ckoonyin

Application Of Permits And Chemical Wash

Hey Peeps,

Have just gotten myself a new premium 5 room flat. Have decided to coordinate/do the renovation myself as i realise i got friends and relatives doing reno stuff.

For carpentry, my relative will do. As for the plumbing and installation of bathroom assesories, my dad's friend will be doing that.

Installation of the water heater and aircon will be done by the place where i buy the things from.

But i have the following enquiries,

1) Who should apply for the haulage? Or i need to apply it myself?

2) Are they are permits that needs to be applied, by who and for what? Cause got no hacking or anything.

3) Are chemical wash really necessary? Or we do general cleaning ourselves is sufficent?

4) Am going to paint the house myself but do i need to apply sealant for the walls and ceiliings before applying the actual paint?

5) Is there any website or programs which i can try to see how the colors would look like?

Or if there is any other good advise for me, just feel free to let it out! :dunno:

Thanks in advance for your kind advise. :dunno:

Edited by ckoonyin

2) Are they are permits that needs to be applied, by who and for what? Cause got no hacking or anything.

Certain window replacements needs PE endorsements.

3) Are chemical wash really necessary? Or we do general cleaning ourselves is sufficent?

If your tiles are very clean (no difficult stains) then you can skip the chemical wash.

Or if there is any other good advise for me, just feel free to let it out! :dancingqueen:

- Make sure meet all the new guidelines as stated in HDB website.

1) Who should apply for the haulage? Or i need to apply it myself?

I went to Town Council to pay the haulage fees. Rates differs for different room types, but my 5-room cost $187.25.

Perhaps you can ask the contractors doing the different work for you to apply for the different types of permit if applicable?

Think HDB would pass you 2 booklet guides on renovation and electrical. You could look through them and see if there's any reno item you are doing requires a permit.

5) Is there any website or programs which i can try to see how the colors would look like?

Think ICI website has a program where you can play with the different colors and see their effects.

I'm still in the midst of my reno. But hope this is helpful..

Hi Crrabb,

Pls help with the Haulauge fees problem. Because our ID told us Haulage fees for our flat will need to pay S$ 800 while we check with Town council, the officer said no need to pay for Haulage fees (because of new flat but old block). So please advise us whether we still need to pay S$800 to our ID? We feel like S$ is too much for our 5 room flat (as no hacking of the floor or wall at all).

Haulage fees is charged by the contractor that is appointed by your town council and not your ID.............feels like your ID is trying to chop you...............perhaps u may wanna email to the town council, get a reply email and show to your ID......

haulage is charged by town council only when the block is new

haulage for my flat was charged by my contractor coz there's no longer a TC-appointed contractor liao

honey, maybe you want to check with your ID does haulage include sand cost

and what masonry works you are doing that requires haulage

that'll give you a clearer picture on shat the $800 is for !!

honey, maybe you want to check with your ID does haulage include sand cost

and what masonry works you are doing that requires haulage

that'll give you a clearer picture on shat the $800 is for :bleah:

Thanks for your advice, Apple freak. Now our new flat need to do is to lay the homogeneous tiles **** and dining area and 3 bedrooms will be laid laminated floor (where HDB will lay cement screeding for 3 bedrooms free rt?). The kichen tiles was already laid by HDB. So I want to know is round about S$ 800 is standard for 5 rm flat (for living, dining- tiles and 3 bedrm- laminate). So can I know usually ID charge how much? I think the sand you mentioned was already included in the package rt? The rest are just carpentary work like TV Console, feature wall, wardrobe and dressing table at mbr, kitchen cabinet like that.

So you mean we still need to pay to ID for haulage service fees even though we do not need to pay to town council? Because we first understand that if town council no need, we no need to pay at anyone. If by right die die have to pay, there is no choice lor. :dancingqueen:

And last night when we checked the contract we signed, there is the notes that mention "haulauge service, air-con, electrical work is not included in the package". At that time we think was haulauge fees is just concerned with Town council and Town council will have a standard one like $300- $400.