Nipponho

Part Of Stove Face Bathroom

I was trying to retain the kitchen cabinet that was left behind by the previous owner.

However, I noticed that there are 3 fire points on the stove and one third of the stove faces the bathroom. I was told this is not good.

I cannot move the stove bec it is embedded onto a solid top, so if i want to move, i cannot retain the kitchen cabinet. One solution is to discard the existing stove and buy a old fashioned non-embedded stove. But if i do like this, that means the solid top has a hole.

What can i do to cover the hole?

Any idea how much does replacing the kitchen cabinet cost? 10 feet on bottom. The top portion can be retained.

Are there any bottom kitchen cabinets that I can "buy and put there" without carpentry work to stick it onto the wall?

Anyone can suggest how to solve my problem?

think you can just replace the solid top

or maybe you can post a pix of how it looks like so that our resident FS experts can advice if it's really that bad :thumbs up:

Hi Apple,

The solid top looks like glued onto the wall. It is possible to remove & fix new one? Solid top cost a few hundred bucks, plus carpentry charges, Woo hua?

They dig a hole on solid top & glue the 3 fire point stove onto the solid top. Many modern kitchen cabinets are like this. Some dig a hole & glue a sink. The hole is already there, cannot move. I think picture better la.

I was thinking of using some metallic food cover to cover 2 fire points & i use only the point that does not directly face the bathroom.

compared to a few hundred bucks for a new solid top AND a few more hundred bucks for new cabinet, think just replacing the solid top is more woo hua right?

dun think it's difficult to replace the solid top coz think a fellow forummer had her solid top replaced coz it wasn't satisfactory.

personally find that it doesn't make sense to use only one burner, coz it's really leceh not to mention that it might still affect the overall FS.

think with pix we can understand the situation better bah :thumbs up:

Hi Apple,

The solid top looks like glued onto the wall. It is possible to remove & fix new one? Solid top cost a few hundred bucks, plus carpentry charges, Woo hua?

They dig a hole on solid top & glue the 3 fire point stove onto the solid top. Many modern kitchen cabinets are like this. Some dig a hole & glue a sink. The hole is already there, cannot move. I think picture better la.

I was thinking of using some metallic food cover to cover 2 fire points & i use only the point that does not directly face the bathroom.

the solid top can be replaced easily without damage to the cabinets below it.

alternatively, toilet door must be closed when not in use(most pple too lazy to do it).

Hi Mace, Really? It looks to me like it is glued onto wall. Let me go and check it again this weekend. But possible to DIY?

Any idea how much does a cheap solid top cost?

For mine, the one facing the stove is not toilet, it is a shower room. I don't want to close it, not bec i am lazy, but i scare chao chao. Better to leave it open so that air flow inside and dry up the water on sink, floor & wall.

Hi Mace, Really? It looks to me like it is glued onto wall. Let me go and check it again this weekend. But possible to DIY?

Any idea how much does a cheap solid top cost?

For mine, the one facing the stove is not toilet, it is a shower room. I don't want to close it, not bec i am lazy, but i scare chao chao. Better to leave it open so that air flow inside and dry up the water on sink, floor & wall.

usually the gap between the top and wall is sealed with either silicon or white cement. can be easily removed lah. My cabinet has a cheapo solid wood top(temp-$160), cos during reno our budget ran dried. Next time got money then get granite to replace all these recommended by contractor.

since your toilet so close to ktichen, go fix a ventilator > switch on whenever someone is baking chocolate cakes. :notti:

Hi Apple, Sorry, missed your post.

Your fellow forummer DIY it or get a carpenter to do it?

"compared to a few hundred bucks for a new solid top AND a few more hundred bucks for new cabinet, think just replacing the solid top is more woo hua right?" <-------- I am not sure about this u know, depends on how much is "few hundred bucks". I saw on adverts, 20ft cabinet, regardless whether top or bottom, promo at $1388. So if the new solid top is $800 or $900, I will have difficulty deciding.

I am single, will be staying alone, so using only one burner is still ok, my cooking is simple simple, not elaborate like Fang Tai or Yan can cook style. But if u say i seal off 2 and use 1 will affect overall FS, then maybe, i never see people do like this, but this is 1 of the solutions that i can think.

she got the ID to come back and replace the defective solid top, so it was at no additional charge to her.

hmm, coz i though in FS a stove is a stove, whether the burner is exposed or covered the stove is still FACING the shower room mah :help:

the kind of solid top you'll get with this kind of promotion typically cost around $40pfr. so it'll cost you $400 + workmanship for 10ft solid top bah. but if you want better quality then the price will be different liao. :notti:

Hi Mace, $160 is ok. I will go & find out which workshop sells. Wa u very knowlegeable. If i ask another person or a contractor, they will say i have to change the whole thing. Next time got anything, i ask u.

I live alone, when i bake chocolate, i will not cook, so ventilator, not very necessary. I have one toilet and 1 bathroom. Bathroom is the one that clash with stove. Smell will auto go off in ten min, but if water will give problems, like mould, algae etc, so better let it dry speedily

Hi Mace, $160 is ok. I will go & find out which workshop sells. Wa u very knowlegeable. If i ask another person or a contractor, they will say i have to change the whole thing. Next time got anything, i ask u.

I live alone, when i bake chocolate, i will not cook, so ventilator, not very necessary. I have one toilet and 1 bathroom. Bathroom is the one that clash with stove. Smell will auto go off in ten min, but if water will give problems, like mould, algae etc, so better let it dry speedily

don say like dat i so paiseh - it just happen that i have some what a similiar situation as you = a temp wood top.

Edited by MaCe

Since we are in the same situation (austere budget), can u share with me wh workshop u got your cheap top from?

my contractor did it for me - HOBEE. look for them under renovation firms section.

but for single item, i beleive you do understand pricing can be different liao.

This afternoon, i went to read up a little. The most important thing in kitchen is the stove. Stove confirmed cannot face water. It is also recommended not to have something above that press down stove.

My existing kitchen cabinet is top & bottom. I find it a waste to hack away the top, somemore need to pay to hack too. So i am thinking of moving the stove, microwave & kettle to opposite side of the wall, & i need to buy a cabinet to hold these 3 items.

Anyone seen a "buy & put there" type of kitchen cabinet selling? Ikea has?

If i subscribe to singapore gas, will they charge me for gas piping?

This afternoon, i went to read up a little. The most important thing in kitchen is the stove. Stove confirmed cannot face water. It is also recommended not to have something above that press down stove.

My existing kitchen cabinet is top & bottom. I find it a waste to hack away the top, somemore need to pay to hack too. So i am thinking of moving the stove, microwave & kettle to opposite side of the wall, & i need to buy a cabinet to hold these 3 items.

Anyone seen a "buy & put there" type of kitchen cabinet selling? Ikea has?

If i subscribe to singapore gas, will they charge me for gas piping?

yes, yes and yes :sport-smiley-004: especially sg gas.... very the yes :bangwall: