Nex 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2008 Duno y I feel so eager to look at ur reno.. Mayb his ID laise, faster.. this coming wk, he is arranging for the carpenters to come up n install all the carpentary works... so i suppose by that time, at least can see more "clearly" bah... cos now still quite empty... so i feel a bit hard to visaulise the end result too... as for the heater thing, actually i have a funny feeling abt it... mayb i think too mauch bah... cos the heater dosen't seems like a 5L one... looks more like a 3L one!!! so i m afraid that its bcos the 5L not here yet, then Citygas gave mi the old stock of 3L one... thinking mayb i wont notice it bah... Got to go and check on this first thing tmr morning... or mayb i really think too much... which hopefully i m lor... haha... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nex 0 Report post Posted May 8, 2008 i rather dun put if i have a choice... but my wife wants it badly yah bro... totally agree... i oso rather dont put... cos glass one, one whole piece then nice nice... bi-fold it, and it looks wierd... my reason is simple, when pple see a bi-fold door (regardless of material), the first thing i think of is, its a toilet... and our hse the entrance to the kitchen is not really that obvious... so i dont feel there is a need... unless u got air-con... but i have some friends who installed air-con for living room, but did not install any doors... end result is: it is still cooling... but not cold... and even u have an air-con in the living, u onli have one... not 2 (the other one for dining area)... so no matter wat, ur living is still cooling onli... wont go to the extend of wat u get (the temperature) in a room... and if MLR really wan to install it... then if its mi, i juz get a simple one... (the one that MLR mention is cheaper one) cos bi-fold doors will spoil some day... no life-time warranty one.... dont waste unncessary monies... (unless u got too much to spare)!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MLR 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2008 this coming wk, he is arranging for the carpenters to come up n install all the carpentary works... so i suppose by that time, at least can see more "clearly" bah... cos now still quite empty... so i feel a bit hard to visaulise the end result too... as for the heater thing, actually i have a funny feeling abt it... mayb i think too mauch bah... cos the heater dosen't seems like a 5L one... looks more like a 3L one!!! so i m afraid that its bcos the 5L not here yet, then Citygas gave mi the old stock of 3L one... thinking mayb i wont notice it bah... Got to go and check on this first thing tmr morning... or mayb i really think too much... which hopefully i m lor... haha... Hi Nex Theres no 3L gas heater, the available model is 5L. Check receipt, 5L still works well, most of my friends are still using them, just that if u use both toilets at the same time, the water not so hot lor. Hi guys, Thx for all the info for kitchen door. We r going to hv 1 ac in living and 1 in dining, so dats y nid to put door. Cos when u cook and ac is on....the smell will be trap in it for ages, also the heat from cooking and we cook everday. Me like full glass swing door, but with a 20 mth old around, swing glass is not practical. Dats Y the bi-fold choice, but now L3x mentioned PD doors catch fingers.... Also, bcos me not using id...no 3d to help visualise, hv to try hard to visualise watever our choice will look like. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted May 9, 2008 Me like full glass swing door, but with a 20 mth old around, swing glass is not practical. Dats Y the bi-fold choice, but now L3x mentioned PD doors catch fingers.... Also, bcos me not using id...no 3d to help visualise, hv to try hard to visualise watever our choice will look like. For the PD doors, I aso not very sure y got ppl still get their finger caught in cos their website said it wunt.. Aso read some posts where ppl praise abt it. So I tink it boils down to the end-user. I tink full glass swing door is the only solution for u if ur worried abt the grease & aircon mixing together. But its a hazard to babies, & pets.. Ur take.. L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nex 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2008 Hi Nex Theres no 3L gas heater, the available model is 5L. Check receipt, 5L still works well, most of my friends are still using them, just that if u use both toilets at the same time, the water not so hot lor. Hi guys, Thx for all the info for kitchen door. We r going to hv 1 ac in living and 1 in dining, so dats y nid to put door. Cos when u cook and ac is on....the smell will be trap in it for ages, also the heat from cooking and we cook everday. Me like full glass swing door, but with a 20 mth old around, swing glass is not practical. Dats Y the bi-fold choice, but now L3x mentioned PD doors catch fingers.... Also, bcos me not using id...no 3d to help visualise, hv to try hard to visualise watever our choice will look like. haha... paiseh... i mean the previous model... i oso forgot is how many L one... but mine one definately dont look like one that can contain 5L to make it hot for use... n very funny lor, the bottom patr, all the pipings r exposed... hai... muz call them up to check... as for ur kitchen door... ok, so u have 2 a/c... hmmm... then confirm LL got to put a "separator" lor... if all the available ones in the market nw will hurt in one way or the other, i rather put glass... haha... glass nicer... but will mix transparent will some translucent... dont put whole thing glass... cos like tat very plain... my 1-cent tot.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nex 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2008 hi pple... got a new question here... juz wan to check around, did u guys install the window grilles?? and how much were u all quoted?? cos initially didnt intend to put, cos no children yet... wait until got then see how... however, nw i feel that the windows for BR2 & 3 looks kind of big when "fully" open... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nex 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2008 ALAMAK!!! Stupid la... guys, dont envy on my gas heater le la... i kanna cheated!! it was the old stock... not the new stock of 8L one... its the old stock of 5L... argh... i still go n take down the model no. then the no. is REU 55CG... cos normally it shold have a no, tat indicates that it is 8L one wat... mayb something like 80 or 85. Than i check the sticker on the heater, it says flow rate is 2.somethingL to 5.5L... no wonder pple who have installed it says it is not hot enuff if both outlets r in use... cos judging by the flow rate reading... it can go tat high, but at that kind rate, the water didnt have the chance to get heated up b4 going to our outlets... so i think tis expain y the out-going model is not favourable... anyway, the CSO actually told mi that she will arrange a date for their technician to come down to take it down, but i suggest to her that, mayb she can get the technician to bring the 8L down then take out the 5L that is on my wall nw... if not they oso need to make double trips... and she told mi to play safe, she would say the new 8L will b coming in onli in mid-june.... see... i so considerate one... hahaha Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MLR 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2008 ALAMAK!!! Stupid la... guys, dont envy on my gas heater le la... i kanna cheated!! it was the old stock... not the new stock of 8L one... its the old stock of 5L... argh... i still go n take down the model no. then the no. is REU 55CG... cos normally it shold have a no, tat indicates that it is 8L one wat... mayb something like 80 or 85. Than i check the sticker on the heater, it says flow rate is 2.somethingL to 5.5L... no wonder pple who have installed it says it is not hot enuff if both outlets r in use... cos judging by the flow rate reading... it can go tat high, but at that kind rate, the water didnt have the chance to get heated up b4 going to our outlets... so i think tis expain y the out-going model is not favourable... anyway, the CSO actually told mi that she will arrange a date for their technician to come down to take it down, but i suggest to her that, mayb she can get the technician to bring the 8L down then take out the 5L that is on my wall nw... if not they oso need to make double trips... and she told mi to play safe, she would say the new 8L will b coming in onli in mid-june.... see... i so considerate one... hahaha Hi Nex Dats nice of u... lucky u check, I think it was jus a miscom lah.... not dat they cheated u. About window grilles.... Do u plan to change the windows to other design or color some years later? If u do, then don't do grilles now. Also, if u plan to hv bb soon, then u wil nid it by the time bb reach 18 mths old, cos dats the time they start to climb . But I hv got friends dat didn't install even though they have children, cos they hv discipline their children. Our boy is very active, so we decide not to take the risk. I was quoted $1100 for the bronze aluminium type for the whole house (200 square ft). It costs more if u get the powder coated aluminium or wrought iron type, also look nicer lah. Actually if u install it later, they can do it in 1 day, just dat if u hv furniture around then its inconvenient lor. Also must take into consideration dat price of aluminium and iron is on a constant rise= more $$ when installed later. Just my tots.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nex 0 Report post Posted May 9, 2008 Hi Nex Dats nice of u... lucky u check, I think it was jus a miscom lah.... not dat they cheated u. About window grilles.... Do u plan to change the windows to other design or color some years later? If u do, then don't do grilles now. Also, if u plan to hv bb soon, then u wil nid it by the time bb reach 18 mths old, cos dats the time they start to climb . But I hv got friends dat didn't install even though they have children, cos they hv discipline their children. Our boy is very active, so we decide not to take the risk. I was quoted $1100 for the bronze aluminium type for the whole house (200 square ft). It costs more if u get the powder coated aluminium or wrought iron type, also look nicer lah. Actually if u install it later, they can do it in 1 day, just dat if u hv furniture around then its inconvenient lor. Also must take into consideration dat price of aluminium and iron is on a constant rise= more $$ when installed later. Just my tots.... hmmm... ya, but its my ID who settled the heater thingy... but the pple at Citygas didnt tell him that its the 5L one... then when i told my ID he oso very surprise , and say: no wonder they suddenly say got la... hai... ok, for the windows, i dont intend to change the original glass.. . and like wat u say, if got furniture all that then put, scared later very messy... tats y at least nw still empty, and havent done with the reno, and ofcos the washing part, so nw considering whether to put anot... at least if messy or dirty, during the chemical wash, can clear all.... once an for all.... agree on the part that raw materials r on the rise nw... so got to make a fast decision... hai... but aluminium got many grades oso... so very difficult to know if i m being quote with which grade of aluminium... and ofocs how would i know which is the average ones wif the reasonable price... cos i dont think need the best and ofcos not the louziest ones.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nex 0 Report post Posted May 12, 2008 how come tis thread like going to die out one?? HELLO!?!?!? wheres everyone?? all buzy doing reno ar?? haha... recently read an article on the rise of electricity tariff... its going to rise again... hai... btw, anyone using back the stock switches that the HDB has provided us?? the ABB ones?? cos i had a difficult time looking for tis same brand, series, and the suitable "gang and ways", but manage to found one wholesaler of ABB switches and outlets today.... anyone one here who needs it?? then when i go n buy can help to buy... and hopefully its bulk enough to get a bit of discount... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted May 13, 2008 how come tis thread like going to die out one?? HELLO!?!?!? wheres everyone?? all buzy doing reno ar?? haha... btw, anyone using back the stock switches that the HDB has provided us?? the ABB ones?? cos i had a difficult time looking for tis same brand, series, and the suitable "gang and ways", but manage to found one wholesaler of ABB switches and outlets today.... Hi, I'm back.. Was very busy sourcing & buying stuffs.. Y u wana use back the stock switches?? Btw, anybody got quotes for curtains liao?? L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nex 0 Report post Posted May 13, 2008 Hi, I'm back.. Was very busy sourcing & buying stuffs.. Y u wana use back the stock switches?? Btw, anybody got quotes for curtains liao?? L3x wah.... bz spending money ar??? hahaha... The switches r quite ok wat... u got change all ar?? wah... muz have cost a bomb lor.... cos the switches for our home is the ABB classiq series leh... not really designer, but at least not like those square square one wat... haha... can use, dont waste lor... changing one switch is cheap... changing for the whole hse and u will know the "smell" le... unless ur ID got bao or ur electrician got bao in the package lor... my electrician is separate from my ID one... I source myself one... so i got to get the switches myself oso lor... at least i get wat i paid for... wont become carrot head... as for the curtains... eh... my mother-in-law say she will help mi do.... haha... so i got one thing less to worry... juz got to go buy materials can le... she say Chinatown is cheap... mayb u can try and ask ard there bah... think they got help ppl sew curtain oso... unless u not getting those fabrics curtain... like roman blinb or roller blind... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 wah.... bz spending money ar??? hahaha... The switches r quite ok wat... u got change all ar?? wah... muz have cost a bomb lor.... cos the switches for our home is the ABB classiq series leh... not really designer, but at least not like those square square one wat... haha... can use, dont waste lor... changing one switch is cheap... changing for the whole hse and u will know the "smell" le... unless ur ID got bao or ur electrician got bao in the package lor... my electrician is separate from my ID one... I source myself one... so i got to get the switches myself oso lor... at least i get wat i paid for... wont become carrot head... as for the curtains... eh... my mother-in-law say she will help mi do.... haha... so i got one thing less to worry... juz got to go buy materials can le... she say Chinatown is cheap... mayb u can try and ask ard there bah... think they got help ppl sew curtain oso... unless u not getting those fabrics curtain... like roman blinb or roller blind...Hahha.. Cos my ID bao electrical works & switches, so change loh. Anyway, already charged for it.. I giv u mine loh, but must wait for them to change the switches. Duno when.. C if u wana wait loh.. Ever since spending money for reno, furnishing. Sourcing of curtains is the one I hate most.. Very sian one.. Now I have phobia for CURTAINS.. U go to curtain shop c their materials, all no pricing one. Den when u c someting nice, they said its a better quality type & have to top up how much how much blah blah blah.. How u justify the top-up amount aso very ambiguous. So good ur MIL settled curtain for u. I signed up wif Jimmy Textiles liao. Duno is it reasonable or not.. Btw, anyone here looking for this kinda storage racks? Can MO.. L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MLR 0 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 Hi all Finally..... hdb done with the tilings, jus waiting to fix toilet doors and sanitary works. YEAH...... can start wif the real reno liao . Met my neighbor facing us... they r done and moving in tis weekend. Very nice couple and both hb hv the same name! talk about coincidence Hey L3x, tis the same racks @Jin Yu Tdg in Geylang. U got good lobang? Hey Nex, I may nid 2 of the switches. How much is each? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted May 14, 2008 Hi all Finally..... hdb done with the tilings, jus waiting to fix toilet doors and sanitary works. YEAH...... can start wif the real reno liao . Met my neighbor facing us... they r done and moving in tis weekend. Very nice couple and both hb hv the same name! talk about coincidence Hey L3x, tis the same racks @Jin Yu Tdg in Geylang. U got good lobang? Hey Nex, I may nid 2 of the switches. How much is each? Wau.. Finally can start reno.. When ur reno-blog up??? U need contacts for the window contractor? I have.. No, these racks r frm Vhive. Searching for similiar racks. Haven go to Jin Yu take a look.. C if anyone wan the same racks I'm eyeing, den Mass Order. C can get a better pricing or not.. L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites