Guest OMO

Interior Designer A Must?

Guest OMO

Hi Everyone,

I am new here and also on renovation, shall be starting my own 'adventurous' journey of renovation very soon.

Had been spending some time around the forum and it seems to me that most 'if not all' would engage an interior designer for renovation. Is is a must? As they would help to take care of the contractors and workers?

Is it possible for someone (totally zero knowledge like me) on renovations to source for contractor and get the job done because I dont think my budget allows many fanciful features. Prefer to keep it as simple and accordingly to own liking and rather spree on more practical quality items etc.

Doable? :yamseng:

Hi Everyone,

I am new here and also on renovation, shall be starting my own 'adventurous' journey of renovation very soon.

Had been spending some time around the forum and it seems to me that most 'if not all' would engage an interior designer for renovation. Is is a must? As they would help to take care of the contractors and workers?

Is it possible for someone (totally zero knowledge like me) on renovations to source for contractor and get the job done because I dont think my budget allows many fanciful features. Prefer to keep it as simple and accordingly to own liking and rather spree on more practical quality items etc.

Doable? :yamseng:

hi welcome :P i'm pretty new here also. actually i think this question has been asked before if you search for it. Anyway I'll just write my thoughts here. For me i just finished my reno with the help of an ID and here is my personal take about the pros of using an ID:

- they are like project managers, they really help organize which contractor come in first la, how much time is needed etc. they also can control the quality of the work done as they know becoz they seen so many liao

- they know which contractors are good and know the market well. contractors 'give them face' also becoz if you hire a contractor, you are just ONE customer...but an ID relationship equals to a lot of future potential jobs so i think in a way contractors work harder. my friends who done without ID have A LOT of problems with contractor running away etc. especially for after sales problems...really no reason to help u ma.

- contractors tend to blame each other for everything (even with an ID), you need someone who really knows his stuff to put them in their place. sometimes the issues are complex...like for eg. the plumbing guy broke my tile in the kitchen so who do wat? in this case, my ID just said no problem and it was fixed the day after liao (i don't have to care who)

- MANY MANY MANY things you will not expect with your reno...i can't even remember how many times i was thinking...OMG, this kind of thing also got! Imagine you ZERO exp while an ID has like 1000 projects or more before (if you hire an exp one la)

- VERY hard to visualize and communicate what you want (unless you can draw it)...also it may not be possible or feasible to do. eg. my house i wanted a certain tile for my toilet..then my ID said not advisable coz of maintenance etc...small things like aircon guy need to coordinate with electrical (for power), wet works (for piping) and carpentry (in case get blocked)...have to take many things into consideration.

Ok i can go on and on but i'll stop here.

I think you can do it yourself IF you have a lot of time...time to research, do a lot of homework on every contractor...be willing to meet and negotiate with many parties..slowly wait for 1 job to be done then do the next etc. be very careful with contracts etc. u can save A LOT of money but you will have to make up with your time and effort.

Actually my advice would be to do once with an ID and then later in the future u can do it yourself lor. of coz u need to choose a good ID la (if you choose to get one), you can read the posts here for a wealth of info. A lot of problems if you choose the wrong ID also. Not saying my ID is the best, really depends on individual preference.

hope this helps!

sry if post too long, im a bit insomatic now :P

Can't agree more... if you want a fuss free reno without worries, then engage an id. You'll sleep soundly through out the reno.

I had the experience of coordinating my whole reno right from wetworks, setting up my lighting & wiring plans, designing my own tv console, cabinets etc. supervising the plumbers to air con installation... its not easy but definitely an invaluable experience...

Of course monetary wise, not having an id will mean your reno expenses can be reduced. In my case with the savings from id fee, i opted for better finishing like long strip parquet and homo tiles of higher quality.

Weigh the pros & cons and once you've decided, be firm and stick it through! Good luck!

Edited by niwdehos

Guest OMO
Can't agree more... if you want a fuss free reno without worries, then engage an id. You'll sleep soundly through out the reno.

I had the experience of coordinating my whole reno right from wetworks, setting up my lighting & wiring plans, designing my own tv console, cabinets etc. supervising the plumbers to air con installation... its not easy but definitely an invaluable experience...

Of course monetary wise, not having an id will mean your reno expenses can be reduced. In my case with the savings from id fee, i opted for better finishing like long strip parquet and homo tiles of higher quality.

Weigh the pros & cons and once you've decided, be firm and stick it through! Good luck!

Hi niwdehos, thanks for your comment.

Being a newbie I will give a serious thought on it. But I seriously dont need any design from id. To me as long as the design would blend and personally feel comfortable in it is more important. Dont mind paying a bit more for quality item that would last in long run and fuss free and feel happily.

hi welcome :) i'm pretty new here also. actually i think this question has been asked before if you search for it. Anyway I'll just write my thoughts here. For me i just finished my reno with the help of an ID and here is my personal take about the pros of using an ID:

- they are like project managers, they really help organize which contractor come in first la, how much time is needed etc. they also can control the quality of the work done as they know becoz they seen so many liao

- they know which contractors are good and know the market well. contractors 'give them face' also becoz if you hire a contractor, you are just ONE customer...but an ID relationship equals to a lot of future potential jobs so i think in a way contractors work harder. my friends who done without ID have A LOT of problems with contractor running away etc. especially for after sales problems...really no reason to help u ma.

- contractors tend to blame each other for everything (even with an ID), you need someone who really knows his stuff to put them in their place. sometimes the issues are complex...like for eg. the plumbing guy broke my tile in the kitchen so who do wat? in this case, my ID just said no problem and it was fixed the day after liao (i don't have to care who)

- MANY MANY MANY things you will not expect with your reno...i can't even remember how many times i was thinking...OMG, this kind of thing also got! Imagine you ZERO exp while an ID has like 1000 projects or more before (if you hire an exp one la)

- VERY hard to visualize and communicate what you want (unless you can draw it)...also it may not be possible or feasible to do. eg. my house i wanted a certain tile for my toilet..then my ID said not advisable coz of maintenance etc...small things like aircon guy need to coordinate with electrical (for power), wet works (for piping) and carpentry (in case get blocked)...have to take many things into consideration.

Ok i can go on and on but i'll stop here.

I think you can do it yourself IF you have a lot of time...time to research, do a lot of homework on every contractor...be willing to meet and negotiate with many parties..slowly wait for 1 job to be done then do the next etc. be very careful with contracts etc. u can save A LOT of money but you will have to make up with your time and effort.

Actually my advice would be to do once with an ID and then later in the future u can do it yourself lor. of coz u need to choose a good ID la (if you choose to get one), you can read the posts here for a wealth of info. A lot of problems if you choose the wrong ID also. Not saying my ID is the best, really depends on individual preference.

hope this helps!

sry if post too long, im a bit insomatic now :jawdrop:

Thanks Sharpion for your comments. I get your point.

(PS: dont think your post is lengthy)

Edited by OMO

I don't have an ID and only because of the following reasons;-

a) DH is great with space planning. So much so, I think he did that in his past life (just kidding)

b) my DH and I know exactly what we want to the minute detailing

c) I am not working and I have time EVERY single day to oversee the renovation works, and so the workers on site can ask me questions when they are unsure.

d) I say yes, and I mean yes. And I don't change my mind to drive anyone crazy.

f) My main con is very accomodating. And he can take my style. Not every main con can.

We once had an ID. Same one as Fann Wong. That one experience was enough to tell us as a couple, we do not need an ID to be an overpaid messenger.

You need to evaluate your own customer profile and ask yourself if you *need* one who can understand what you want, and translate your wants into the design of your home. It is not an easy decision, and it's a lot of effort on your part, if you do not have an ID. Go without, only if you can commit the time, and have some experience with space planning and want to get your hands dirty.

Edited by Chunky Monkey

hmm think a lot of pple are mixing main contractor and sub contractor up

basically a main contractor does everything that an ID does, excluding the design part

i used a main contractor and i also slept well every night, knowing that whatever i want done is in progress

if you know what you want, it's better to go for a contractor as IDs tend to do what they like, not what you like

check out the blog of compassvale, beautiful home with the help of a main contractor :):jawdrop:

hmm think a lot of pple are mixing main contractor and sub contractor up

basically a main contractor does everything that an ID does, excluding the design part

i used a main contractor and i also slept well every night, knowing that whatever i want done is in progress

if you know what you want, it's better to go for a contractor as IDs tend to do what they like, not what you like

check out the blog of compassvale, beautiful home with the help of a main contractor :dancingqueen: !!

well said, never thought abt it that way b4 !! on hindsight i think we were more comfortable with an ID coz we basically left everything to him including the design - just some general guidance. But if u don't need the design, definitely not point paying for it hor.

Hi omo.

Luckily for me I have a good contractor who is reliable,i did my house for abt 10k with hacking and kitchen cabinets etc. most impt the workmanship is very good .Cos, in fact e co. is a furniture manufacturer for more than 20yrs history whom the popular renovation firms sub-contractor their jobs to them.So i am proud tat i done mine directly thru them.u can pm me for the contact. cheers