Amoyz

Kitchen Door Facing Main Door Directly.

Hi there,

The only thing I dont like about my new flat structure.

Once you open the main door, you will see into kitchen directly.

Just wanna gather some idea how to counter this.

My designer had offer to build full length shoe rack, but the carpentry quite ex leh.

Thanks ya.

If your kitchen has wall, is ok. If your kitchen is open concept, maybe you can build back the wall.

Kitchen has wall... but still very obvious lo.

Your main door faces the door of the kitchen directly?

Yes. Once you open the main door, you will face the kitchen door directly and see the whole kitchen lo.

Whoa.. It doesn't sound so good right? I had heard from my mum that for FS wise, it's not good for a kitchen door to face the main door directly.. Hee. Think, you can post this entry under the FS thread. :P

My ex-colleague also had this problem. She was on budget and she just got a divider.. Maybe you can construct a wall? Read somewhere in this forum that it's not good to place your shoe cabinet facing the entrance door too..

Whoa.. It doesn't sound so good right? I had heard from my mum that for FS wise, it's not good for a kitchen door to face the main door directly.. Hee. Think, you can post this entry under the FS thread. :P

My ex-colleague also had this problem. She was on budget and she just got a divider.. Maybe you can construct a wall? Read somewhere in this forum that it's not good to place your shoe cabinet facing the entrance door too..

Shoe rack not facing the main door, but perpendicular. Meaning from main door, will see the shoe rach side.

So sort of cover part of the kitchen view lo.

Not into FS thing though just wanna make the kitchen more conceal.

Shoe rack not facing the main door, but perpendicular. Meaning from main door, will see the shoe rach side.

So sort of cover part of the kitchen view lo.

Not into FS thing though just wanna make the kitchen more conceal.

hi amoyz, u dun mind, u email me yr floor plan. i help u see how to block the view. if possible dun fabricate a wall cos is costly. there are cheaper and nice ways to do it. my email is missy.winnie@yahoo.com.sg

In line or by the side? Did you have a kitchen door?

In my house, I have the same problem, except it is an open concept kitchen. So I build glass wall and a sliding glass door, which the door is away from the main door. So far, the visual is very good.

My mother used those bead curtains. But I find it very troublesome if you keep going in/out. Maybe can use those japanese style cover instead. Cover the top only.

can you partition a space to use for dining or study that act. block the view-in-line from the main door. Or put furniture in the way, so that your immediate focus will be on the furniture and kitchen is out of mind.

Edited by raincole

hi amoyz, u dun mind, u email me yr floor plan. i help u see how to block the view. if possible dun fabricate a wall cos is costly. there are cheaper and nice ways to do it. my email is missy.winnie@yahoo.com.sg

Hi Missy,

Already emailed to you my floor plan.

Thanks in advance.

In line or by the side? Did you have a kitchen door?

In my house, I have the same problem, except it is an open concept kitchen. So I build glass wall and a sliding glass door, which the door is away from the main door. So far, the visual is very good.

My mother used those bead curtains. But I find it very troublesome if you keep going in/out. Maybe can use those japanese style cover instead. Cover the top only.

can you partition a space to use for dining or study that act. block the view-in-line from the main door. Or put furniture in the way, so that your immediate focus will be on the furniture and kitchen is out of mind.

raincole,

I saw some thread curtains at IMM, comes in brown and black. Quite nice but $150 per mtr looks "fragile". Any kids run through might just pull the threads off. Nice but not very practical.

I had thought of building a divider between the main doors & kitchen doors but it will takes up some space free space lo. So hoping my full length shoe rack will divert some attention away from the kitchen door.

Amoyz

to me there r two options to make it look nice.

1) since your main dr faces the kitchen, u should do a open concept kitchen which will be a very nice n chio view from main door. a high tech open concept trendy kitchen is very nice. do not built a shoe rack facing door . not good for fendshui n those $ use on that canuse it to do a very very nice kitchen. but of cos need to top up more.

2)make a sliding glass door with sandblast finishes will do the trick. but if your kitchen is very high tech u can do a clear glass instead of sandblast. glass is natually nice so no need to worry. or u can do a glass pivot door with a very nice long handle will also make your view nice n high tech classic

Hahaa, that's reason enough to make your kitchen more stylish! I guess it shouldn't be a problem nowadays as a lot of people don't make use of their kitchen to cook at all.

My brother's kitchen looks brand new even after 2 years of living there. If you don't cook, it should look okay. But if you do cook, guess it could be a problem.