katvolution

Pls Advise..

I had some queries on the following. Can anyone advise?

1) Can I place my refrigerator or washing machine opposite my stove or sink? My mum told me that placing refrigerator opposite stove is a No-No. How about I put my washing machine opposite instead?

2) My door of my MBR's toilet leads directly to my WIW. Can I place a full length mirror at the end the WIW? I am asking because, if I place a full length mirror at the left end, it will reflect another small wall mirror on the right end. Below the right end mirror is my vanity table with sink.

Many thanks for all your help. :dunno:

I had some queries on the following. Can anyone advise?

1) Can I place my refrigerator or washing machine opposite my stove or sink? My mum told me that placing refrigerator opposite stove is a No-No. How about I put my washing machine opposite instead?

2) My door of my MBR's toilet leads directly to my WIW. Can I place a full length mirror at the end the WIW? I am asking because, if I place a full length mirror at the left end, it will reflect another small wall mirror on the right end. Below the right end mirror is my vanity table with sink.

Many thanks for all your help. :dunno:

1) stove

for most schools - both also cannot. the most difficult appliance to place in a house is actually the washing machine.

fridge = metal, water, metal+water >depending on school.

washingmachine = metal, earth+fire >depending on school.

2) you mean the mirror will reflect the toilet? reflecting the basin and toiletbowl into 2?

1) stove

for most schools - both also cannot. the most difficult appliance to place in a house is actually the washing machine.

fridge = metal, water, metal+water >depending on school.

washingmachine = metal, earth+fire >depending on school.

2) you mean the mirror will reflect the toilet? reflecting the basin and toiletbowl into 2?

Hi Mace, many many thanks for your fast reply. :)

Based on your reply, I still don't know how I should place my washing machine and refrigerator. :( I only make sure that my stove and sink are not facing the entrance of the kitchen and toilet, as well as the windows. In fact, I got several ways to place the 4 items. But I really need your advise on the best way in putting them.

I can choose to place stove, sink, and washing machine along a straight row. But the washing machine will be just next to the window, followed by some space, then the sink, some space, then the stove. In this case, my washing machine will be facing the toilet. And last, my fridge will be somewhere opposite, facing the stove or sink. Is there any issues on this?

The other alternative is, I can place all 4 items in a straight row. But it will be slightly cramped with little space in between. That's why, I am asking what can I place opposite the stove or sink. Will fridge or washing machine be a better choice?

As for my WIW, the full length mirror will not reflect the toilet bowl. Err. I need to explain abit here. My original toilet is juz next to the store room. The previous owner had already hacked the store room to connect it to the MBR. I am just hacking the wall between the wall of the store room connecting to the toilet. Thus, the vanity table will be in the store room. The toilet bowl will still be in original toilet.

Thus, the full length mirror will not reflect the toilet bowl. It will reflect the vanity table with the sink and the small mirror as I moved the basin from the original toilet to the store room. Reason is, my MBR toilet is super small.

So, can I still place the full view mirror as mentioned?

Hi Mace, many many thanks for your fast reply. :yamseng:

Based on your reply, I still don't know how I should place my washing machine and refrigerator. :bangwall: I only make sure that my stove and sink are not facing the entrance of the kitchen and toilet, as well as the windows. In fact, I got several ways to place the 4 items. But I really need your advise on the best way in putting them.

I can choose to place stove, sink, and washing machine along a straight row. But the washing machine will be just next to the window, followed by some space, then the sink, some space, then the stove. In this case, my washing machine will be facing the toilet. And last, my fridge will be somewhere opposite, facing the stove or sink. Is there any issues on this?

The other alternative is, I can place all 4 items in a straight row. But it will be slightly cramped with little space in between. That's why, I am asking what can I place opposite the stove or sink. Will fridge or washing machine be a better choice?

fridge facing sink no problem, washing machine facing toilet no problem.

As for my WIW, the full length mirror will not reflect the toilet bowl. Err. I need to explain abit here. My original toilet is juz next to the store room. The previous owner had already hacked the store room to connect it to the MBR. I am just hacking the wall between the wall of the store room connecting to the toilet. Thus, the vanity table will be in the store room. The toilet bowl will still be in original toilet.

Thus, the full length mirror will not reflect the toilet bowl. It will reflect the vanity table with the sink and the small mirror as I moved the basin from the original toilet to the store room. Reason is, my MBR toilet is super small.

So, can I still place the full view mirror as mentioned?

difficult to visualise - maybe a floorplan with directions ?

mirrors can be very very difficult to place - best location for mirrors is on the internal part of your wardrobe door, closed and hidden when not in use.

not reflecting the toilet bowl is fine but mirror location could be amplifying something else, reflecting a basin(always using) creates more water or amplifying whatever element that is on that location.

fridge facing sink no problem, washing machine facing toilet no problem.

difficult to visualise - maybe a floorplan with directions ?

mirrors can be very very difficult to place - best location for mirrors is on the internal part of your wardrobe door, closed and hidden when not in use.

not reflecting the toilet bowl is fine but mirror location could be amplifying something else, reflecting a basin(always using) creates more water or amplifying whatever element that is on that location.

Thanks for your advise. :bangwall: Fridge face sink ok, but if face stove cannot right? *headache* Then what about washing machine facing stove?

As for the mirrors, my WIW is open concept leh.. How to hide it? Very headache..That is what I am afraid of also. Reflecting 'water' because of the basin. But if the image of the basin is cut into half leh? The effects will still be in full?

