grace

Renovation Ideas For 5rm Resale Flat

i'd like to offer some suggestions, but i can only do so after more is know about the occupants e.g. age and gender, how many pax, any special needs, MBR occupied by married couple, if no child planning to have any? etc :unsure:

i'd like to offer some suggestions, but i can only do so after more is know about the occupants e.g. age and gender, how many pax, any special needs, MBR occupied by married couple, if no child planning to have any? etc !!

Thx first :unsure:

only one couple live inside first, later have children plan and our parents will come sometimes. So basicly 3 rms needed. u suggest to hack MBR wall? Just guess, haha~~

hehehe no lah i won't suggest hack the wall

i always believe in keep the unit as intact as possible so that it's easier to sell next time :notti:

also, you do realise that from your floor plan, almost none of the walls can be hacked :unsure: !!

but some rooms can be converted into other uses e.g. WIW in BR2, study in BR3 and original study be converted into 'private dining room'

if this is my home, i'd not have a balcony

the entire area will be the living area

the study will be converted into dining, like those VIP rooms in restaurants

also, since you plan to have children, it'd be good to have big open space where they can run around without the fear of knocking things over

so i'd most prob leave the area between the MBR & 'Dining' empty

:dunno:

hehehe no lah i won't suggest hack the wall

i always believe in keep the unit as intact as possible so that it's easier to sell next time :(

also, you do realise that from your floor plan, almost none of the walls can be hacked :dunno: :dunno:

but some rooms can be converted into other uses e.g. WIW in BR2, study in BR3 and original study be converted into 'private dining room'

if this is my home, i'd not have a balcony

the entire area will be the living area

the study will be converted into dining, like those VIP rooms in restaurants

also, since you plan to have children, it'd be good to have big open space where they can run around without the fear of knocking things over

so i'd most prob leave the area between the MBR & 'Dining' empty

actually we are also thinking to leave that area outside of MBR empty. the most headache prob is how to design the MBR. the bath room mak MBR quite small and a bit dark, really dont know how to put the things :dunno:

actually looking like that, the only place for your bed is on the wall of the kitchen :dunno:

then you can do one row of wardrobe from the door to the window

think at least 12ft then enough to put the stuff of two person :dunno:

in a way it's good coz at least when you want to sleep late, the sun won't disturb your sleep :dunno:

actually looking like that, the only place for your bed is on the wall of the kitchen :dunno:

then you can do one row of wardrobe from the door to the window

think at least 12ft then enough to put the stuff of two person :dunno:

in a way it's good coz at least when you want to sleep late, the sun won't disturb your sleep :dunno:

Thank you, applefreak. We will consider ur suggestion :dunno:

hey your floor plan looks very similar to mine lol

my wife and i prioritize the bedroom as one of the more important spaces so we decided to invest more space/money to it. anyway since its just the 2 of us we didn't really need that many rooms. my suggestion would be to tear down the wall between the MBR and BR2...then optionally install a sliding or foldable partition. in that new area (formerly BR2), put your bed, vanity, small study desk etc. coz you'll have a lot of space to play. then for the original MBR, do a nice WIW. Can have nice big TV, built in features etc. We find it very funny that we have such a big house and have to spend most of our time (sleeping etc.) in a small MBR and the rest of the rooms empty so we used the space to really enjoy 'luxury MBR living' :P

The WIW can adjoin the toliet so you can like bath and then change in the WIW with lots of space - shiok. If its big enough, you can even put your vanity there...its convenient. we even considered moisture effects etc.

anyway, then when baby comes, you'll probably put the crib together in your MBR when you sleep so there will be lots of room. If you ever need the room again you can just close the partition back again and you have back your room.

im just about finished with my renovation already (last 2 weeks). Had a lot a lot of ideas but after lots of discussion with our ID decided to just hack down one wall to extend the MBR. from wat we see now we really like our decision.

But then again hor, its really really about your priority...u have to really IMAGINE hard the spaces that mean the most to you and you'll spend time the most in...then just spend space/cost accordingly lor :)

Oh one more thing before i forget...if your house is old be prepared for a lot of unforseen costs...and becoz its so big, everything you do is more costly...tiles la, wiring la, false ceilings la...aircon for our living room is unfortunately impossible due to electrical restrictions to aircon compressors in our block! hai...

Hope this helps fellow Tampinesian!

Edited by Sharpion

hey your floor plan looks very similar to mine lol

my wife and i prioritize the bedroom as one of the more important spaces so we decided to invest more space/money to it. anyway since its just the 2 of us we didn't really need that many rooms. my suggestion would be to tear down the wall between the MBR and BR2...then optionally install a sliding or foldable partition. in that new area (formerly BR2), put your bed, vanity, small study desk etc. coz you'll have a lot of space to play. then for the original MBR, do a nice WIW. Can have nice big TV, built in features etc. We find it very funny that we have such a big house and have to spend most of our time (sleeping etc.) in a small MBR and the rest of the rooms empty so we used the space to really enjoy 'luxury MBR living' :notti:

The WIW can adjoin the toliet so you can like bath and then change in the WIW with lots of space - shiok. If its big enough, you can even put your vanity there...its convenient. we even considered moisture effects etc.

anyway, then when baby comes, you'll probably put the crib together in your MBR when you sleep so there will be lots of room. If you ever need the room again you can just close the partition back again and you have back your room.

im just about finished with my renovation already (last 2 weeks). Had a lot a lot of ideas but after lots of discussion with our ID decided to just hack down one wall to extend the MBR. from wat we see now we really like our decision.

But then again hor, its really really about your priority...u have to really IMAGINE hard the spaces that mean the most to you and you'll spend time the most in...then just spend space/cost accordingly lor :rofl:

Oh one more thing before i forget...if your house is old be prepared for a lot of unforseen costs...and becoz its so big, everything you do is more costly...tiles la, wiring la, false ceilings la...aircon for our living room is unfortunately impossible due to electrical restrictions to aircon compressors in our block! hai...

Hope this helps fellow Tampinesian!

Hi Sharpion, thanks a lot. :)

actually our new house is in Jurong West. It is around 18 yrs old oledi, maybe urs is same age, so the layout is quite similar.

we r also thinking to hack away the wall to make the MBR bigger. but it seems most walls cannot be hacked from the layout. planning to find some IDs this weekend to ask for quotes. hope they can tell us if the walls can be demolished or not. :P

Hi Sharpion, thanks a lot. :good:

actually our new house is in Jurong West. It is around 18 yrs old oledi, maybe urs is same age, so the layout is quite similar.

we r also thinking to hack away the wall to make the MBR bigger. but it seems most walls cannot be hacked from the layout. planning to find some IDs this weekend to ask for quotes. hope they can tell us if the walls can be demolished or not. :paint:

oops, i think i was reading another post abt someone in tampines and thought u lived there also. ya now that i look at ur floorplan again closer, it does seem like those walls can't be hacked...

well on the bright side can save cost and use for other things :) ya mine also 18 yrs...a few things u shld be esp concerned with in an old house:

- piping need to change to pvc?

- wiring trunking exposure (is it ugly?)

- water proofing of bathrooms

- electrical maximum capacity

- eveness in the edges like window frames, door frames, wall coz sometimes the concrete looks even but is not (esp in my case) so the ID have to make special boxed in areas.

- main door fire door or need to change?

eeks i very lor suo, u didn't even ask lol anyway have fun with your ID search, it is really a very big step so choose carefully :D

we just got one 5rm resale flat, as floor plan shown. would like to ask for some renovation ideas for it, espically the MBR. thx :D

floorplan1bs5.th.jpg

wow...long time never see such SQUARE house liao!:paint: NICE!:good:

which estate huh? pointblock 5 room, 1 floor 4 units type?