chrispy

Need Help In Home Theatre System Set Up!

Hi chrispy,

Sorry for the late reply as just seen yr reply.

You are in good hand with Patrick. He is very knowledgeable.

I sure your ID will be surprised. Wait till she knows how heavy these AV amps can be :lol: . Mine (8xx) is much more heavier and i insist on having a strong base on my tv console cabinet.

So please have extra wooden supports in your cabinet (if you are placing there) and also have plenty of ventilation space (height, width & depth) around the amp in case it is inside enclosure...cos these new onkyo amp can be rather hot when played really loud or on long time.

Better decide now (in case your false ceiling is not completed yet) if you want that rear speaker in place. In future you may need to drill holes in the false ceiling to accomodate the wiring & speaker mounting.

Your amp is very good for the specs. Off course if you don't required more HDMI input/output and reon processing chip of the more expensive models like 805, 875 & 905.

Btw, which speaker you finally decided...is it wharfedale or genie?

ya my false ceiling is alrdy up... i alrdy ask my id to enhance extra wood support for the rear speaker actually not my idea is patrick... hehe ya he is very knowledgeable... wah heard u say abt the onkyo amp will be rather hot when played long time very scary leh... better ask my id cum out a good design.

y u 8xx ur amp? let me droop mah... :dribble: actually i no budget liao tats y can only afford the 605.

actually wharfedale have better sound when the 1st day i went to kec... but we choose over genie cuz of the design. tat day we buy genie we nv try wharfedale also cuz i scare i will choose it. the only other speaker is mcube but i think genie sound better...somemore cheaper... haha :P

actually now i got a question wat hdmi cable shld i buy? mayb this anyone also can help?

ya my false ceiling is alrdy up... i alrdy ask my id to enhance extra wood support for the rear speaker actually not my idea is patrick... hehe ya he is very knowledgeable... wah heard u say abt the onkyo amp will be rather hot when played long time very scary leh... better ask my id cum out a good design.

y u 8xx ur amp? let me droop mah... :lol: actually i no budget liao tats y can only afford the 605.

actually wharfedale have better sound when the 1st day i went to kec... but we choose over genie cuz of the design. tat day we buy genie we nv try wharfedale also cuz i scare i will choose it. the only other speaker is mcube but i think genie sound better...somemore cheaper... haha :dribble:

actually now i got a question wat hdmi cable shld i buy? mayb this anyone also can help?

We chose genie also cos of its size and design. Also change our console design to accomodate the amp and future expansion :P

I am also going to buy my HT system. More or less decided on Panny 50PY700 for the TV. Now going to start searching for the amp and speakers. First choice will be the genies + 605 due to budget constraint (2.5K max), but then again I will need to hear them first :D

I am also going to buy my HT system. More or less decided on Panny 50PY700 for the TV. Now going to start searching for the amp and speakers. First choice will be the genies + 605 due to budget constraint (2.5K max), but then again I will need to hear them first :yamseng:

go to KEC at adelphi find patrick good service and information gather there...

you can go to LHS at sim lim tower level 2, i got my "thick" taiwan made hdmi cable from Robert... its a cheaper alternative to those from brands like Monster, QED etc :jawdrop:

u noe the price? can roughly give me a guide? cuz i found out sony cost 1m-1.5m-$65 duno worth or not...think philip also cost around the same price? wats all diff brand diff? :jawdrop:

Hi chrispy,

Sorry for the late reply as just seen yr reply.

You are in good hand with Patrick. He is very knowledgeable.

I sure your ID will be surprised. Wait till she knows how heavy these AV amps can be :jawdrop: . Mine (8xx) is much more heavier and i insist on having a strong base on my tv console cabinet.

So please have extra wooden supports in your cabinet (if you are placing there) and also have plenty of ventilation space (height, width & depth) around the amp in case it is inside enclosure...cos these new onkyo amp can be rather hot when played really loud or on long time.

Better decide now (in case your false ceiling is not completed yet) if you want that rear speaker in place. In future you may need to drill holes in the false ceiling to accomodate the wiring & speaker mounting.

Your amp is very good for the specs. Off course if you don't required more HDMI input/output and reon processing chip of the more expensive models like 805, 875 & 905.

Btw, which speaker you finally decided...is it wharfedale or genie?

Hey hey, could i have a close up photo of the console?? Dun mind if you have the dimensions that you did for your amp? I quite afraid of overheating issues if my space is not enuff.

4 inch from the Amp's top shall be good enough otherwise ur consol will also look awful, alternative u may consider put ur Amp on top of the consol even better but u have to keep it clean all the time. :dunno:

4 inch from the Amp's top shall be good enough otherwise ur consol will also look awful, alternative u may consider put ur Amp on top of the consol even better but u have to keep it clean all the time. :yamseng:

we actually change the design of the console and made 1 compartment bigger so as to put the amp and allow space for cooling.

Since on the topic on HT, does any1 know which shops sells Jamo and Paradigm speakers? Can the plc audition as well?

Edited by kriegs

Since on the topic on HT, does any1 know which shops sells Jamo and Paradigm speakers? Can the plc audition as well?

Hi Kriegs,

Here is go contact Derek Tan from Pan Pacific at Tel: 6259 6120.

U shld audit all the spks that u wan to buy regardless whether it is cheap or exp. Unless get from those con man at the multistorey carpark trying to sell u those fake spks. :thumbs up:

Hi Kriegs,

Here is go contact Derek Tan from Pan Pacific at Tel: 6259 6120.

U shld audit all the spks that u wan to buy regardless whether it is cheap or exp. Unless get from those con man at the multistorey carpark trying to sell u those fake spks. :jawdrop:

Sorrie a nood here, where is pan pacific? the hotel: :)

Evening went to Tat Chuan to audition Klipsch speakers, they having sale now... very good vocals :deal:

Can't remember the exact price but not more than $40 for 2m made in taiwan hdmi 1.3a cable.

like i said, poison after poison!

i now can really understand y last time u say poison liao... still need a dvd player tat can support 1080p function, hdmi cable havent buy, ps3, wii(if i got extra). poison follow by another poison... :D

was eyeing this dvd player frm Samsung DVD-1080P7 any1 users here or any comment?

Edited by chrispy

i now can really understand y last time u say poison liao... still need a dvd player tat can support 1080p function, hdmi cable havent buy, ps3, wii(if i got extra). poison follow by another poison... :notti:

was eyeing this dvd player frm Samsung DVD-1080P7 any1 users here or any comment?

Not forgetting a power conditioner to hook up all your expensive equipments... then maybe one solid universal controller to rule them all... :)