Thanks for your advise. :yamseng: Fridge face sink ok, but if face stove cannot right? *headache* Then what about washing machine facing stove?

As for the mirrors, my WIW is open concept leh.. How to hide it? Very headache..That is what I am afraid of also. Reflecting 'water' because of the basin. But if the image of the basin is cut into half leh? The effects will still be in full?

different schools have different interpretation for stuffs.

to me fridge is metal with some fire but to others is water. :bangwall:

to me washingmachine is earth+fire but to others is water/metal.

determining the element of a appliance got to see it's functions - a non-operating washingmachine is just a huge piece of metal whereas a fridge in bestdenki is also another huge chunk of metal.

get a fsm to see your house and plan the layout. So you can just stick to a certain school.

different schools have different interpretation for stuffs.

to me fridge is metal with some fire but to others is water. :bangwall:

to me washingmachine is earth+fire but to others is water/metal.

determining the element of a appliance got to see it's functions - a non-operating washingmachine is just a huge piece of metal whereas a fridge in bestdenki is also another huge chunk of metal.

get a fsm to see your house and plan the layout. So you can just stick to a certain school.

Sigh.. Why are there so many restrictions in the kitchen?*pulling hairs out*

I don't think I will have time to engage any FSM now.. my renovation already started liao.. :yamseng:

But I guess, the best way is to put all the 4 items on a straight row, with none opposite each other.. Right Mace?

can also...

fridge opp sink = ok

fridge opp WM = ok

it's the stove that is important, the rest are just CAMEOs...

stove cannot;

1) face toilet door directly

2) share same wall as toilet

3) face water basin

4) face window (not enough fire, wealth exposed)

5) have 2 separate stoves (1 stove for main cooking while a spare one for boiling soup is alright)

6) have NO fire - induction cookers are for those who are in the extremes of "afraid" of fire.

7) face kitchen entrance directly (meaning when standing at the entrance, stove should not be facing you directly)

8) have no wall as backing.

Edited by MaCe

can also...

fridge opp sink = ok

fridge opp WM = ok

it's the stove that is important, the rest are just CAMEOs...

stove cannot;

1) face toilet door directly

2) share same wall as toilet

3) face water basin

4) face window (not enough fire, wealth exposed)

5) have 2 separate stoves (1 stove for main cooking while a spare one for boiling soup is alright)

6) have NO fire - induction cookers are for those who are in the extremes of "afraid" of fire.

I also heard that stove is the most crucial in the kitchen liao. Glad that you confirmed my doubts and questions. With that, I guess my boy and I really had to forgo the breakfast table and put everything on the same stretch. We just have to do with a not-so-nice individual breakfast table opposite everything.

But hor, I saw in a separate thread that fridge cannot be next to the stove ar? What is the reason? What is the minimum space apart?

Really sorry for all the questions... I need to confirm the layout tonight and I am relying on this forum. :notti:

I also heard that stove is the most crucial in the kitchen liao. Glad that you confirmed my doubts and questions. With that, I guess my boy and I really had to forgo the breakfast table and put everything on the same stretch. We just have to do with a not-so-nice individual breakfast table opposite everything.

But hor, I saw in a separate thread that fridge cannot be next to the stove ar? What is the reason? What is the minimum space apart?

Really sorry for all the questions... I need to confirm the layout tonight and I am relying on this forum. :notti:

always leave around 1feet gap, this is not just fs but practicality. :P

Thanks Mace for all your replies. !! Previously, I was still having arguments with my boy on the layout. He claimed that I am too 'zao mi' with FS... Then I told him off and said he was too keen on the L shape breakfast table.

But ultimately, the initial design can't fit in due to the big fridge that he bought. :notti:

It's better not to 'go against' the basics of FS. Just to have a peace of mind... !!

Thanks Mace for all your replies. :P Previously, I was still having arguments with my boy on the layout. He claimed that I am too 'zao mi' with FS... Then I told him off and said he was too keen on the L shape breakfast table.

But ultimately, the initial design can't fit in due to the big fridge that he bought. :notti:

It's better not to 'go against' the basics of FS. Just to have a peace of mind... !!

sometimes fs is more to practicality. just dont get obsessed.

My boy also said that I am too obsessed with FS. But hor, I thought placement of stoves, sinks, washing machines or fridges are the basics? And somemore, if I am really obsessed, I would have engaged a FSM like my mum liao.. But I also never wor.. Paiseh, just want to let off some steam in here..

Don't know lar, but I tend to believe in FS.. I think, FS is logical in many ways.. Just that my boy don't think the same as me nia.. But I am glad I am able to get answers in here. :P

All thanks to you, Mace! :notti:

My boy also said that I am too obsessed with FS. But hor, I thought placement of stoves, sinks, washing machines or fridges are the basics? And somemore, if I am really obsessed, I would have engaged a FSM like my mum liao.. But I also never wor.. Paiseh, just want to let off some steam in here..

Don't know lar, but I tend to believe in FS.. I think, FS is logical in many ways.. Just that my boy don't think the same as me nia.. But I am glad I am able to get answers in here. :P

All thanks to you, Mace! :notti:

no problem u r welcome.

just remember that in fs, almost everything must have BACKING.

no problem u r welcome.

just remember that in fs, almost everything must have BACKING.

Yup.. backing is very important hor? But, my sofa is L shaped.. Only the sitting side is against the wall, the other side when you can stretch your legs is not leh... Die ar, I am having more and more questions.. :notti: