gadgetgal 0 Report post Posted December 13, 2007 (edited) For the following:As we visit our reno site, 3-4 times a week (weekday average once every two days,mainly tuesday/monday and then thursday/friday and another visit on saturday/sunday)Format of the identification I will use for the pictures will be (Week number, early of the week indicated by 1,2 or 3, 1 means early of the week, 2 means mid of the week and 3 means late of that week, while subsequent indication means, the order of the picture taken.e.g: Week 03-1-04 (means 03-third week, 1-early of third week, running number of the picture)So here it is... for your viewing pleasure, comments and critics all welcome, appreciate if your can remind me on things I missed out and things I need to remember. *now to fullfil most of my neighbours request, I am doing some backdating jobs, uploading pics up to week 6 or 7. phew....Week 1, HDB loaded the sand and prepare to do cement screeding - early November 2007.Week 01-1-01Week 01-1-02 Edited December 13, 2007 by gadgetgal Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetgal 0 Report post Posted December 13, 2007 (edited) Week 2 - mid of the week, cement screeding started (we only do MBR and suggested study room), the rest homo tiles.You may wonder why, well,.. those two places are the most visited place by us. the rest of the other two rooms,.. guest room and entertainment room bah.. yetMBR Cement screeding (taken picture, cause HDB dirty my lovely door!), but .... see further below, they finally clean it lar Suggested study room (will build a box up partition there for a room, study room)Again, HDB Contractor,.. aih... they simply spill all their work on the common toilet. Pray hard they didn't hardened the drainage!After a few days of cement screeding, they cleaned the MBR doorWeek 2 weekend,.. shopping for Sink and Tap at HoeKee new world. (Lots of variety, but price on the medium to high side).Well, no choice, we've spent the previous two weekends in the earlier month to source and check the design, and it came to a point that my hubby can get everything all in one shop plus we're too tired to source.So here are our Sink and Tap (we may change the tap, cause the neck is too short from its base). Edited December 13, 2007 by gadgetgal Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted December 13, 2007 ask u ah,is ur sink top mount or undermount?if u buy top mount sink, do u intend to use the top mount sink to do undermount? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetgal 0 Report post Posted December 13, 2007 (edited) ask u ah,is ur sink top mount or undermount?if u buy top mount sink, do u intend to use the top mount sink to do undermount?Hi Yang Guo,Errr... this is the first time I heard top mount sink and undermount sink....Sorry,.. but I totally lost with your statement "if u buy top mount sink, do u intend to use the top mount sink to do undermount?"what is top mount sink, do undermount, and undermount sink do top mount ah? But... my sink is on top of the cement sink support. I do cement support for both sink and cooker area (full L-shape). I am quite surprised when they mount the sink on a bare cement sink (no tiles, no nothing, just newly constructed cement. May need to check or whack them if they do it wrongly. Don't wish they hack the cement to take out my sink if they did it wrongly.... For your sake, I am uploading the picture taken as of yesterday. Edited December 13, 2007 by gadgetgal Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted December 13, 2007 oh..hehe oktop mount = mount on top of the kitchen surface topbottom mount = mount below of the kitchen surface toppros and cons..top mount method: water may over flow easily out of your kitchen top. its nicer to do top mountbottom mount method: water flow back to the sink, lesser chance that the water will overflow out of your kitchen topIn the market, most shops are selling top mount sink, i dont know why also. heard from the sales person that alot of people buy top mount sink.. but they installed in bottom of the kitchen top..get what i mean? keke..v difficult to explain. Top mount sink mount bottom of the kitchen top vsbottom sink mount bottom of the kitchen top is that the looks differs. (i dont really see before but imagining) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetgal 0 Report post Posted December 13, 2007 (edited) oh..hehe oktop mount = mount on top of the kitchen surface topbottom mount = mount below of the kitchen surface toppros and cons..top mount method: water may over flow easily out of your kitchen top. its nicer to do top mountbottom mount method: water flow back to the sink, lesser chance that the water will overflow out of your kitchen topIn the market, most shops are selling top mount sink, i dont know why also. heard from the sales person that alot of people buy top mount sink.. but they installed in bottom of the kitchen top..get what i mean? keke..v difficult to explain. Top mount sink mount bottom of the kitchen top vsbottom sink mount bottom of the kitchen top is that the looks differs. (i dont really see before but imagining)Ahh... I got you.do you have the sample reno pictures of both and the effects it produced?.thanks for pointing out!!. Now we really need to act quick and check with them before they do tiling on my cement sink... Edited December 13, 2007 by gadgetgal Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted December 14, 2007 Hi GADMine will be the same as yours.Min renovation. No features wall.No false wall.Maybe do one straight line I Box with 3 to 4 down lights. No box up in the suggested study room!But for kitchen cabinet, yes, same as yours, concrete support.May I know how much your id charge your for the concrete support per feet run?Yours at high floor?HAPPY Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lifestyle 0 Report post Posted December 14, 2007 Hi gadgetgal,We installed a top mount sink like undermount. Please see my T-blog (post# 307) for pic.Cheers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted December 14, 2007 Yes better to have undermount, over mount will have water seep in at the edge especially washing dirty plates or cups. Over time, the edge will get dark colour. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted December 14, 2007 hehe... but really feel a bit paiseh... not sure at the end will look kinda run down or not we didn't do feature wall, didn't do false ceiling, L-box or anything on top. all lighting maintain the same (still contemplating to add foyer light, as dining and foyer only have one lighting point.. *sigh..).Initial reno target is around 18k.. but burst by around 4k (excluding air-con, lightings and other moveable electrical appliances/furnitures)different poison for different man, that's my viewmine is exactly like your, no nothing but hor, new place how to look run down?esp with all the new furniture and flooring Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kriegs 0 Report post Posted December 14, 2007 Good progress on the renovation. Mine also min renov, spend more on nice furnitures Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted December 14, 2007 (edited) Hi APPLEAgreed!! Mine also very min reno, has to keep it very very simple. 2 reasons:1) My kids are very young and very active. 2) Also there will be tons of things to bring over to my new house!!! HAPPYdifferent poison for different man, that's my viewmine is exactly like your, no nothing but hor, new place how to look run down?esp with all the new furniture and flooring Edited December 14, 2007 by h4happy Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted December 14, 2007 hey happy, exactly the same in my case, brought over some old furniture from my old placehi gadgetgal, check out my blog under kitchen categorymy sink is undermounted Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
phoenix 0 Report post Posted December 14, 2007 hello...your new 5 rm looks huge! in the living still can partition to do a study and still looks spacious! how big is the total floor area?? looking forward to see your completed unit. regarding your kitchen sink, if u intend to do under mount for the sink, make sure u buy one that can be under mounted. not all sinks can under mount. so do take note. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted December 14, 2007 Hi PHOENIX110 sq ft.Without box up the study room, the living room will be even bigger and airy.HAPPY Share this post Link to post Share on other sites