ckoonyin

False Ceilings Vs Lamps; Yellow Lights Vs White Light

ah i see....heehee i didn't know that.

pardon my innocence.............er i mean ignorance hahaha!! :dribble:

when i was new here - i lagi dumb lah.... :bangwall:

Wa... thanks to all, this is very useful info as I am dumb when it come to lightings. ckoonyin thanks for the thread.

As for me I prefer warm rather than cool white. As quoted by my mom, it gives you a "condo" feel haha rather than supermarket as some has mentioned here. Also, the guy who sold me the lighting tell me cool white is too glaring for reading. You might want to play with the combination of having both in your living area as alternate switches to cater the mood you want.

Hi CKoonyin,

I had exactly the same problem. What i intend to do is cornices, much cheaper & wont make the house shorter. I used the budget for crystal lights and chandeliers bec when i move, i can "BAN" out the lights, but i cannot carry away the false ceilings. U can use combinations of wall & ceiling lamps.

Nipponho, my old house buyer agent told me fixed feature like ceiling lamp cannot take out as it is included in the deal. So you can "BAN" your ceiling lamps meh ? Or this only applies to HDB flat and you are not staying in one ? Else I will go back to ask, I like my old lamp leh so pity cannot bring with me to the new place.

It's your house you're selling. Anything can be negotiated. You can state what you are taking away up front, and the buyer can offer accordingly.

I once viewed a house where the seller said he was taking away the door handles. Turns out these were "crystal" handles that cost him a bomb. Thankfully I hated them and would have paid to have them removed if I'd bought the house.

Nipponho, my old house buyer agent told me fixed feature like ceiling lamp cannot take out as it is included in the deal. So you can "BAN" your ceiling lamps meh ? Or this only applies to HDB flat and you are not staying in one ? Else I will go back to ask, I like my old lamp leh so pity cannot bring with me to the new place.
Edited by waileong

If I were to sell my house, I would remove all my hanging lights and replace with some ordinary ceiling light. I wouldn't include my chandeliers in the deal too, and wouldn't let prospective buyers see them in case they want it too! :furious:

I also don't like cool white, look like NTUC, but many people likes it. I prefer warm white. Under daylight or cool white, when i look into mirror, my acne scars, black head, white head whatever heads is accentuated. But under warm white or halogen, my face looks very radiant that i almost fell in love with myself, haha. I realised that the more orangy the light colour, the nicer u look.

hahaha!! i cant agree more! NTUC's kind of light is too glaring. Orangey light is romantic but unlikely to be bright enough. Furthermore, there'll be times when you need strong light eg., to look for stuff, etc.

False ceiling is out for me since it'll make my already small space even smaller. Not too sure if i've seen warm white before :bangwall:

Edited by knitez

Hi Mace : If you find 12w tornado too bright, it would seem like u have low tolerance of brightness. Now i am using circular lamp, & i checked its lumens. If i want the same brightness, i will need to use 2 tornados of 23W to replace one circular lamp. I also asked the shop people, they say 12W tornado alone is not enough, need at least 2. BUT, i certainly hope my theory is wrong, if one 12W is enough, that will be wonderful, means less electricity bill. For me, i lack fire element, so my living room must be bright bright.

Hi Amoyz, I bought a 3 room resale. The lamps are not permanent fixtures. Somebody has to buy and put it on. If it is cheapo circular lamps or long horizontal flourescent, sellers can't be bothered to remove it, but if it is swarovki, i believe the seller will sure "BAN " it out. I don't think any seller is so generous. Since u like your old lamp, maybe u can CHARM SIONG with buyer to let u go back & BAN it out. Who knows maybe they don't like it, & want to discard. If you know how to BAN it, that will be great, but if u don't know, u need to get electrician, maybe BO HUA already. Actually the fitting & plucking out looks easy, but nobody teach me, i also dare not try, in case i touch the copper wire, & ascend to heaven instantly.

Hi WaiLeong, I also want to fix crystal handles, very elegant, but think about next time if i move house, i must spend money to get the locksmith to remove it, i changed my mind. Labour is not cheap in Sg

hi all just trying to share some of the info i came to know frm my bf friend who is working in a lighting shop.

he mentioned that halogen light is just like our spot lights in the olden days. very hot if u going to place it abv the area of yr tv area. cool white is just like some of u had mention like ntuc light lor but this friend here said is much more practical. (haha but i dun like it)

for downlight warm white brightness got to depend on the sizes of yr downlight, the case cover of the downlight, watts and the brand of the bulb.

the smallest size of the downlight only consist of 1 bulb and usually nt "bright" enough for yellow light. if the design of the downlight cover/casing is abit fosted then more worse. the next sizing for the the downlight consists of two bulbs which is brighter. of cos if u choose the design of the downlight casing to be clear one will be just nice and normally for this u will then dun need so many downlights le. i suppose shld be correct ba since alot of my friend house got alot of downlights and halogen light in the end they find it too bright and hot. the brand of the bulb which they said is good one will be osram.

marce ~ i agree with u that the spiral like tornado bulb is really bright.

after the trip to my friend shop, i then realise actually lights are super cheap one lor.what we normally see outside the lighting shop, a simple round light might need to cost us $70 or so..actually the cost is much lower. imagine my friend can give us more than 50% off the list price!

Edited by missysg

hi all just trying to share some of the info i came to know frm my bf friend who is working in a lighting shop.

he mentioned that halogen light is just like our spot lights in the olden days. very hot if u going to place it abv the area of yr tv area. cool white is just like some of u had mention like ntuc light lor but this friend here said is much more practical. (haha but i dun like it)

for downlight warm white brightness got to depend on the sizes of yr downlight, the case cover of the downlight, watts and the brand of the bulb.

the smallest size of the downlight only consist of 1 bulb and usually nt "bright" enough for yellow light. if the design of the downlight cover/casing is abit fosted then more worse. the next sizing for the the downlight consists of two bulbs which is brighter. of cos if u choose the design of the downlight casing to be clear one will be just nice and normally for this u will then dun need so many downlights le. i suppose shld be correct ba since alot of my friend house got alot of downlights and halogen light in the end they find it too bright and hot. the brand of the bulb which they said is good one will be osram.

marce ~ i agree with u that the spiral like tornado bulb is really bright.

after the trip to my friend shop, i then realise actually lights are super cheap one lor.what we normally see outside the lighting shop, a simple round light might need to cost us $70 or so..actually the cost is much lower. imagine my friend can give us more than 50% off the list price!

Wah :P! good lighting lobang leh!8| whey...never share heehee :dunno:

Wah :wub:! good lighting lobang leh!!! whey...never share heehee :jawdrop:

no la not dun wan to share but i just wanna research more first cos even myself also haven buy from him.

Coz she's the chap's friend mah. Dun think that the friend will give us such a gd deal lor. Hehhehee...

hi skywolf ~ haha actually i also feel the same as u lor. u see huh..the price listed in his shop he can quote me more than 50% off the list price lei. but then hor...i still gt a way to help u all. if u all happen to see any lighting which u like along balastier right can take a pic then let me know e price u see. then if his shop hv (which i think 80% sure hv since the lighting hse over there sells almost the same design)i can help u all to buy lor and he sure quote me 50% off the list price one ma. seriously i m ok to help u all the buy on.just let me know dun feel shy. lets save our pocket together! cheers

Skywolf/MissySg,

Just want to share my findings with you. I am also shopping for lightings. I realise that Sg's lightings are not cheap. I believe they are imported from China or BKK and then marked up. Even those simple simple ones, no much design, no crystals, costs S$70-80. I don't remember seeing any ceiling lights in Sg that cost less than $50.

My friend told me Chatuchak in BKK sells these cheaply. You can get things below S$20. He got his ceiling lights at S$8. Actually if it is ten dollars, I can take the risk, bec if it is faulty, can discard & buy new one. But the problem is the electrician's installation charges. So i am now looking around to see who knows how to fit lightings & teach me. Does not look difficult. In this way, as & when i feel like it, i can change it myself

hi skywolf ~ haha actually i also feel the same as u lor. u see huh..the price listed in his shop he can quote me more than 50% off the list price lei. but then hor...i still gt a way to help u all. if u all happen to see any lighting which u like along balastier right can take a pic then let me know e price u see. then if his shop hv (which i think 80% sure hv since the lighting hse over there sells almost the same design)i can help u all to buy lor and he sure quote me 50% off the list price one ma. seriously i m ok to help u all the buy on.just let me know dun feel shy. lets save our pocket together! cheers

Hi Missysg, i'm still shortlisting the contractors... but i whd seriously consider your offer. :unsure: But was wondering since you are already looking for lights now, and if you purchase more in future (perhaps 1-2 mths from now), do you think if your friend will be able to give the % to you too? :bangwall:

Skywolf/MissySg,

Just want to share my findings with you. I am also shopping for lightings. I realise that Sg's lightings are not cheap. I believe they are imported from China or BKK and then marked up. Even those simple simple ones, no much design, no crystals, costs S$70-80. I don't remember seeing any ceiling lights in Sg that cost less than $50.

My friend told me Chatuchak in BKK sells these cheaply. You can get things below S$20. He got his ceiling lights at S$8. Actually if it is ten dollars, I can take the risk, bec if it is faulty, can discard & buy new one. But the problem is the electrician's installation charges. So i am now looking around to see who knows how to fit lightings & teach me. Does not look difficult. In this way, as & when i feel like it, i can change it myself

Oh wow... how abt shipping costs then? If the lights can fit into the lugguge, it's ok i suppose. But if its those pretty bulky ones, wouldnt you need to spend on shipping?

Hi Missysg, i'm still shortlisting the contractors... but i whd seriously consider your offer. :unsure: But was wondering since you are already looking for lights now, and if you purchase more in future (perhaps 1-2 mths from now), do you think if your friend will be able to give the % to you too? :bangwall:

Oh wow... how abt shipping costs then? If the lights can fit into the lugguge, it's ok i suppose. But if its those pretty bulky ones, wouldnt you need to spend on shipping?

Hmm.. juz a suggestion... if u all dun mind go across north...

Click below...

http://www.renotalk.com/forum/index.php?s=...st&p=250101

Be careful about buying electrical stuff from outside of Singapore. Lighting comes under the controlled list of items that need to be tested by PSB, thus bearing the "Safety Mark". Some electrical stuff are manufactured without meeting the safety requlations, and may need lead to electrocution or fire.

Should something happen as a result of not using "Safety Mark" electricals, your home insurance becomes void.