Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted April 30, 2008 (edited) Hi L3x According to wat i understand, gas heater is not tank storage, its like the instant heater, xcept a little bigger and the 8L capacity means dat it can heat up 8L of water flow. it wil take a while like instant heater to heat up, as for consumption...once u turn off the tap, its off. We r using it for both toilets and the kitchen sink. As for rain shower, we are getting the mixer separate from the rose wif a regular shower spray for a quick shower. The usual storage tank is an eyesore and also may hv leakage from the tank after a few years. Info from Citygas: http://www.citygas.com.sg/index.php?option...=58#product_div If its really as per wat u explain, den its worthwhile to buy it. Made me interested aso.. But Citygas website nvr announce any intention of the freebies, how u noe it?? Hi MLR, hmmm... juz checked wif Citygas... he told mi installation for gas piping to my stove is a standard $100 charge. Then i ask abt the Heater, he told mi its $148... but i suppose its juz the heater w/o the installation bah... so u know how much r they actually charging to run the gas piping to tis heater?? is it another $100?? I aso wana noe the charges for the gas piping leh.. How abt the water pipes? Edited April 30, 2008 by Lin & L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nex 0 Report post Posted April 30, 2008 If its really as per wat u explain, den its worthwhile to buy it. Made me interested aso.. But Citygas website nvr announce any intention of the freebies, how u noe it?? I aso wana noe the charges for the gas piping leh.. How abt the water pipes? Eh... the freebies is i heard from my friend who juz completed his reno one...which is abt 2-3 wks agao, but i think he heard wrongly oso la, how can it be to give tis kind of thing free?? where got so good one, rite?? I will call up city gas on Fri to confirm wat exactly r the charges like... cos today i called quite late, then he like no time to entertain mi, like rushing to hang up... so i juz say, "ok, thankx... will call again" hahaha... as for the running of those water piping works, i got ask, he told mi i got to get plumber or contractors to do it... they dont do water works... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted April 30, 2008 Eh... the freebies is i heard from my friend who juz completed his reno one...which is abt 2-3 wks agao, but i think he heard wrongly oso la, how can it be to give tis kind of thing free?? where got so good one, rite?? I will call up city gas on Fri to confirm wat exactly r the charges like... cos today i called quite late, then he like no time to entertain mi, like rushing to hang up... so i juz say, "ok, thankx... will call again" hahaha... as for the running of those water piping works, i got ask, he told mi i got to get plumber or contractors to do it... they dont do water works... If have, only applicable to new sign-up huh? Cos tml public holiday mah, he cant wait to knock off & happy hour.. Do let us noe on Fri. Thx.. Like tat ah, den must ask my ID liao. L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nex 0 Report post Posted May 1, 2008 (edited) If have, only applicable to new sign-up huh? Cos tml public holiday mah, he cant wait to knock off & happy hour.. Do let us noe on Fri. Thx.. Like tat ah, den must ask my ID liao. L3x Yah, i think so too... hahaha... I checked wif my ID le, he say its free... then they r actually charging us for the installation of the gs piping onli... hmmm... strange... anyway will still call up Citygas to double confirm, but no matter wat, i have decided to install it le... haha... Then today i went back to Hoe Kee and ask abt the rain shower head, whether can be used if i put the gas heater, he confidently say can... so i bought the rain shower head le... haha... but need to buy mixer then can use la.... oh yah, if u oso intend to get a mixer, even is u r installing the storage type, do rem to ask for the "bracket"... cos our hse the water pipings r not concealed, so definately need the "bracket" one... it cost abt $16 each at Hoe Kee... (FYI) Will update here after i call Citygas tmr! Edited May 1, 2008 by Nex Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MLR 0 Report post Posted May 2, 2008 Yah, i think so too... hahaha... I checked wif my ID le, he say its free... then they r actually charging us for the installation of the gs piping onli... hmmm... strange... anyway will still call up Citygas to double confirm, but no matter wat, i have decided to install it le... haha... Then today i went back to Hoe Kee and ask abt the rain shower head, whether can be used if i put the gas heater, he confidently say can... so i bought the rain shower head le... haha... but need to buy mixer then can use la.... oh yah, if u oso intend to get a mixer, even is u r installing the storage type, do rem to ask for the "bracket"... cos our hse the water pipings r not concealed, so definately need the "bracket" one... it cost abt $16 each at Hoe Kee... (FYI) Will update here after i call Citygas tmr! Hi L3X & Nex My apologies for causing some confusion here. To clarify: 1. Citygas hving promo for $148 for the 8L Rinnai Gas heater, $100 to run gas pipe to the heater, which will be outside the common toilet, next to kitchen window. 2. U will hv to get your contractor to run hot water pipes from heater to toilets/kitchen sink/wash basins/washer. 3. U can use rain shower/bathtub with this heater. i jus check wif Citygas today and stock for the 8L is only available in 2 weeks time. Jus for info, the current available 5L model was retailing @$250 +/- when we were in the showroom a mth ago. Nex, I also got the rain shower from Hoe Kee for MBR bathroom. We jus get the $140 set w/o mixer, some sets costs as much as $500+. Which model did u get? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nex 0 Report post Posted May 2, 2008 Hi L3X & Nex My apologies for causing some confusion here. To clarify: 1. Citygas hving promo for $148 for the 8L Rinnai Gas heater, $100 to run gas pipe to the heater, which will be outside the common toilet, next to kitchen window. 2. U will hv to get your contractor to run hot water pipes from heater to toilets/kitchen sink/wash basins/washer. 3. U can use rain shower/bathtub with this heater. i jus check wif Citygas today and stock for the 8L is only available in 2 weeks time. Jus for info, the current available 5L model was retailing @$250 +/- when we were in the showroom a mth ago. Nex, I also got the rain shower from Hoe Kee for MBR bathroom. We jus get the $140 set w/o mixer, some sets costs as much as $500+. Which model did u get? L3x, ok ok... I called up Citygas juz nw, the gas pipes r 2 separate things, meaning, they will run a gas pipe to ur stove area. then another to the heater. the gas heater they r selling is $148, and installation of the gas piping to tis heater is FOC... tis is the promo thingy... So, that means its not $100 for the piping to the stove then another $100 to the heater... its ONLI one $100... Think its a catch... anyway, i confirm install le... hehehe... MLR, I got the "all-in-one" thingy... Comes wif the rain shower head, an additional shower head, a "tap", and the mixer... model is ROZ EE168, cost $364... bought tis model cos match my basin tap! haha... Tis is for my MBR. For my common toilet, i bought a normal mixer and a shower set... cos dont need so nice one for tis toilet... next time got kids, they use until spoil, need to change oso wont heart pain... haha... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted May 2, 2008 (edited) Hi L3X & Nex My apologies for causing some confusion here. To clarify: 1. Citygas hving promo for $148 for the 8L Rinnai Gas heater, $100 to run gas pipe to the heater, which will be outside the common toilet, next to kitchen window. 2. U will hv to get your contractor to run hot water pipes from heater to toilets/kitchen sink/wash basins/washer. 3. U can use rain shower/bathtub with this heater. i jus check wif Citygas today and stock for the 8L is only available in 2 weeks time. Jus for info, the current available 5L model was retailing @$250 +/- when we were in the showroom a mth ago. Nex, I also got the rain shower from Hoe Kee for MBR bathroom. We jus get the $140 set w/o mixer, some sets costs as much as $500+. Which model did u get? L3x, ok ok... I called up Citygas juz nw, the gas pipes r 2 separate things, meaning, they will run a gas pipe to ur stove area. then another to the heater. the gas heater they r selling is $148, and installation of the gas piping to tis heater is FOC... tis is the promo thingy... So, that means its not $100 for the piping to the stove then another $100 to the heater... its ONLI one $100... Think its a catch... anyway, i confirm install le... hehehe... MLR, I got the "all-in-one" thingy... Comes wif the rain shower head, an additional shower head, a "tap", and the mixer... model is ROZ EE168, cost $364... bought tis model cos match my basin tap! haha... Tis is for my MBR. For my common toilet, i bought a normal mixer and a shower set... cos dont need so nice one for tis toilet... next time got kids, they use until spoil, need to change oso wont heart pain... haha... MLR, If u nvr buy the mixer, how the tingy work?? Nex & MLR, I decided to drop the idea of gas heater. Heheh.. Not cheap xia.. No more M power.. I went to c the shower head & mixer, 1 set can easily cost 300??? Mayb u can go Royal Franco take a look, cos when I bought my taps & basin. Can c the price diff frm HK, SSC. Ya, btw I read frm Applefreak's blog & noted tat she install Gas Heater aso. Mayb u all can tk a look but alot of pages.. L3x Edited May 6, 2008 by Lin & L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nex 0 Report post Posted May 2, 2008 MLR, If u nvr buy the mixer, how the tingy work?? Nex & MLR, I decided to drop the ideal of gas heater. Heheh.. Not cheap xia.. No more M power.. I went to c the shower head & mixer, 1 set can easily cost 300??? Mayb u can go Royal Franco take a look, cos when I bought my taps & basin. Can c the price diff frm HK, SSC. Ya, btw I read frm Applefreak's blog & noted tat she install Gas Heater aso. Mayb u all can tk a look but alot of pages.. L3x eh... i bought the things le... better not go and compare price le... if not later c le then hahaha.... anyway, nw last min then i decide to change my whole hse water pipings... anyone any idea copper better or stainless steel better?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted May 4, 2008 eh... i bought the things le... better not go and compare price le... if not later c le then hahaha.... anyway, nw last min then i decide to change my whole hse water pipings... anyone any idea copper better or stainless steel better?? Ok, dun compare wunt . Heheh.. Both of them serve the same purpose, rust-resistant. But stainless steel is exp dan copper?? Cos stainless steel nicer.. L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nex 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2008 (edited) Ok, dun compare wunt . Heheh.. Both of them serve the same purpose, rust-resistant. But stainless steel is exp dan copper?? Cos stainless steel nicer.. L3x eh... true la.... but my friend's brother told mi to use copper better, and he is a contractor, so tat is wat he advise mi... hmmm... many pple, many different advise... dont know wat to do... sianz.. oh yah, yesterday my uncle went up to help mi settle the electrical works... then i realise that a few wiring trunking on the top r empty one... dont know is it for our future use or wat... hmmm... so have u tot of who to get for ur bomb shelter rack?? cos i really no idea... thinking of DIY... but heard my friend who did it say, DIY he onl save less than $20, and it took him one whole day to fix it up... so he say might as well let other pple do... take it as the $20 as their labour fee... haha... Edited May 5, 2008 by Nex Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MLR 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2008 MLR, If u nvr buy the mixer, how the tingy work?? Nex & MLR, I decided to drop the ideal of gas heater. Heheh.. Not cheap xia.. No more M power.. I went to c the shower head & mixer, 1 set can easily cost 300??? Mayb u can go Royal Franco take a look, cos when I bought my taps & basin. Can c the price diff frm HK, SSC. Ya, btw I read frm Applefreak's blog & noted tat she install Gas Heater aso. Mayb u all can tk a look but alot of pages.. L3x Hi L3x Sorry, I think my writing skills is going down the drain . Wat I meant is dat my mixers is a GROHE set dat i got at a steal from an exhibition, its the exhibited set. So, i got the rod, rose, and the smaller head for $140 from Hoe Kee. It is attached via the flexi steel pipe to the outlet of the mixer. Actually I think in the long run, gas heater is still cheaper than instant heater, cos the heater is $148.00 + $480.00(hot water piping), where each instant heater is around $200 ($200 x 2 = $400) and electricity costs more. Nex As for the ? about copper vs stainless steel pipes.... there r many different grade of stainless steel, my renovator offer same price for copper and stainless steel, but its a lower grade of ss, so it will rust. SS looks gd, but copper function better with heat. If u want SS, hv to get a better grade SS, I wil check for the acceptable grade and post it here... U nid info urgently? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MLR 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2008 Hi Nex For Stainless Steel (SS), 304 is the common grade that is offered, it is a low grade that rusts over time. The acceptable grade is 303(won't rust), highest grade is 316... but price unacceptable though (about 2-3 times more than 304). Hpes tis is useful.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
BukitB 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2008 Yah, i think so too... hahaha... I checked wif my ID le, he say its free... then they r actually charging us for the installation of the gs piping onli... hmmm... strange... anyway will still call up Citygas to double confirm, but no matter wat, i have decided to install it le... haha... Then today i went back to Hoe Kee and ask abt the rain shower head, whether can be used if i put the gas heater, he confidently say can... so i bought the rain shower head le... haha... but need to buy mixer then can use la.... oh yah, if u oso intend to get a mixer, even is u r installing the storage type, do rem to ask for the "bracket"... cos our hse the water pipings r not concealed, so definately need the "bracket" one... it cost abt $16 each at Hoe Kee... (FYI) Will update here after i call Citygas tmr! hi Nex, I am oso thinkG of getG Urban, how you find their workmanship? And who is you ID? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lin & L3x 1 Report post Posted May 5, 2008 oh yah, yesterday my uncle went up to help mi settle the electrical works... then i realise that a few wiring trunking on the top r empty one... dont know is it for our future use or wat... hmmm... so have u tot of who to get for ur bomb shelter rack?? cos i really no idea... thinking of DIY... but heard my friend who did it say, DIY he onl save less than $20, and it took him one whole day to fix it up... so he say might as well let other pple do... take it as the $20 as their labour fee... haha... I tink the trunking is still laid even though theres no wire in it, cos HDB tink its weird with 1 side of the wall wif trunking & the other side of the wall without trunking? But I try to remove the trunking as much as possible if dun require. I'm shortlisting for rack aso, stainless steel one.. Duno we can get a better price wif bulk purchases.. Hi L3x Actually I think in the long run, gas heater is still cheaper than instant heater, cos the heater is $148.00 + $480.00(hot water piping), where each instant heater is around $200 ($200 x 2 = $400) and electricity costs more. Dun like tat leh.. Made my heart sway to & fro. Heheh.. L3x Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nex 0 Report post Posted May 5, 2008 Hi Nex For Stainless Steel (SS), 304 is the common grade that is offered, it is a low grade that rusts over time. The acceptable grade is 303(won't rust), highest grade is 316... but price unacceptable though (about 2-3 times more than 304). Hpes tis is useful.. Thanx for the info... really helped a lot... haha... after seeing ur post, i quickly called my ID to confirm use copper, cos think tis wk they r installing it le... heehee... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites