LLhome 0 Report post Posted January 17, 2008 (edited) hee... think the ppl who say the "wat if" includes ur PIL... me n my hubby oso agree...best is we muz feel comfortable. anyway it our hse. better dun tink too much. if not will get influence. hacked liaoz then bo bian mah.now i left with 3 rooms now. already hacked one away for my pool table. so now left 3. 1 for guests or my FIL if he come back coz he staying in thailand. 1 is the master and the other is a study room. wait till got kids then maybe convert one of the rooms to kids room. the study room at the living makes the place look smaller. so guess its a gd decision make to hack... !! Edited January 17, 2008 by LLhome Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLhome 0 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 (edited) hi just bought my lightings yesterday at $998...at first was quoted $1073 after discount but after some bargain and we managed to cut another $75. total damage $1400 for all lightings for the hse include the lightings for the pool table. let's see wat i bought:-15 fluroscent light T8 4 feet loose fitting-6 downlight c/w mrc ballast-3 twin halogen lights-5 normal looking lights for kitchen, bedrooms and balcony-2 round lights c/w atco ballast for bathrooms-2 lights for pool tableis the price reasonable coz i feel tat they are just normal looking lights, dun look special to me. so dunno got kena chop or not?anyway tonite goin new hse to put my kitchen sink n mixer. coz we cash n carry. think will be installing soon...hope to see something different tonite. hv not gone back for 1 week liaoz coz quite busy. tat time we go back 3 times a week. so now not yet see our laminate flooring but i would prefer to see my carpentry. hope its up... but luckily still got johnny to oversee the reno if not i surely more gan cheong one. he like one busy bee. like everyday go there check this check tat despite his busy schedule. reali appreciate tat.btw hv oso arrange WC, sinks, hood n hob, oven, lightings to be sent over on next sat. hope reali can complete b4 CNY. time is running out. think its time to arrange furniture n electronic to be sent over. but most important is the hse mover. coz at least we got our things at our new place so not so sianz when we wait. especially my mattress...can sleep while i wait for the furniture. reali scared my sofa will be delay coz heard a lot of bad reviews on red apple delivery in this forum. but the salesgirl had reassure me a few times so hope they really mean it. just pray tat they hv make improvement on the delivery thing.oso i got some queries... as i am abit ban tang, i would like to choose a auspicious date to move in. so are there anything we need to do at the officially move in? like any customary?and oso how to consider as move in? izzit the first nite we spent in the new hse or izzit the day we got the mover to move in our things? reali blur on this. !! Edited January 18, 2008 by LLhome Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 18, 2008 what i did for the official move-in is1. pick a good date and time2. switch on all the lights for 3 nights before the actual day3. bring your personal belongings i.e. bowls, chopsticks, toothbrush with you on the day and carry them4. head of the family (which in my case was me ) to enter the unit first and loudly declare that 'i am officially the owner of this place'5. proceed to switch on all taps and burners6. cook something sweet for the whole family to eat (outsiders not supposed to partake)also, everyone must carry something as no one should be empty handedi also brought along a piece of charcoal wrapped in red paper, a packet of rice and a box of dollar notesvery pantang hor !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLhome 0 Report post Posted January 19, 2008 wah i nvr know got so many things to do. reali appreciate ur info...sometimes better to believe. anyway nothing to lose mah. but i need to stay at my new hm for a few days to unpack my stuffs. so will be spending the nights there. so can i spend a few nights there to unpack before the officially move in? or i officially move in then unpack my stuffs?and oso u said tat everyone muz carry something? so can be anything we like? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 19, 2008 eh usually the head of the home will carry the title deed while the spouse will carry money/jewellerythe rest can be anything bahthink you can go to the geomancy / fengshui forum to find out morecoz i also monkey hear monkey do, so my info may not be specific enough Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLhome 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 ok thanks... will go see see...today carpentry up. but no time go over. so will be going in another few days. stay tuned for the pics Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nemofc 0 Report post Posted January 22, 2008 (edited) wow... saw your signature that just alone renov cost you $40k... must be very beautifull... staying tune here...btw, i like your mosaic... foyer, toilet... everywhere... so nice.. it's cos' of the mosaic & so renov cost higher?just curious... but really very nice... how about your kitchen... have mosaic... that'll be cool... simply like mosaic... so now here to spam!! Edited January 22, 2008 by nemofc Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLhome 0 Report post Posted January 23, 2008 hee... glad tat u like our hse... we like mosaic alot. actually we did a lot of carpentry and heard fr our id tat the contractor charged him quite high for the workmanship for laying mosaic. so i guess both of them play a big part in the quote. n oso we use glass n tinted mirror on a few area especially kitchen. kitchen no mosaic onli at the entrance. aiyah, shld hv put oso...btw jus went to look at the carpentry. up to date, onli kitchen n master are half way done onli.One thing is that in our master bed room, the side of the wardrobe faces our bed. We expected to use normal wood color laminate for this area of wardrobe. Johnny took his intiative and changed the laminate a SPECIAL kind, the 3D laminate which comes in Purple color and matches well with room's color. We were so suprised and glad he did that. Cheers to him. !! I'm also extremely pleased that during the course of the reno that johnny came to learn about our likings and took the effort to present it in our renovation. Thats another Big cheers to him again. We went up our house today and found the stove area slightly misalign to the hood. Thats when we inform johnny and he immediately rectify it. I guess thats wat happen when everyone is rushing to move in before chinese new year ba. The carpenter also hay wire liao hehe.Anyway today forgot to bring camera, will take some more pics this weekend. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted January 24, 2008 (edited) sounds like you've got yourself a really good ID, lucky youcan't wait to see the pix Edited January 24, 2008 by applefreak Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLhome 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2008 (edited) hurray here's the pics of my carpentry. veri happy with the design and also the workmanship. can see tat the carpenter reali enjoy his work. me n my hubby were there almost the whole day. n the carpenter always proudly shows us his work when he's done. can see tat he has absolute confidence in his work. keep asking if we satisfied with his work. a very nice guy.but jus got a cal fr johnny telling us tat the aircon contractor veri jiat lat. here's the story.... johnny found out tat the aircon contractor has fixed a compressor of 18000 btu for our living. which actually we pay him for a 24000 btu. when johnny cal him, he actually said tat the window in our master is too small. so he changed to another smaller compressor of 18000 btu and he forgot to inform johnny. johnny scolded him like **** and insist he changed to a 24000 btu no matter wat. johnny suggested to him tat he can fixed the compressor from the kitchen window. he even ask the contractor to inform him when they r coming so tat he will personally supervise them. we didn't expect the contractor to be so dishonest. luckily johnny found out if not we'll nvr know. okkkk...will stop here... now talk bout happy things. so far as i can see, i find tat the design n workmanship veri gd. although there's always some prob during reno. but for our case, so far so gd. nvr reali face major problems. all are minor ones... all thx to johnny. reali glad tat we can hv him as our id. he always there to solve all the probs.anyway here's the pics....master wardrobe:tis is the one i'm talking about in my previous post. johnny took the initiative to use the 3D purple laminate for the wardrobe. as for the sliding door, he uses black glass and 3D laminate w/o our knowledge. we let him design and do it w/o the need to show drawings. we got absolute trust in him. reali glad it turn out to our liking...view from our bed:our bed: Edited January 28, 2008 by LLhome Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLhome 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2008 our master bathroom:door for master bathroom:our swivel tv feature:our hhs feature n altar:area w/o laminate is for tinted glass.our kitchen from entrance:area w/o laminate is for black glass.our shoe cabinet w/o doors:now with doors:area w/o laminate is for tinted glass.behind swivel tv which is the pool area:our false ceiling: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
LLhome 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2008 at first we thought tat our false ceiling will be too simple. but johnny told us tat we got enough carpentry features in our living so its better to keep our false ceiling simple so tat the feature walls get all the attention if not the attention will be snatch away by the false ceiling. and also at the same time he said tat we can save money on downlights. just get fluroscent tubes for the croft lightings will do. so in the end we oni spend money on 6 downlights for the whole hse. reali save alot $$$. think its reali a gd idea! anyway this friday will be the hand over. reali look forward to see the complete carpentry work. sunday will be moving in our things. so guess its another tiring day. hope can finish packing by CNY. furniture will be in on next mon. will post pics again and also on the completed work. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lifestyle 0 Report post Posted January 28, 2008 Very nice place LLhome and great lighting on the false ceiling !! . Thanks for sharing. Have a great time move-in. Happy & prosperous CNY to you Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
nemofc 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 for the hood n hob and oven, we reali got a good deal thanks johnny again. we save a few hundreds again.hi LLhomecould i know where you got the lobang for hob, hood n oven? i'm currently looking at Rinnai... thanks thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Greycat 0 Report post Posted January 29, 2008 Love ur pool table lights...cant wait to see ur hse completed....mre pics mre pics! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites