sam07 0 Report post Posted January 2, 2008 Been wanting to install some sliding trays/drawers for easier accessibility. Blum is out of my budget and i think Wei Mi (mujipai - the chicken brand) is very expensive too, considering a 90cm basket to be over $200.my ID say Ikea tray = blum tray too and it was indeed so as Blum was imprinted on it, probably OEM.in case anybody oso planning to buy the Ikea tray, its not that difficult to assemble. So, if i can do it, sure u can too.tada.. see? so easy, in a jiffy. just a word of caution, do remember to buy the front as well, not just the tray. the tray is sold without the front, as it is meant for installation onto the wooden door. If in doubt, just ask the sales personnel that u want to buy a complete set of the tray. I should think this is a cheaper alternative to blum? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted January 3, 2008 Thanks for your tips SAM.Might drop by at Ikea to take a look!Cheers! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sam07 0 Report post Posted January 3, 2008 Cost saving DIYs which my mum wouldn't agree with me (she thinks i'm a scrooge!)Wanted some same color range photo frames but dun wanna spend a bunch on it.. ended up coloring my ikea raw wood frames with shoe shines.. i thot it doesnt look too bad, the grains are turning out well. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wilberforce 0 Report post Posted January 3, 2008 Cost saving DIYs which my mum wouldn't agree with me (she thinks i'm a scrooge!)Wanted some same color range photo frames but dun wanna spend a bunch on it.. ended up coloring my ikea raw wood frames with shoe shines.. i thot it doesnt look too bad, the grains are turning out well.the woodgrains are beautiful... doesn't look like DIY stuff Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 Yes, the woodgrains are beautiful and nice.Should hang it on the foyer area leading to your mbr.You have any spot lights on that area? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
binzz 10 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 Wow, your woodgrains is so nice !! , just by looking at the pic, i tot it was bought off the shelf. How to do it ah? I cannot link shoe shine and this together leh... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
xlan 0 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 wa... sam got a very nice home! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
kriegs 0 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 Cost saving DIYs which my mum wouldn't agree with me (she thinks i'm a scrooge!)Wanted some same color range photo frames but dun wanna spend a bunch on it.. ended up coloring my ikea raw wood frames with shoe shines.. i thot it doesnt look too bad, the grains are turning out well.trust you to think of shoe shine with wood, that is so NICE! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nemofc 0 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 Cost saving DIYs which my mum wouldn't agree with me (she thinks i'm a scrooge!)Wanted some same color range photo frames but dun wanna spend a bunch on it.. ended up coloring my ikea raw wood frames with shoe shines.. i thot it doesnt look too bad, the grains are turning out well.is this pix one of your floor tiles at JM? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sam07 0 Report post Posted January 4, 2008 nah... i'm still at my old flat.. new flat not ready yet.dunno where to hang the frames yet, just wanted to have same series yet not the raw wood color, so, i thot this looks ok, haha...Yep.. just used the leftover Kiwi shoeshines which i found in my shoe cabinet while clearing the mess, loli've tried it with paints as well, but feel that shoeshine looks the best. when buying the frames from Okea, just choose those with nice grains and it stands out after polishing! !!Ideas for those with shoestring budget !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
draught 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2008 Cost saving DIYs which my mum wouldn't agree with me (she thinks i'm a scrooge!)Wanted some same color range photo frames but dun wanna spend a bunch on it.. ended up coloring my ikea raw wood frames with shoe shines.. i thot it doesnt look too bad, the grains are turning out well.Wah...That really good...very innovative Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sam07 0 Report post Posted January 5, 2008 5th JanWhile waiting for the lighting delivery and gas pipe installation, i saw some men at work at Blk 27A.It is interesting to know thats how they got the Brick-look on the floor, thot its a design on the tiles.After the cement screeding, the uncle coat the cement with some brown clay powder and use the mold to imprint on the floor, stepping on it to get the design cut into the cement.. Never knew its such hard work.. nxt time when walk on the pavement, must appreciate more.The hall curtain has been a big headache.. happy to know that we really manage to get it done with Ikea rods! Hurray.. thats a big piece off my mum's mind.Modified Ikea hooksMy living room with the rods and hooks mountedClose-up view of the hooks mounted under the beam Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
makemefly 0 Report post Posted January 6, 2008 5th JanWhile waiting for the lighting delivery and gas pipe installation, i saw some men at work at Blk 27A.It is interesting to know thats how they got the Brick-look on the floor, thot its a design on the tiles.After the cement screeding, the uncle coat the cement with some brown clay powder and use the mold to imprint on the floor, stepping on it to get the design cut into the cement.. Never knew its such hard work.. nxt time when walk on the pavement, must appreciate more.The hall curtain has been a big headache.. happy to know that we really manage to get it done with Ikea rods! Hurray.. thats a big piece off my mum's mind.Modified Ikea hooksMy living room with the rods and hooks mountedClose-up view of the hooks mounted under the beamwow you are good at DIY!Can we ask you for your advice when we install ours? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted January 6, 2008 wow sam, well done to the rod..hehe..if i know this can be done, i dont need to custom made my curtain already Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted January 6, 2008 Hi SAMMeans the drilling of curtain rod under the bean will be a not be straight due to the curve line in the living room?I might go down to ikea this afternoon to take a look at the rod.HAPPY Share this post Link to post Share on other sites