skywolf 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2008 Earlier on Thu, we had met Steven to let him know where and which part which needed rectification... like the wrongfully painted walls (2 times still paint wrong, left out one wall for 2nd time). We also saw the granite sink is up for both island and kitchen top. The black color adds a contrasting feel to the top lighter and the bottom browns. But we asked Steven to re-do the sealent @ the sink area. His worker used the clear sealent which ends up looking like grey (to me). It looks funny with the black top and black sink then with grey/clear sealent in the middle? He will get his workers to chg it. Also pointed some stuff which require his chaps to rectify like the laminates (sharp ends at bottom when you swipe your hand over it), and my island has a slight misalignment at the top drawers. Although it can only be seen when you squat down and peer at it, Steven said nvm, let the ppl dilemma over it first. Coz to me, if cannot rectify, so be it. Not that great of a boo-boo since when does ppl squat at that area to see? There are some others, but they are the usual touch-ups required after a reno, so no need to post them out. Sat was the day for installing the curtain rods (we bought ikea ones since they look all right), mirrors, 1 of the grundel 80cm rod, towel ring, toilet paper holder, etc etc. Got a horror finding though. My canon tap cannot be used! After it is installed, there is no space to turn because the distance from the wall to the tap hole is very short! No choice, rushed out to buy one more tap from the neighbourhood shops (luckily there are a few around the area) and also luckily, found something that is similiar to the common bathrm tap (twist to the side for water supply). On the way, I was thinking thinking, was it Steven's guys who measured the sink wrongly when they were doing the support? Because the hole size had been done, so i have to get another tap... Msged Steven and he called back to explain that because the sink has an unfinished side (at the back), so it means the sink has to be mounted against the wall, and thus we cant get such a 'long' tap. Well, no one discovered it because that tap was not mounted as early as the common toilet's one, so no one knows till y'day. If we had known earlier, we whd have gone for an exchange... but too late... However, Steven msged again saying his guys shd have highlighted this earlier by knowing they have to take in consideration of the tap length... so he said he'll absorb the canon tap price... But i still like the cannon tap leh, and it's not long enough for common toilet sink... so, haiz... guess i'll keep it for in-law's place 2 yrs down. Yeah, they ganna sers, and we have another reno to take care 2 yrs down the road. In my sotong-ness, forgot to bring my digicam again. Will take on Tues after HH did the varnishing of the parquet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted June 29, 2008 Heh, your ID is really good to absorb & admit mistakes that should have been highlighted by his workers. That's something you dun need to worry now cos steven sounds like a perfectionist, all his projects must be good. Anyway, you no good never bring cam , I want to drool somemore More pix next time hor? Earlier on Thu, we had met Steven to let him know where and which part which needed rectification... like the wrongfully painted walls (2 times still paint wrong, left out one wall for 2nd time). We also saw the granite sink is up for both island and kitchen top. The black color adds a contrasting feel to the top lighter and the bottom browns. But we asked Steven to re-do the sealent @ the sink area. His worker used the clear sealent which ends up looking like grey (to me). It looks funny with the black top and black sink then with grey/clear sealent in the middle? He will get his workers to chg it. Also pointed some stuff which require his chaps to rectify like the laminates (sharp ends at bottom when you swipe your hand over it), and my island has a slight misalignment at the top drawers. Although it can only be seen when you squat down and peer at it, Steven said nvm, let the ppl dilemma over it first. Coz to me, if cannot rectify, so be it. Not that great of a boo-boo since when does ppl squat at that area to see? There are some others, but they are the usual touch-ups required after a reno, so no need to post them out. Sat was the day for installing the curtain rods (we bought ikea ones since they look all right), mirrors, 1 of the grundel 80cm rod, towel ring, toilet paper holder, etc etc. Got a horror finding though. My canon tap cannot be used! After it is installed, there is no space to turn because the distance from the wall to the tap hole is very short! No choice, rushed out to buy one more tap from the neighbourhood shops (luckily there are a few around the area) and also luckily, found something that is similiar to the common bathrm tap (twist to the side for water supply). On the way, I was thinking thinking, was it Steven's guys who measured the sink wrongly when they were doing the support? Because the hole size had been done, so i have to get another tap... Msged Steven and he called back to explain that because the sink has an unfinished side (at the back), so it means the sink has to be mounted against the wall, and thus we cant get such a 'long' tap. Well, no one discovered it because that tap was not mounted as early as the common toilet's one, so no one knows till y'day. If we had known earlier, we whd have gone for an exchange... but too late... However, Steven msged again saying his guys shd have highlighted this earlier by knowing they have to take in consideration of the tap length... so he said he'll absorb the canon tap price... But i still like the cannon tap leh, and it's not long enough for common toilet sink... so, haiz... guess i'll keep it for in-law's place 2 yrs down. Yeah, they ganna sers, and we have another reno to take care 2 yrs down the road. In my sotong-ness, forgot to bring my digicam again. Will take on Tues after HH did the varnishing of the parquet. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted June 29, 2008 I'm a sotong. Thats why. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kajua 1 Report post Posted June 29, 2008 Got your PM ..THANKS Sorry to hear your tap cannot use...what a waste Steven so good ah absorb some more You using Ikea curtain rods also , which one did you get ? The wooden one or the metal one? We using the wooden one, now hunting around for curtains. Just manage to find a few not too bad ones at reasonable price at TPY central. Whens your completion date? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jonkrisiggy 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2008 Earlier on Thu, we had met Steven to let him know where and which part which needed rectification... like the wrongfully painted walls (2 times still paint wrong, left out one wall for 2nd time). We also saw the granite sink is up for both island and kitchen top. The black color adds a contrasting feel to the top lighter and the bottom browns. But we asked Steven to re-do the sealent @ the sink area. His worker used the clear sealent which ends up looking like grey (to me). It looks funny with the black top and black sink then with grey/clear sealent in the middle? He will get his workers to chg it. Also pointed some stuff which require his chaps to rectify like the laminates (sharp ends at bottom when you swipe your hand over it), and my island has a slight misalignment at the top drawers. Although it can only be seen when you squat down and peer at it, Steven said nvm, let the ppl dilemma over it first. Coz to me, if cannot rectify, so be it. Not that great of a boo-boo since when does ppl squat at that area to see? There are some others, but they are the usual touch-ups required after a reno, so no need to post them out. Sat was the day for installing the curtain rods (we bought ikea ones since they look all right), mirrors, 1 of the grundel 80cm rod, towel ring, toilet paper holder, etc etc. Got a horror finding though. My canon tap cannot be used! After it is installed, there is no space to turn because the distance from the wall to the tap hole is very short! No choice, rushed out to buy one more tap from the neighbourhood shops (luckily there are a few around the area) and also luckily, found something that is similiar to the common bathrm tap (twist to the side for water supply). On the way, I was thinking thinking, was it Steven's guys who measured the sink wrongly when they were doing the support? Because the hole size had been done, so i have to get another tap... Msged Steven and he called back to explain that because the sink has an unfinished side (at the back), so it means the sink has to be mounted against the wall, and thus we cant get such a 'long' tap. Well, no one discovered it because that tap was not mounted as early as the common toilet's one, so no one knows till y'day. If we had known earlier, we whd have gone for an exchange... but too late... However, Steven msged again saying his guys shd have highlighted this earlier by knowing they have to take in consideration of the tap length... so he said he'll absorb the canon tap price... But i still like the cannon tap leh, and it's not long enough for common toilet sink... so, haiz... guess i'll keep it for in-law's place 2 yrs down. Yeah, they ganna sers, and we have another reno to take care 2 yrs down the road. In my sotong-ness, forgot to bring my digicam again. Will take on Tues after HH did the varnishing of the parquet. Woman, ur water heater, r u using storage or instant one??? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2008 sotong gal after read wat you written, i also cross fingers now as my common basin and tap not fix yet (which i love most!)..been left there for quite long and heard from ID that the hole cut from the vanity is wrong or bla bla la..hope my case can be rectified, if not i got to buy another tap and basin? hopefully not.. pictures leh? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted June 30, 2008 Got your PM ..THANKS Sorry to hear your tap cannot use...what a waste Steven so good ah absorb some more You using Ikea curtain rods also , which one did you get ? The wooden one or the metal one? We using the wooden one, now hunting around for curtains. Just manage to find a few not too bad ones at reasonable price at TPY central. Whens your completion date? Not wooden ones... shd be metal ones... My hubby and his friend was there to help carry. I only point on top and say, i want that one, then they go and search and put in cart. So i didnt really feel the material. Because the metal ones were extendable, so i got them instead of the wood ones... Got them, in black. Not sure if want to let Steven absord or not lor... i love that tap. Even though knowing it can nv fit. It is a waste to keep, but still... :~ Woman, ur water heater, r u using storage or instant one??? Storage. Paiseh, not online frequently liaoz. sotong gal after read wat you written, i also cross fingers now as my common basin and tap not fix yet (which i love most!)..been left there for quite long and heard from ID that the hole cut from the vanity is wrong or bla bla la..hope my case can be rectified, if not i got to buy another tap and basin? hopefully not.. pictures leh? Wah... better ensure its cut properly. Pics tomolo. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2008 Went up and took pics... and was hit by the overpowering smell of... fresh varnishing !! It was so much that when we set eyes onto the platform from the main door, we started coughing and our eyes were stinging. *ouch ouch* So we took pics chop chops and ran off. Didnt get to see and feel the platform as the varnishing is not dry yet and the smell is .... Living balcony platform: MBR - phew, this has the worst smell. Windows closed, toilet door closed, room door also closed. Took pic from door and same thing, scrambled off. Onwards towards the kitchen, introducing my common toilet... door. It's something like a bifold door, but its not. If you guys know or have friends/relatives who are involved in the recent MUP or LUP @ AMK Ave 8/10, those 41x series, you would have seen them if the owners went ahead with the common toilet upgrade done by hdb. It does not have any tracks, and when the door is open, both the folded sides will be stuck together via a magnet point at the top and bottom on the door (dunno if the AMK ones have this magnet contacts or not). But anyway, the handle on the inside is the lever kind, to close, turn the handle down. To open, turn it back up. The inside of common toilet - very dusty and dirty still. And very cramp. Kitchen pics - with granite top up. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted July 1, 2008 (edited) Hehehe your common toilet door, I also have one for the common toilet but dun have for the MBR toilet door which is a bi-fold door with tracks.Nice kitchen by the way! Ldribble: Edited July 1, 2008 by BunBun Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2008 Hehehe your common toilet door, I also have one for the common toilet but dun have for the MBR toilet door which is a bi-fold door with tracks.Nice kitchen by the way! Ldribble: I didnt like the bifold doors... gives me the feeling that the lock gives way easily. So we opted for this kind of door after seeing the 'locking' mechanism... just a up/downwards pull. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hobbes187 0 Report post Posted July 1, 2008 I didnt like the bifold doors... gives me the feeling that the lock gives way easily. So we opted for this kind of door after seeing the 'locking' mechanism... just a up/downwards pull. HDB gave me the same door as your common toilet one... I hacked it away How much is it by the way? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted July 1, 2008 I also dun like the bi-fold doors. I actually wanted glass doors hehe but no $$$ for 2 glass doors. Quite ex. At least the common toilet door looks better & dun feel so flimsy closing & opening Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2008 swee swee leh..like your common glass basin used to have the same toilet door in my previous flat..personally you have to maintain more esp yours in light colour..mine was like a little orangy and hor everytime if never quickly clean when kana shampoo, it will stained wan leh..it happened to me suay bah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redknapp39 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2008 I really like ur common toilet sink and support. Chio!!! How's the leakage at the walls? Has Town Council rectified it? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted July 2, 2008 ur dish rack nt directly above the sink? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites