jonkrisiggy 0 Report post Posted June 9, 2008 We discovered something potentially that may disrupt the reno schedule. Water marks/splashes across newly painted walls and along sides of windows (below windows, a line down). It's in my purple rm, along the aircon trunking in mbr, and along the trunking in the balcony. Luckily i didnt have anything built in at the recess area below the windows because if hdb insist, all those have to be torn out. It's unnerving to see this because we cant figure how how it could have happened. The AC had not even been tested/switched on because the AC ppl didnt do up the plug properly. And if it's not the AC condensation, where whd the water come from? These few days it was raining in Tampines. When it was painted last week, it was still sunny so it cant be seen. :~ Steven will pop by either tomorrow/monday to take a look. Hoping it's nothing serious though at the back of my mind, i dun think its as simple as just repainting. Hi skywolf, Is it the A/C installer fault? Maybe if it is their fault, can revert back to Gain City? Skywolf, btw, I had done some shopping last saturday... Too tedious for me to move ard. Damage at Sim Siang Choon is ard 1.9K. Then we also selected our tilings... Basically, the main colour for the house is machiam like contemporary colour - Grey. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted June 9, 2008 I am not sure also. AC had not been tested, so cannot be (shd be right? ) Anyway, ID went over this am. He say nothing leh. I was like . Really no pic no talk. Furious @ myself for not getting camera and gg over to take on Sat. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redknapp39 0 Report post Posted June 9, 2008 Maybe the water was due to the heavy rain. Someone could have forgotten to close the windows. Anyway, ur reno still have warranty period. So dun worry. Still can get the ID to come back n work on the area. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted June 10, 2008 Oh. I forgot to update. Town council got back. Said i'm not the only one to have this issue. My future neighbours, up down left right also got this. That's why they are repainting the external facade. TC said that those blks using bricks will have this issue when they age. When repainting the facade, they will apply sealer and then paint over it. So now waiting (a bit impatient already) for the property officer in charge of my blk to call me. I need to kiv my platforms and repainting (water mark still there as of last nite) because they have to do something at their side first before we do the inside. ID was accomodating. I was like really apologetic abt it coz it's not their problem and they can say heck care and go abt their own reno schedule. But they didnt. I'm lucky they are the responsible kind. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted June 12, 2008 TC's painter came up to fix the cracks caused by the external brick facade this afternoon. They are able to fix it without doing the gondolier thingy. The painter told me to monitor when and after it rained. I'm supposed to pray for rain so that I can see the aftermath. Hope it's fine. Stuff done up in the past few days... - WCs, common toilet sink & shower set, MBR's shower panel are done. Storage heater is also up. Quite giantic, i think. - Polishing done on Monday. Was there that night and was stunned to see the difference. - Wooden boards for the 2 platforms up yesterday. I saw this gap that was in between the top of the platform and below the AC trunking... was thinking hard to clean that area and ID sugg we wait till the parquet is up before he see if something can be stuffed below that space. Wooden doors will be up this Sat, and monday, parquet to be done. Hope's the worksmanship is fine because this part is being 'outsourced'. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jonkrisiggy 0 Report post Posted June 14, 2008 TC's painter came up to fix the cracks caused by the external brick facade this afternoon. They are able to fix it without doing the gondolier thingy. The painter told me to monitor when and after it rained. I'm supposed to pray for rain so that I can see the aftermath. Hope it's fine. Stuff done up in the past few days... - WCs, common toilet sink & shower set, MBR's shower panel are done. Storage heater is also up. Quite giantic, i think. - Polishing done on Monday. Was there that night and was stunned to see the difference. - Wooden boards for the 2 platforms up yesterday. I saw this gap that was in between the top of the platform and below the AC trunking... was thinking hard to clean that area and ID sugg we wait till the parquet is up before he see if something can be stuffed below that space. Wooden doors will be up this Sat, and monday, parquet to be done. Hope's the worksmanship is fine because this part is being 'outsourced'. Hi Skywolf, Any nice nice pictures to see???? Hehehehe! Yesterday I finish my shopping for lightings. Bought all the lights fixtures at Shen Lightings. So far, their prices are the cheapest. Lady boss also very nice... NO GST! WOAH! But the damage is sob sob $1100 there. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted June 14, 2008 Hi Skywolf, Any nice nice pictures to see???? Hehehehe! Yesterday I finish my shopping for lightings. Bought all the lights fixtures at Shen Lightings. So far, their prices are the cheapest. Lady boss also very nice... NO GST! WOAH! But the damage is sob sob $1100 there. Heehee. Didnt take any as it was quite dusty after their installation. Once it looks more decent, then will take. Nice to hear you cleared one part... we didnt get those fancy fancy ones, so long bright enough, and pricing ok, we just took. No GST is very good! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cherry 0 Report post Posted June 15, 2008 By right the external painting should all comes with one coat of sealer. I don't think it's the brick problem, think should be that painting is old and it's time to repaint the facade. Anyway all the best to you, hope things will be smooth thereafter. Looking forward to more pics...hehe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted June 15, 2008 By right the external painting should all comes with one coat of sealer. I don't think it's the brick problem, think should be that painting is old and it's time to repaint the facade. Anyway all the best to you, hope things will be smooth thereafter. Looking forward to more pics...hehe That i have no idea. But anyway, that was what they say... Pics-wise... perhaps when the dust had settled down on the reno. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2008 (edited) Took leave today to see how the parquet installation is like. Was told by Hau Hau tt the installer will come by early in the morning to start. Ended up I woke up @ 8+, called the installer's no. given to me (so tt my ID can contact them if nec.) At 8.30am... Him (or from the installer company): Oh, I had not arranged the timings for the workers as one of my msian worker was sick so need to rearrange. Later i call you back can? Me: Can, no problem. At 9.30am Me: Hi, how? What time is the installer coming? Him: Oh, sorry, was too busy and cant call back. Me thinking: Pressed him harder to give a definite time so that I can arrange MY own time because happened to meet the grilles and ID today also. Him: Shd be around afternoon. Will get him to call you 1 hr before he arrive. Me: Ok. At 15 mins before this post Me: How? Him: Worker haven call you back? Me: (obviously not since i called him). Lessons learnt in this morning. If really have to 'outsource', time management must be very gd. They are prone to give last min surprises. And if you are working (as per most ppl), you have to be able to get urgent leave. Feedback on **** doors (3 room doors and storerm door): They arrived 1/2 hr earlier last Sat @ 8.30am (i was still sleeping ). Upon installation, the worker found that the factory had cut the MBR door wrongly, and will be coming this Sat again @ 8.30am. Plus, 2 of the locksets (we ordered 4 doors) fixed were quite loose, and there is a small dent on the lever for 1 lockset (pretty obvious as it's matted silver). Conveyed these to the door supplier, they will take note for this Sat. Luckily, we have not paid them yet. They were supposed to come by this week (21st) to do the installation, but on 13th June, called me to say someone shifted their appt so I can get them to do on 14th. Feedback on Wellmax (grilles): Eric (recommended by forummer Keltong) dropped by also to see our main door's grille. Had asked him to drop by instead of confirming over the phone so that he can match the common window's grille color to that of main door's grille. Upon another forummer's request, i had asked for the warranty period. Didnt thot of that just now nor earlier. Thanks, Mud3210! Feedback on Hau Hau Parquet: Gone through the tel conversation and now still waiting fo the installer chap to call back. I also asked how much to pay them since the installer have to come by and polish it next week (there's goes another day of leave). He asked me if Susan (from HH) had said this which i said no. I was only told of the installation cost (a lump sum) by HH. Installer said it's normally 60% and I request him to issue a receipt and i will make a chq pymt payable to the company's name (Better be safe in case installer took cash and run off). When I spoke to Steven just now, he said they had used HH a few yrs back but had dropped them due to poor worksmanship + their installer charge by lump sum (and not by psf). Plus, HH's recommended installer are not theirs. It's their recommendation only. Thus, they do not offer waranty on the installation. Do note this part. At last call to the installer to bug them on time 1 min ago, he said 1.30pm. As the purchase of the parquet and the installation is by 2 different parties, you need to liaise with 2 grps of ppl. Luckily, Steven is good enough to help us to receive the parquet wood last Fri and pay them off. What I didnt know earlier and again which I didnt ask, is that HH charges $30 for the driver to bring the materials upstairs! Their justification is tt they sell the wood only and delivery amt is charge by the drivers. The installer also said will supply the 'you mu pi' for the part where the step is. As my chinese is really cmi, i can only wait there to see what is this thing. Apparently, if i do not like it (because i worry may warp due to mopping of other parts of the floor), i have to go down to HH to get the parquet for that area. Will update once they finish the installation later. Sorry for the long post... Edited June 16, 2008 by skywolf Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2008 wow you have a very long morning leh...sure got some happenings thruout the reno process... i think i haven kana much yet leh but hopefully dun have also la! you can overcome it wan...hehehehehehehe hope everything be smooth from NOW on Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jeddie 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2008 hi skywolf i just had my parquet floors done by HH and their recommend installer, Mr Gan as well. guess in terms of quality, i cant demand too much coz its cheaper by abt 2k, as wat is quoted by my id firm.... i received the invoice from them..but haven issue cheque yet...and i also paid $30 for moving the stuff up my place... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted June 16, 2008 wow you have a very long morning leh...sure got some happenings thruout the reno process... i think i haven kana much yet leh but hopefully dun have also la! you can overcome it wan...hehehehehehehe hope everything be smooth from NOW on Very long. Yeah. hi skywolf i just had my parquet floors done by HH and their recommend installer, Mr Gan as well. guess in terms of quality, i cant demand too much coz its cheaper by abt 2k, as wat is quoted by my id firm.... i received the invoice from them..but haven issue cheque yet...and i also paid $30 for moving the stuff up my place... Oh wow, mine was abt $300 difference, after adding up the moving up part and the additional $ for the erm, parquet skirting? After factoring in all these, think my hubby will me coz might as well let ID earn the difference. Anyway, i've no idea on the quality yet. Only encountered the communication part only. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
jonkrisiggy 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2008 Very long. Yeah. Oh wow, mine was abt $300 difference, after adding up the moving up part and the additional $ for the erm, parquet skirting? After factoring in all these, think my hubby will me coz might as well let ID earn the difference. Anyway, i've no idea on the quality yet. Only encountered the communication part only. HI Skywolf, wah... did not know that HH parquet is so jialat... VOMIT BLOOD I also very angry with my contractor. U know his paint work quote me 2k whereas if I get direct from Nippon or ICI paint, it is ard 1.3k to 1.4k! That day he come and discuss with my hubby... I sat there and ask him, " Uncle ur paint work use what paint? How come so much more ex than outside? " He says oh this is rough quote blah blah blah... in the end... I ask my hubby since we paid deposit base on his "ROUGH QUOTE", throw some more items in. We requested him to add in 3 more wardrobes in all the other bedrooms and study table ... all custom make. Before he left the house, i told him I wanna a break down quote after reno done... then I will pay the balance. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted June 17, 2008 HI Skywolf, wah... did not know that HH parquet is so jialat... VOMIT BLOOD I also very angry with my contractor. U know his paint work quote me 2k whereas if I get direct from Nippon or ICI paint, it is ard 1.3k to 1.4k! That day he come and discuss with my hubby... I sat there and ask him, " Uncle ur paint work use what paint? How come so much more ex than outside? " He says oh this is rough quote blah blah blah... in the end... I ask my hubby since we paid deposit base on his "ROUGH QUOTE", throw some more items in. We requested him to add in 3 more wardrobes in all the other bedrooms and study table ... all custom make. Before he left the house, i told him I wanna a break down quote after reno done... then I will pay the balance. Oh wow! Good for you! I need to find time to take pics. No time, no time~ ID told me can buy those whatever to be fixed like curtain rods, whatever needs to be drilled holes by this Sat. I went ... Asked him for more time and he said next Sat... Am i the only one who request to delay 1 more week for handover? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites