NiVleK 0 Report post Posted April 6, 2008 wow major work.so you hack the whole flooring or just the foyer area?Only foyer area la...If I have budget I will hack the whole floor liaos. Unfortunately, I do not have such massive budget, or should I say, I rather spend more on my entertainment stuff. Point to learn from my first HDB purchase - NEVER GET PREMIUM FLATS. Premium my foot. As I said to the HDB officers, my Indian works and Bangladeshi workers can do so much better. HDB Premium flats = Lousy workmanship = Slow and poor rectfication processhi NiVleK,would like to ask is in your master bedroom, the bed placement is it more to the left side of the window?(view from entering to ur Master bedroom door). As we knoe the actual place is not that spacious in realtime. Will there be sufficient walking space( @ air-con window)? Yups. More to the left. Cos my TV will be at the wall in front so got to "center" it also. My bed is queen size lor..For me, I am doing platform bed. The right side space is not much lor...but we brainstorm very long liaos..thats the best placement for the original room, unless you want to hack the walls. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NiVleK 0 Report post Posted April 7, 2008 Some more updates on my reno progress. Check out my new foyer complete with pebble wash and decor tiles.However, I am not really happy with the selection of the pebbles, it feels too rough to touch and I am afraid that 2 years down the road, after my studies and we want to have kids, the floor is too rough and if children fall there will be bad cuts on the knees. How how how?? Apart from rehacking again and selecting the pebbles, what can I do?!?!?? Got to ask my ID liaos. Close up of the pebble wash.View of the kitchen wall entrance after being patched up. There will be a frosted glass with wooden frame in place of the wall.View of the kitchen layout. Very small hor? We did not like the idea of having the HDB determined place of washing machine right beside the window so we chose to shrink the working area for the kitchen top to place the washing machine at the far end of the kitchen. Look at the base and you can see how cramp the **** kitchen is. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ranval9 0 Report post Posted April 7, 2008 View of the kitchen layout. Very small hor? We did not like the idea of having the HDB determined place of washing machine right beside the window so we chose to shrink the working area for the kitchen top to place the washing machine at the far end of the kitchen. Look at the base and you can see how cramp the **** kitchen is.spam-ing time ~ well, i have the same layout for the kitchen ... , not too bad wor .. i still can place cages for my pets wor .. thus you dun have to worry ~ i like your doggy ... but he looks very gentle to be ah beng wor .. more like a rapper ~ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NiVleK 0 Report post Posted April 7, 2008 The coming ah beng Truffle, my mini schnauzer.MESSY AH BENG! spam-ing time ~ well, i have the same layout for the kitchen ... , not too bad wor .. i still can place cages for my pets wor .. thus you dun have to worry ~ i like your doggy ... but he looks very gentle to be ah beng wor .. more like a rapper ~ :(Really? Hahaha. Maybe I missed your thread. Cos the past few threads on JW St64 have all their kitchen extended till the end. But seriously, kitchen is @*(#&(#&@ small. My mum's place kitchen is double the size. DOUBLE! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NiVleK 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2008 Oh ya, we bought lights already. Didnt really went around to "light hunt" for cheaper lights, went straight to ID recommended Chelsea Lighting In total we bought: 15 PLC Lights 2x13W - White Rimmed. Didnt choose the SUS/AL one as I saw the tarnished ones that were kept long at the showroom. Didnt want to spend the rest of my JW time polishing the rim of the downlight.3 Nos of Bedroom Lights energy saving lights. The lady said that this was enuff for bedroom so I just got it. We also switch on a normal 32W tube and compare this with it and it is much brighter.1 No of designer lights with Led emitting and normal bulb. 1 No of dining light - two globes enclosed in a "cage" very zen-ish and expensive. $290! OMG!3 Nos of "Toilet Lights" - 2 for toilets and 1 for HHS2 Nos of Big milo can kitchen lights! Big black round. HmmmmTotal Damage: $1415. Over budget Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Cantona7 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2008 Wah Bro ur HTS use diamond 9 even ur wedding ring also use big diamond. Fyi if u are looking for cheap electirc appliance u can go to Kong Tai Electric Tel: 65658924 at JW. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2008 However, I am not really happy with the selection of the pebbles, it feels too rough to touch and I am afraid that 2 years down the road, after my studies and we want to have kids, the floor is too rough and if children fall there will be bad cuts on the knees. How how how?? Apart from rehacking again and selecting the pebbles, what can I do?!?!??!! Got to ask my ID liaos. Close up of the pebble wash.Do you get to choose the pebbles? I have this small strip of pebble mix separating the study and living rm because the existing flooring is marble (not able to find exact shade of tiles n replacing w marble is quite exp). Or is it the way they mix the cement with the pebbles and the sharper ends happen to jut out? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NiVleK 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2008 (edited) Wah Bro ur HTS use diamond 9 even ur wedding ring also use big diamond. Fyi if u are looking for cheap electirc appliance u can go to Kong Tai Electric Tel: 65658924 at JW. What appliance you tokking about? Which shop will you recommend for me to purchase my TV??Do you get to choose the pebbles? I have this small strip of pebble mix separating the study and living rm because the existing flooring is marble (not able to find exact shade of tiles n replacing w marble is quite exp). Or is it the way they mix the cement with the pebbles and the sharper ends happen to jut out?They mix the cement with the pebbles. This pebble is the mixture of sharp and round ones, I should have gotten the rounds ones instead. haiiizzz Edited April 8, 2008 by NiVleK Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
skywolf 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2008 What appliance you tokking about? Which shop will you recommend for me to purchase my TV??They mix the cement with the pebbles. This pebble is the mixture of sharp and round ones, I should have gotten the rounds ones instead. haiiizzzOh dear... perhaps you may want to see if they can do something abt it? Highlight to them for kids next time, etc... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BunBun 5 Report post Posted April 8, 2008 Nivlek, Agree kitchen size is real small. I went to the showflat at st 64 last time. It's the one closest to the temple right? Im not sure 'cos your floor plan is slanted somehow. I don't remember the place as having a slanted side when I went there. My hubby even commented that there is not much sunlight coming in 'cos got a blocked view from this and that block of flats on both sides. But I like truffle, Im ready to dognap it the moment I see it. The coming ah beng Truffle, my mini schnauzer.MESSY AH BENG! Really? Hahaha. Maybe I missed your thread. Cos the past few threads on JW St64 have all their kitchen extended till the end. But seriously, kitchen is @*(#&(#&@ small. My mum's place kitchen is double the size. DOUBLE! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NiVleK 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2008 Aircon Trunking Running (1st Visit)Hong Tar guys came over to do the air con piping layout today. Overall, I am ok with the workmanship, could be improved, but not happy with the layout of the pipe routing. Then again, there is no way to run the pipes already. And there are some doubts I have on the installation. See below....View of the left side of the wall when I enter the MBR. I dun understand why the piping is concealed inside and they do not leave extra outside???View of the piping running at the bottom of the MBR! Two big fat casing at the place that I am having my platform and also to lean back. Now got to get my ID to do some box up so that it will be comfortable again. WASTE MONEY!Sad sad thing. View of it going through to the outdoor.View of the outside of the aircon ledge.Close up of guest room piping. I do not understand why the two copper pipe is squeezed into one insulation?!??!?! Is that the NORM??? I questioned them and they say its like that one. Advice anyone??View of the study room. SO GOOD!! Back to back and zero casing can be seen. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
babytan 0 Report post Posted April 8, 2008 (edited) my MBR piping also same place with you lehis HUGE lor but that area is not where we gonna place our bed..but problem is that more cleaning area.. Edited April 8, 2008 by babytan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NiVleK 0 Report post Posted April 9, 2008 my MBR piping also same place with you lehis HUGE lor but that area is not where we gonna place our bed..but problem is that more cleaning area.. But I doing platform bed mah...so that place obstructing my leaning position, then LL got to put some headboard or what there. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
NiVleK 0 Report post Posted April 9, 2008 Wiring Pictures UpdateView of wiring done in my living room. Quite standard work for a contractor but nonetheless, rather neat. KEC also came over and gave us a roll of speaker cables for running in the false ceiling and L box. Not very good service leh. Clarence told me the person will measure to length and cut for us. Now the person just leave the whole drum in the house for my ID to use as he please. We also told him that to get a subwoofer cable for us cos the cable will be penetrating the console out to the platform. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
popeye gal 0 Report post Posted April 9, 2008 (edited) Hope to see your carpentry work soon.. I tot that, One copper pipe use one Insulation? Are they save cost? Btw, Are you installing, Storage Heater or Instant Heater? Got one neighbour mention that their ID said can't install instant Heater.(Problem About it's the hidden Pipe) Edited April 9, 2008 by popeye gal Share this post Link to post Share on other sites