skywolf

Our Home Sweet Home...

I got some ideas :notti:

1. U build a ledge that face the window. When u do work, u just face window lor. Hee hee. Then u build a full height display cabinet cum bookshelf at either aircon wall or wall facing doorway.

2. If u want open concept, u build full height display cabinet cum bookshelf at aircon wall n remove the door. Then u build ledge at wall facing doorway. I not sure abt FS but if u remove door n ur back face the doorway, issit ok? Dun know whether the presence of door affects the FS.

3. Last idea would be to change ur study room door to normal bedroom size door or maybe make the door opening smaller. Then ur back wont directly face the door.

Hope it helps. :yamseng:

Yo Redknapp,

I like your 1st idea actually. Had thot of this earlier but we are still debating shd we place the PCs next to the corridor windows. :bleah: Ideas ranged from along window, to L-shape to U-shape but we dun really fancy the last 2... By doing so, will eat up a chunk of the room itself... :(

For 2nd, I think so long back face open area (door or no door), also cannot. :( Haiz.

For 3rd one... they had filled up the 'drain' from the prev. owner's sliding door with stones... so as to accomodate the sliding glass door which we wanted. And aircon is up, so definately need door... else aircon wasted. :bangwall:

What I mean is in some cases, they prepare support so that they can hold together with the top for the time being to ensure that whatever's been applied to the sink to stick to the top.. got to hold for daily use ma.

I also not sure 'cos I never do any concrete sink support. :bangwall: Wasn't even sure if concrete support could be concealed behind doors or not until I saw one of the forumer's sink concrete support being concealed behind doors without showing any hint that got sink support le. Too late to put up any concrete sink support. :bleah:

Yah.. i also read somewhere that the concrete support can be covered up, thus i asked them to do. :notti: Guess it's the timing lah. :P

Edited by skywolf

Guess that my consolation is that I didn't pay too much for the cabinets in my kitchen though. Its the solid surface that cost more other than the laminates. Or else I will go :bangwall: big time for not doing sink concrete support later on when cabinet spoil a few years later. lol

Yo Redknapp,

I like your 1st idea actually. Had thot of this earlier but we are still debating shd we place the PCs next to the corridor windows. :bleah: Ideas ranged from along window, to L-shape to U-shape but we dun really fancy the last 2... By doing so, will eat up a chunk of the room itself... :(

For 2nd, I think so long back face open area (door or no door), also cannot. :( Haiz.

For 3rd one... they had filled up the 'drain' from the prev. owner's sliding door with stones... so as to accomodate the sliding glass door which we wanted. And aircon is up, so definately need door... else aircon wasted. :bangwall:

Yah.. i also read somewhere that the concrete support can be covered up, thus i asked them to do. :notti: Guess it's the timing lah. :P

Yo Redknapp,

If u like the 1st idea right, place the PC at the corner of the corridor window. Then, lock that window permanently so that people cannot disturb from outside. :notti:

Most prob will go for tt idea, coz by now cannot crack our brains for a better solution to accomodate both FS + Eubiq... :bangwall:

And windows have to be locked, confirmed. It's not 1 PC. It's 2 PCs + 1 lappy. :bleah::bleah: But i was telling my hubby, if we are using the PCs, we will on the aircon coz CPU warms up fast. Then if on aircon, windows confirmed close. :)

i found another concrete support for sink area :) can i know if u will be doin wood door to cover ur sink bottom?

Yup yup, will def cover them up so that it is not visible from the outside. :)

Thank you. :) We were surprised tt the bartable could come up so nice also, because our thinking of bartables were those like something like a table with lotsa wood around it. :dancingqueen::dancingqueen:

so long never come n spam your blog le

hows things on your side?

btw wat concrete support? still catch no ball leh..

if i am using granite sink for kitchen, is there a need to do concrete support?

as for the doors, i thot they are still consider part of the kitchen cabinets? no doors wan meh?

my current sink is SS and below it also got 2 doors as part of the kitchen cabinets

or you all meant that people left the sink below open?? :unsure:

sorry hor, really catch no ball leh

Babytan, concrete support is different actually. It prevents the cabinets from rotting esp with pipes underneath in case of water spillage that sort, according to my mum, something like that. She say its better this way cos her old kitchen cabinets rotted before she changed her kitchen.

Some sink supports are open one, some can be concealed behind wooden doors (this is new) Skywolf can tell you more.

so long never come n spam your blog le

hows things on your side?

btw wat concrete support? still catch no ball leh..

if i am using granite sink for kitchen, is there a need to do concrete support?

as for the doors, i thot they are still consider part of the kitchen cabinets? no doors wan meh?

my current sink is SS and below it also got 2 doors as part of the kitchen cabinets

or you all meant that people left the sink below open?? :unsure:

sorry hor, really catch no ball leh

Edited by BunBun

Harlow skywolf....

Wah ur renos going fast n furious! Looks good... :good:

Nt sure if it is too late to reply ur question on the curtains plummet but I remember I did 2 types. 8inch for my living rm, 6in for my MBR window. I find dat don need 8in cuz when I sit on the side of the sofa near to window, I can see the curtains top clearly. 6inch in my MBR is jus nice and also becuz I got the curtain lady to install it near the edge as I needed my curtains to cover my TV (didnt want an ugly bulge). Anyways, both r double tracks. Double tracks at most take up 2-3inch nia....the rest is just allowance I think....

So when its time to do ur curtains, just install nearer to the edge if u find it too wide liao... :)

Cheers :yamseng:

Babytan,

Actually, i read somewhere tt sink support can be hidden behind normal wood doors, thus i went for it. Else, may hesitate because i'm scared of rotting wood. :jawdrop: Apple's concrete support is the open version. You imagine the wooden doors when they are installed. :dancingqueen:

Greycat,

Yr idea sounds neat! Then no need to see one lobang when sitting down @ sofa. :dancingqueen:

Greycat,

Yr idea sounds neat! Then no need to see one lobang when sitting down @ sofa. :dancingqueen:

No problem...I recall why the uncle did an 8in plummet for my living rm liao....thk it was due to the waterpipe at the corner (cldnt be hacked so we covered the vertical pipe with boards. Dats why the plummet did 8in to be inline...

Nodnod, its not the lobang, its the ugly curtain tracks :(.....but bopian lah....

thanks bunbun, apple jie and wolfy for replies..think i roughly know liao..but i tot nowadays all conceal wan hor..think i go and take pictures tonight and see if you all meant the same thing..mine is concealed behind cabinets...oh the wood will rot meh :unsure:

another thing to clarify is you mean we can do another concrete support under sink? my current house dun have leh..the new house ID also never tell me need to do support leh...

i can imagine how heavy a sink is..this time i am getting granite sink, so better to do sink support?? :dunno:

ya the wood will rot according to my mum. Cos sink area is wet area and with pipes underneath the sink bowl one. So doing sink concrete support more or less helps to prevent any chances of rotting wood damage to the cabinets. Not sure about the granite one, better check and be sure. I think i read someone post say granite is porous something to that effect.

For me I never do so bo pian. :bangwall: