skywolf 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 Yup, Phantom. =) Do I know you from there too? An update into what had happened in my sotong life today.Me: Hi xxx (one of the contractor's name). Was wondering if you had gotten my fax last wk so tt you can give me a quote based on the items specified. Coz I didnt get an email...Him: You're...? Oh! It's you! Yah, I remembered. You were supposed to fax to me but I didnt get it leh. And I couldnt recall your no. because I have too many incoming calls *sheepish laugh*Me: I thought I did (I really remembered I had, but anyway...)? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 Hey guys, need some advice.What's the criteria for having a kitchen island? I have a square kitchen; not sure if it's workable to have one. As I had read somewhere that the stove cannot face, erm, sink and some others like toilets, windows (can't remember exactly what), so was thinking how do you guys get around the issue. I'd attached my floor plan so perhaps can seek some comments from you guys...If I wanted my stove (using cylinder gas so no issues on gas pipes) on the island (plus perhaps the side as normal table usage), where would the direction that the stove be facing? An island has 4 sides, and these 4 sides will face 4 different sides too. So how huh? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted January 7, 2008 Guys... Bo bianz but to bump the tread up... I need some ideas on what to do with the long walkway leading to the kitchen. Really have no idea what to do with it and splashing a coat of paint on it seems wasted.... Had spoken to some IDs though, but other than the cornice stretching frm walkway till the outline of the living/dining area, none others have any idea. Hw how...? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 7, 2008 hi are you still thinking about that island?think it's really nice to have an island in the kitchenyour store can be hacked right? if hack away the store and make it into a pantry?then you can have island in the kitchen and yet have a lot of space to move aroundsomething like this? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Phantom 1 Report post Posted January 7, 2008 mirrors on the walls... make the area look bigger.. any idea what kinda other ideas u have?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted January 8, 2008 hi are you still thinking about that island?think it's really nice to have an island in the kitchenyour store can be hacked right? if hack away the store and make it into a pantry?then you can have island in the kitchen and yet have a lot of space to move aroundsomething like this?Yah. Before we went hse hunting, was thinking of a country style hm. Ended up with a marble flooring so idea out. Thus, kitchen island is the next alternative. I dun think i wanna hack the storerm as we may have use for it in the future... had decided w hubby that we'll will not be moving unless in bo bian circumstances. And the 2 of us have lots of stuff, so storerm we need lor. Saw in yr drawing tt the fridge is next to the windows. Is it wise as there is afternoon sun along that stretch? Was afraid of the fridge being over-worked. In the kitchen there'll be the retractable clothes hanging thingy - i dun dare to bring wet clothes to sun outside. Some info that may help... The current owner has a row of cabinets opp the storerm. With that row of cabinet, the storerm door can still be opened out in full. When closed, it's enuff for 1 person to walk thru. Maybe I shd get some cats. Let them do cat-walk there.mirrors on the walls... make the area look bigger.. any idea what kinda other ideas u have??Bo ideas leh, mr phantom. My teacher gave up on me when he taught creativity n innovation in poly. Mirrors-wise, we are not tt keen lor. Scared we scared ourselves when walking thru at night. Or are we scary birds then... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 8, 2008 Yah. Before we went hse hunting, was thinking of a country style hm. Ended up with a marble flooring so idea out. Thus, kitchen island is the next alternative. I dun think i wanna hack the storerm as we may have use for it in the future... had decided w hubby that we'll will not be moving unless in bo bian circumstances. And the 2 of us have lots of stuff, so storerm we need lor. Saw in yr drawing tt the fridge is next to the windows. Is it wise as there is afternoon sun along that stretch? Was afraid of the fridge being over-worked. In the kitchen there'll be the retractable clothes hanging thingy - i dun dare to bring wet clothes to sun outside. Some info that may help... The current owner has a row of cabinets opp the storerm. With that row of cabinet, the storerm door can still be opened out in full. When closed, it's enuff for 1 person to walk thru. Maybe I shd get some cats. Let them do cat-walk there.marble flooring very country look also mah, no? just use lots of woodgrained furniture and you've got it.the fridge is next to the windows coz of the triangle ruleif got sun then just turn around - shift sink towards windows, stove diagonally opposite and fridge to inner wall no necessary to store things in storeroom mah, can also build a cabinet in the study to store all the barang barangsthese are my personal views lah, coz only you know what you need bestjust that i really love your floor plan and that's what i'll do if i'm gonna stay there Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted January 8, 2008 Hihi,Can I join in the fun too to give suggestions? Ur layout is very special....hafnt seen before... Mabbe u can consider tearing dwn storerm n building bottom cabinets for both sides? (meaning storerm side n oppo storerm side). So visually, it wld make ur walkway wider n let more light thrgh to connect ur kitchen to ur living/dining area. At the same time, u oso wld haf storage space for pots n pans or jus stuff la....And since ur planning to haf an island kitchen, it wld be cool to be able to see clearly ur kitchen island frm the living area.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 8, 2008 was thinking of suggestion a buffet hutch at the storeroom area coz she wants country-stylethink it'll look really very nice Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TPY 0 Report post Posted January 8, 2008 Reading the starter thread feel like inside a wet market so many Sotongs.....comparing saefoodsNo offcence please. Just notti. Anyway congulation. Cheers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted January 8, 2008 Harlow apple-jie.....wats a buffet hutch? *me mountain la...* Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 8, 2008 it looks like thisthink i'll get one of these when i revamp my kitchen, say 5yrs down the road Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted January 8, 2008 Icic.....country style ya... Match sheepcat too... Abit sayang that the storerm walls canot be teared dwn completely.....why hdb muz always haf walls dat cannot be knocked dwn neh..... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted January 8, 2008 marble flooring very country look also mah, no? :dunno:just use lots of woodgrained furniture and you've got it.the fridge is next to the windows coz of the triangle ruleif got sun then just turn around - shift sink towards windows, stove diagonally opposite and fridge to inner wall no necessary to store things in storeroom mah, can also build a cabinet in the study to store all the barang barangsthese are my personal views lah, coz only you know what you need bestjust that i really love your floor plan and that's what i'll do if i'm gonna stay there :wub:Hihi Applefreak,What's this abt triangle rule? FS reason? Sorry, haven gone thru tt and knw nuts abt FS... no necessary to store things in storeroom mah, can also build a cabinet in the study to store all the barang barangsthese are my personal views lah, coz only you know what you need bestjust that i really love your floor plan and that's what i'll do if i'm gonna stay there :wub:Hihi,Can I join in the fun too to give suggestions? Ur layout is very special....hafnt seen before... Mabbe u can consider tearing dwn storerm n building bottom cabinets for both sides? (meaning storerm side n oppo storerm side). So visually, it wld make ur walkway wider n let more light thrgh to connect ur kitchen to ur living/dining area. At the same time, u oso wld haf storage space for pots n pans or jus stuff la....And since ur planning to haf an island kitchen, it wld be cool to be able to see clearly ur kitchen island frm the living area.... Erm... i thot the layout was kinda same thru-out... Perhaps this is more to the Tampines units? Hi Greycat, sure no problem! Any ideas on welcome! You know what? After you mention the part on widening the kitchen area and let ppl see the island kitchen, i rather like it. But then I realised later that the darker lines means that the walls cant b hacked. Thus, if the remaining store walls are hacked down, there'll be 2 pillars standing there... muah hahaa... Harlow apple-jie.....wats a buffet hutch? *me mountain la...* Same... no idea what's a buffet hutch. But after seeing the pic, understooded. Reading the starter thread feel like inside a wet market so many Sotongs.....comparing saefoodsNo offcence please. Just notti. Anyway congulation. Cheers Thanks TPY. But i thot i mentioned sotongs only? Think the other seafood were mentioned by another forummer. Icic.....country style ya... Match sheepcat too... Abit sayang that the storerm walls canot be teared dwn completely.....why hdb muz always haf walls dat cannot be knocked dwn neh..... Scared the whole block come tumbling down? !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Phantom 1 Report post Posted January 8, 2008 triangle rule not FS. lolits abt how kitchens should be designed to maximize space and ease of "using" the kitchen.lol what themes have you decided to reno your place?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites