gohkm 1 Report post Posted December 5, 2007 Hi good people,I just sold my 5 room punggol and moving to clementi in a month time. Now my clementi flat is in a "warzone", under renovation. I learn a lot from you good people at renotalk. I decide to record my clementi renovation in a blog as a sweet memory. But i never renovate much cos my budget only $21k for a five room flat.....hope wont disappoint you guys.........Hope to see you at my blog and do gimme some comments. Thank youMy blog is at http://clementi-heights.blogspot.com/Rgds,James Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lifestyle 0 Report post Posted December 5, 2007 Hi James,Congrat. Clementi is nice convenient location and easy journey to CBD and nearby AYE. Look forward to your nice renovation.Cheers Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gohkm 1 Report post Posted December 5, 2007 Hi James,Congrat. Clementi is nice convenient location and easy journey to CBD and nearby AYE. Look forward to your nice renovation.CheersThank you. I like clementi also maybe becos all my tertiary studies i had is all there. Plus the school i am working in now is also near clementi also. Maybe i am fated to be there....I will update my blog whenever possible. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted December 5, 2007 just read ur blog, u did a good choice la..hehei can understand how u feel when chosing ur flat, cos i am also the last few to select my flat, i am left only low floors..and that moment was if i dont take the flat, the other couples behind me is going to take it already. so i took my flat and now i am v glad with the my decision hehe ur blog reminds of my that moment at hdboh ya, even though u paid the additional levy of $45k, its still worth la. Next time clementi will have a big shopping centre also, the value of ur flat will go higher tooeh..post ur pictures in renotalk blog ba..easier for us to see ur reno pic Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted December 5, 2007 (edited) share the pix here leh Edited December 5, 2007 by applefreak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted December 5, 2007 ya lor, share share share Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
binzz 10 Report post Posted December 5, 2007 hi gohkm, this place at Clementi is good! That time we had entered the ballot for Jalan Membina, 4-room instead of this Clementi 5-room due to cost.. Otherwise, this place will be my 1st choice!!! If one day i move out from Jalan Membina , this place will be the place I will want to buy!!! Cos I grew up in Clementi, but later shifted to Jurong.. So had always loved Clementi alot.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted December 5, 2007 Hi Binzz, hehe seems that we are the west area pplei grew up in bukit batok, then to dover and now Jalan Membinai like clementi alot too, wanted to chose Clementi during that balloting too,but due to cost, i chose jalan membina also Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gohkm 1 Report post Posted December 6, 2007 Hi good people,Many ask how come i dont post pictures here? A good question actually....Er....actually i wanted......but i dont know how.....haha...... .....but to be fair, i do ask for how to do it here before...........but no reply..........maybe thats fate..........anyway blog is not bad too also........i will keep update it and leave it as a sweet memory.During the ballot......... i saw many choose bukit merah...........i think to myself? How come ppl dont choose clementi? They forgot clementi already? I abit depressed. Initially, I want to choose bukit merah also but I grew up at ang mo kio/ woodlands........my teenage years i spent mostly at clementi studying.....so i got feeling for these 3 places.........i cannot choose bukit merah cos i no feeling at all. I cannot forget those sweet school days after "siong" school projects and a hard day at school, my friends and i hang out at clementi mcdonalds, eat porridge at clementi market and that western food......claypot rice too....How can i forget? Maybe i am those nostalgia and sentimental type. It might be doing me good and doing me no goodFor example, last saturday morning, i go chinatown eat porridge.....then i look around.......the place though near town, excellent location......but i look around...i know nobody........nobody knows me.....i told myself this is not where i should stay.......Er anyway.........i will update my blog from pre-renovation to fully done. I will also update some finding during my stay at clementi.........e.g. good foods, cool prices, cheapest lobang etc.......stay tune......its a long adventure out there.......... !! Rgds,James My clementi blog: http://www.clementi-heights.blogspot.com/ Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted December 6, 2007 welcome welcome!!!clementi good good fs!!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rinarobert 0 Report post Posted December 10, 2007 hi James (or call you gohkm?),which contractor did you choose? 是 uncle Eng Hock 吗?just now, i read your another thread talked about your reno quotation,so wonder whether you use uncle Eng Hock this time? remember i once asked for uncle Eng Hock's contact from you through PM !! i am going to get my key on coming Wed, will start collecting quotation.thanks... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gohkm 1 Report post Posted December 11, 2007 (edited) hi James (or call you gohkm?),which contractor did you choose? 是 uncle Eng Hock 吗?just now, i read your another thread talked about your reno quotation,so wonder whether you use uncle Eng Hock this time? remember i once asked for uncle Eng Hock's contact from you through PM i am going to get my key on coming Wed, will start collecting quotation.thanks...Hi rinorobert,call me james or gohkm also can..........james better.......heeheeYa i use uncle Eng Hock this time also...........for his worksmanship, i very satisfied...........u can check out my blog to see for yourself......he never gives me any headache..........i even forget my house now doing renovation.......i just pop by and take a look, then he always got progress to show me..........i very touch by his responsiblity style.....but i feel paiseh abit cos i bargain too much.....but my budget not too high so i have to bargain........he even send 2 of his best men to do my floor for me........haha he say so lah..........actually.........now near festive period....he renovate for me i very touched.........some tell u they will start work after chinese new year or charge u a price u cannot imagine....actually i very bad...........i initially got think of jumping ship halfway through my renovation. Cos the HDB contractor (not uncle Eng Hock)......tell me he can do relaying of my toilets tiles(each toilet) for $200 only....then my heart move............lucky i never take his offer........though the Hdb contractor charge not high but his style i beh tahan....got chance i elaborate more ok.Early merry xmas to u. !! Rgds,Jamesmy blog: http://www.clementi-heights.blogspot.com Edited December 11, 2007 by gohkm Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rinarobert 0 Report post Posted December 11, 2007 hi James thanks for your prompt reply!!yeah, it is lucky to get a responsible and reliable contractor... especially when you cannot go to monitor everyday. i am a bit headache about the timing, since i collect key tomorrow, then defect rectification, then can start reno. my expectation is to move in before CNY, but after reading threads here, i am not that confident already. because i haven't contacted any contractor yet, lazy... and also want to get a feelof the real size of the house before confirm what to do. but husband say sure got contractor can take our job. i kiasu, don't want to hire a "don't know who" contractor. bobian... time not enough, money also not enough... then how? have to see how lah...i used to stay clementi also, for a few years, that time working in science park, never realize that clementiis such a expensive place ( in terms of housing lah) until last year my friend compare housing price of clementi and kim tian... actually we same balloting exercise, only that you apply clementi, i apply bedok. you got the last 5 rm for Chinese, i got the last 4 rm for Chinese, hahaha... so happen...happy reno! good luck to me!also merry xmas to you!rinarobert Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gohkm 1 Report post Posted December 13, 2007 Hi rinarobert,U still got chance to move in before CNY......trust me...........but your contractor must be responsible type..........cannot promise u then fly u aeroplane..............yesterday....after my work........i go see my house renovation progress.............i saw my neighbours who is also doing his renovation...........they engage an Interior designer(ID)...........but i engage an renovation "uncle".........they are more class but me no class..........bo pian.........my budget only $20k.........but in my army i learn one thing........dont compare......but hor.........my neighbour renovation screw up........i heard them quarelling with their ID...........i kaypoh go ask them quarrel wat.........his ID go and do his floor tiles then go hack his kitchen walls...........damage his floor tiles.......this wat i call no experience........my reno "uncle" will never do that..........plus my neighbour choose the same floor tiles as me at $4........but his ID quote him $10k plus plus.......then the floor kanna damage.......my reno "uncle" charge me only $8k plus.........and he also send his 2 best men to lay my floor for me.................he tells me his 2 men very famous in singapore.....some even say they are good even in brazil..........lol...haha...but their work really good i must admit.......my brother who is very picky type, come and see.......i think die lah.....complain again..... even drool after he sees my floor tiles.....and buy curry puff for his 2 famous men.....i am suprised...........allow me to share with u my little experience......my house got some damages........so i complain HDB.....HDB send their contractors....HDB contractors says can help me change all my doors(toilet and room) for $200 and even relay my toilet tiles for $200 each....i greedy and let them change my doors and pay him.....u know what...........on the day of door changing........he says i never pay him......we end up arguing.........lucky i never let him do my toilet tiles.....the HDB contractors very forgetful, irresponsible........cannot becos trying to save up abit and end up in deep ****........must use responsible contractors....In conclusion, I like my renovation "uncle" alot , he call me everynite and update me on my house progress and even suggest to me ideas with his experience.......i hate biz talks and i enjoy such heart to heart talk with him.............i even forget my house now doing renovation and i pop by every alternate day to check my house progress....heehee....Check out my blog to see my house progress Thank youJameshttp://www.clementi-heights.blogspot.com Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
rinarobert 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 hi James,I become your blog's loyal reader liao...visit everyday, more than one time a day... you add in google ads lah...read about your lighting, you mentioned you bought your lighting at Nam Hwa,may i know its exact address? seems the price quite attractive leh...last time visit a lighting shop, brighton or what... cannot remember,the most normal looking lighting, no design at all, just plastic white color one,11 lights cost more than 600 bucks... yours really good deal...haven't called uncle yet, checking defects, waiting HDB to come and rectify,meanwhile wait for hubby to arrange with contractors... do you know whether uncle Eng Hock busy or not recently? heard that all contractorsall busy at the moment...know that you will move in your new flat, congrats...though it is a tiring process, no choice, so just take your time and enjoy it bah...regards,rina Share this post Link to post Share on other sites