NiVleK

Our New Place @ Jw

Hmmmm decided to shift my Reno Blog to T-Chat!:sport-smiley-004: hehehe :rolleyes: Think here is better.

Anyway, just some information. We got our 1st appointment sometime at the end of last month! Selected a unit that was not really in our choices, mainly cos it has a slanted living room. Planning space for it is killing us. However, at least we got a rather high unit considering that the whole flat is only 16 storey high!

So there begins our journey to find a suitable and good ID....

PS: HLE **** long leh...i send back by mail days after first appointmeent but still the stupid HDB ppl is processing it like polishing diamond. Kaoz.

Edited by NiVleK

Hmmmm, after getting the 1st appointment and the floor layout, we went to some IDs to have a look. The first, was a horrible experience.

Chew's Interior Design

That was our first stop of ID as I have not really went through this forum and it was recommended in the HDBay website. Thought why not, lets just take a look.

If my memory didnt fail me, we were served by a guy named Eric Toh. We walked around the showroom and took a look. Impressive showroom and equally impressive price. He quoted more than 10K above the budget and it was like quoted 5 mins after discussion. Chop carrot place. Besides, I dun feel that its a ID, I felt I am the ID cos I gave him ideas and then he gave me prices.

After that we went to 2 more IDs....which I shall not disclose yet...

I-Deal House Pte Ltd: Recommended by a fellow renotalk

: Recommended by a business associate

Update later....breakfast time!

Edited: Unmasked ID names as I have selected them

Edited by NiVleK

Wecome to renotalk!!

I almost got a place at JW st64 too!

But the 5 room is too small to accomdate for all of us.

Nice place, i think when you enter into the estate, its like entering to a condo!! Nice!!

Waiting for your pictures!

wah me getting slow liao

third to spam :sport-smiley-004::bangwall:

hmm chew interior is not a place i'd recommend

been there in the earlier days of planning, but find that they showroom's workmanship is very coarse

can't imagine how they'll do up my place :jawdrop:

i have to agree that the living room is a real challenge

but the rest of your rooms are quite square, definitely good for space planning :good::D

Wecome to renotalk!!

I almost got a place at JW st64 too!

But the 5 room is too small to accomdate for all of us.

Nice place, i think when you enter into the estate, its like entering to a condo!! Nice!!

Waiting for your pictures!

Hmmm, for us, there are only two of us. Me and my WTB, so I dun really need a EA. But actually, we wanted to get the EAs at JW but too bad its all sold out when it reached our turn. In any case, we only narrow our choices to JW or West area. I work at the very end west of the tiny dot and it will be much better if we have our place near.

On a hindsight, I think it was a good choice to get a 5 room. EA is a little too big for 2 at the moment.

Now waiting for keys!!!

Ok. Time to update some progress on ID searching.

I-DEAL HOUSE : We have had 2 appointments so far. The ID serving us was a young chap, real friendly and nice and overall, he is the best so far. Told him about our ideas and already have a prelimanry layout design and prelimary quotation. Lower than what we expected!! And from the works/photos of the similar ID company, I think it is a good choice. Told the ID about some more changes and requote for us. Now eagerly waiting for the revised quote + visit to one of their completed showflat.

LS2: Recommended by a business associate. Not that well known in this forum, could not really find much photos in the forum and the company also do not really have much portfolio to look at. Was told by my colleague that the house was nice and simple.

So we took the plunge. Had 2 meetings already. First meeting was good, nice ladies that attended to us, talkative and friendly and full of ideas. We just had our meeting yesterday for the proposed layout. Quite surprised that they are fine with my ideas where ID A thinks that its not feasible. But the price is something to look at. Much more expensive than ID A and they seem to "allow for changes" in their pricing. Simply means that if its a feature wall, they do not specify laminate, wall paper or spray paint. They can do all if you want, and hence the higher price.

Lately, IDs have standard 5 room packages that ranges around $9K. Using that basis, I extracted their quotation and come out a same package, ID B equivalent pricing will be about 13K for the same items. Rather expensive I would say but nonetheless, I asked for perspective view of certain locations and a visit to a completed place.

Forgot the name: Got my WTB to arrange an appointment. Haven got a return call yet. Still waiting.

GPlan: He said he was bz till Jan next year and the reno can start only in March. I am quite fine with that, so maybe I will wait for him.

Meanwhile, I also planning for bridal shots, ROM, etc. Tired leh...

Updated the ID company names

Edited by NiVleK

Congrat. Wow :jawdrop: just nice for a HT projector with large screen at the back of the living room :jawdrop: .

All the best in your ID hunting.

Cannot ah....though I wish to...I will be satisfied with a 50" screen :jawdrop: with some ok satellite speakers and a 1.3 capable amp. :jawdrop:

Hi Nivlek ~ yr living room is really challenging man. i just collected my keys today. any good and reliable id to recommend?

I would say most IDs recommended here a worth a try. Actually, its quite fun to talk to IDs and get ideas from them, things that you never thought of might surface out of the discussion. But of course, its mentally and physically draining.

Cant really recommend anyone cos I haven had much experience also.. :dunno:

My Short-Listed Choices of TV for the Living Room

I am a console game fan and also movie fan. So, I decided that I should get a 50" TV for the hall. With so much high def material out there, I think it is also better to invest in a good Full HD TV....with that...comes the few choices

1) Panny VIERA TH-50PY700

large---TH50PY700.jpg

- 50" Full HD Plasma TV

2) Sony KLV-46X300A Full HD LCD TV

3) Sony KLV-46W300A Full HD LCD TV

4) Samsung 46M81BDX

5) Samsung 46F81BDX

Prices here should be in the same range, if i recall correctly but only one is a 50" screenie....Still researching and viewing these panels...... WHICH TO CHOOSE!:)!

Headache. :jawdrop: