dun dare to choose lor cos the pricing all so x. then he told us not to bother abt the price on the tag cos he be selling to us at least 50% off from the list price. so imagine 50% off u knw...i m sure he sure earn even selling us at a 50% discount. quite some time back i went to bkk and brought a table lamp back at only $2 nia. Then i saw it in sg also..imgaine how much sg is selling for the same table lamp? $40plus lor. Is the same lamp lor except it is wrap up nicely and display at a nice airconditioner place whereby the lamp i brought in bkk is placed in those night market lor. and i think thats the only thing i can explain the price diff. lolx

Where in your contract of insurance does it say that? Because our houses can be full of electrical items, some of which (eg small items like power adapters for handphones) do not carry a Safety Mark. It's not lighting, but anything can malfunction, that's why we buy insurance.

This was told to me by the boss of the electrical company that is doing the re-wiring of my house.

I hadn't read the fine print of my home fire insurance but this gives me an idea to email my banker and get the clarification.

I did google some time ago, and I did come across some websites that say retailers in Singapore who are caught selling electrical items without the Safety Mark can be fined up to S$10,000. I haven't read anything about regulations against end consumers who choose to buy items with the approval of PSB. So I guess that is still pretty much the perogative of the homeowner.

When I get more information, I will post back here. Especially the insurance bit.

There is no regulation against consumers per se. That's why they are only "urging" you to buy products with the Safety Mark. However, if your electrical items cause damage to the power network, you could lose a lot of money repairing the damage, Safety Mark or not. Like all govt agencies, they have legal immunity and cannot be sued for damages if their actions were taken in good faith. In other words, even if the item passes the safety test, they cannot be used for damages unless you can show that they were negligent or malicious in their testing.

Edited by waileong

hi skywolf ~ no la i mean i will be buying all my lights at one go so if u also buying then i can help u buy lor.

hi Nipponho u r right. lightings in sg is **** x. when i went into my friend lighting shop...he ask us to see which one we like etc. then we dun dare to choose lor cos the pricing all so x. then he told us not to bother abt the price on the tag cos he be selling to us at least 50% off from the list price. so imagine 50% off u knw...i m sure he sure earn even selling us at a 50% discount. quite some time back i went to bkk and brought a table lamp back at only $2 nia. Then i saw it in sg also..imgaine how much sg is selling for the same table lamp? $40plus lor. Is the same lamp lor except it is wrap up nicely and display at a nice airconditioner place whereby the lamp i brought in bkk is placed in those night market lor. and i think thats the only thing i can explain the price diff. lolx

Oh i see... kinda hard as my reno had not started yet... 1st appt is next mth. :sport-smiley-004: Perhaps, i'll buzz you again when i'm looking for lights to see how. :notti:

There is no regulation against consumers per se. That's why they are only "urging" you to buy products with the Safety Mark. However, if your electrical items cause damage to the power network, you could lose a lot of money repairing the damage, Safety Mark or not. Like all govt agencies, they have legal immunity and cannot be sued for damages if their actions were taken in good faith. In other words, even if the item passes the safety test, they cannot be used for damages unless you can show that they were negligent or malicious in their testing.

Even if there's no regulation on us comsumers purchasing electrical items w/o the Safety Mark, I believe the insurance company can claim that because the electrical product does not carry that safety mark, they will not compensate you. If it has the safety mark, like Waileong mentioned, the legal immunity will protect the organisation... It ends up as a heng-sway situation as the damages will be paid by the hse-owner no matter what.

HI missysg, really? $2. Which market? Does it still work or pai liao? **** man, i bought a crystal ceiling lamp $380, plus another crystal wall lights $165, at jalan besar. I think BKK sells cheaper. I think i will stop my light shopping in Sg for time being, till i make a trip to BKK. They say Guangzhou also have.

Hi Mace : If you find 12w tornado too bright, it would seem like u have low tolerance of brightness. Now i am using circular lamp, & i checked its lumens. If i want the same brightness, i will need to use 2 tornados of 23W to replace one circular lamp. I also asked the shop people, they say 12W tornado alone is not enough, need at least 2. BUT, i certainly hope my theory is wrong, if one 12W is enough, that will be wonderful, means less electricity bill. For me, i lack fire element, so my living room must be bright bright.

huh? i mean if using 12w tornado as downlights.....

since you lack fire, the centre of your house should have a lamp on 24x7

Here's a reply from a staff from the Safety department of Spring. I emailed for clarifications about insurance, but as expected Spring does not have information about it, or is not in a position to comment on what's outside of their jurisdiction. But here's what the staff said pertaining to Safety Mark per se.

Dear XXXX,

It is a mandatory requirement that all consumer products that are designated as Controlled Goods must be approved and registered with the SPRING Singapore before they can be traded, supplied or advertised in the local market.

Consumers are thus strongly advised to purchase controlled products that have been registered with SPRING Singapore, and are affixed with the SAFETY Mark. However, for home owners who decides to 'import' in their own electrical products for their own personal usage, the onus of ensuring that the product and its accessories are safe rest with them, and this advice is given without prejudice to any future amendments to the Consumer Protection Act, its Regulations or the List of Controlled Goods.

We will be glad to arrange a meeting with you if you are interested to find out more information or further clarify issues in relation to the CPS Scheme. You may wish to contact me at 62793814.

Thank you and have a good day ahead.

Regards,

Long Junming

Safety Authority

SPRING Singapore

Direct : +65 6279 3814

Fax : +65 6278 9885

E-mail : long_junming@spring.gov.sg