noelng

Hello To All Jurong West St93 Neighbours

hmmm my friend just advised me to buy those top load one leh cos' use less electricity. but frontload saves more space ... hard to decide sia.

tot if the top load washing machine save electricity anot depends on how long it takes for a full load wash?

i suppose for front load it will save more water compare to top load right? correct me if i m wrong cos i also wanna know the pros and cons so as to decide front or top load.

Hi, all

Heard from my mum who had some experience on front load washing machine.

Front load washing machine had the seal to prevent water from coming out, these seal would be cost and hassle to change due to wear and tear. In addition, once the front load washing machine is loaded, we are unable to open door, not for the case of top load, we can take out the clothes and put in the rest, thus saving water.

Hope that helps :D

Hi Missysg,

I think u r right... front load save more electricity...

I read this in the net...

Very long thou... Hope the info helps... 8|

Link : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washing_machines

Hey ckoonyin,

I wrote nice nice email to HDB liao and guess wat... the following day the OIC immediately called and informed my AHG approved liao wor....

But still nid to wait for another 1 week plus for the funds to transfer to our account....

Finally.... heehee...

Hi, all

Heard from my mum who had some experience on front load washing machine.

Front load washing machine had the seal to prevent water from coming out, these seal would be cost and hassle to change due to wear and tear. In addition, once the front load washing machine is loaded, we are unable to open door, not for the case of top load, we can take out the clothes and put in the rest, thus saving water.

Hope that helps :bangwall:

Yea.......it does save eletricity......As for the seal, it is called the Gasket.

Several brands including LG has a 5 yr warranty on the Gasket so........least it is covered. :bangwall:

Hey ckoonyin,

I wrote nice nice email to HDB liao and guess wat... the following day the OIC immediately called and informed my AHG approved liao wor....

But still nid to wait for another 1 week plus for the funds to transfer to our account....

Finally.... heehee...

Haha blur blur........good to hear that........... :bangwall:

Btw peeps, how is the time line like after you have submitted your defect list? :bangwall:

i also found some info on water heater from wiki

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Water_heater

PROS

storage heater: huge water flow.easier to mix hot and cold to the desired temperature

instant point of use heater: more energy saving than storage.

gas: cheapest to use

CONS:

storage heater: consume more electricity as it constantly heats water even when not in use

instant point of use heater: less water flow

gas: safety concerns.

ckoonyin, it depends on how major your defects are... for my case, they told me that they will need about 2 weeks time to rectify all my reported defects... but hor... hehe... not sure if I can trust them or not... :P

Have they go through the defects with you liao??

Yea.......it does save eletricity......As for the seal, it is called the Gasket.

Several brands including LG has a 5 yr warranty on the Gasket so........least it is covered. :notti:

Haha blur blur........good to hear that........... 8|

Btw peeps, how is the time line like after you have submitted your defect list? :dunno:

ckoonyin, it depends on how major your defects are... for my case, they told me that they will need about 2 weeks time to rectify all my reported defects... but hor... hehe... not sure if I can trust them or not... :notti:

Have they go through the defects with you liao??

Thanks for your reply. !!

I have yet to really check but just curious, what are considered as major defects? :notti:

Like hollow floor tiles considred ma? :notti: How many defects did you report and what is the most outstandng one? !!

2wks?? like a lot of things to do hor? :yamseng:

Err... haha.. major defects ar... I also dunno wor... I'm just quoting what that lady told us lor... On that day... got three people... two guy and one lady.... :(

hmm... we reported 11 defects... I believed got 2 major defects... Kitchen windows frame dented on the top right hand corner... not sure how they going to fix it... haha.. maybe change whole window?? :~

The other one is damaged wall underneath the windows... they told me is that during construction time... they forgot to remove dunno what things... we also dun get what they try to tell us... :)

They told me 2 weeks lor... hehe.. will go down and spot check what has been done so far... :(

Thanks for your reply. :yamseng:

I have yet to really check but just curious, what are considered as major defects? :~

Like hollow floor tiles considred ma? :~ How many defects did you report and what is the most outstandng one? !!

2wks?? like a lot of things to do hor? :dunno:

yoz everyone... just rcvd a quote from one of the contractor who actually help HDB to do the mock up for the HDB Habital 3/4/5 showflats. He was recommend by my boss who had his house done up by this contractor. Gone thru his quote and find it attractive. So just like to share with all of u. I had actually construct a very large platform for the whole of my living room except dining. At the same time had my kitchen top to be granite black galaxy. His quote is as follows. if the quote is not clear, let me know then i pm u all.

http://img135.imageshack.us/img135/1618/picture1lg3.jpg

Edited by missysg

yoz everyone... just rcvd a quote from one of the contractor who actually help HDB to do the mock up for the HDB Habital 3/4/5 showflats. He was recommend by my boss who had his house done up by this contractor. Gone thru his quote and find it attractive. So just like to share with all of u. I had actually construct a very large platform for the whole of my living room except dining. At the same time had my kitchen top to be granite black galaxy. His quote is as follows. if the quote is not clear, let me know then i pm u all.

Hi missysg...

The quotes are really attractive. :good:

Can you pm me the contractor's details?

Thanks in advance.

Hi missysg...

The quotes are really attractive. :good:

Can you pm me the contractor's details?

Thanks in advance.

hi blur blur ~ i pm u le.

by the way, .maybe u guys can consider granite top since no matter what kind of solid top u be using...it is prone to scratches. even white colour solid top too. alot of id said white colour then u wont see the scratches so clearly but i doubt so cos my gf got her kitchen solid top in white and imagine she haven really move in just treat it as weekend house nia...and so far only do light cooking less than 5 times in the house. the kitchen top already got alot of scratches le. quite bad lor. think the id give her the cheapest solid top which is cresto brand. (suppose will turn yellowish after sometime. although can polish but less than mths later u see scratches again.) i have check even by getting higher end solid top like corraine brand also same. corraine top pricing i check so far is like $130 per ft which is almost the price for granite le. so in my view i feel that no very worth when i m paying something then in the end see so many scratches lor. but still up to individual lor. i just share share my info nia. hope is useful. cheers.

Edited by missysg

Hi Missysg,

saw your quotes le but er..........your kitchen cabinent abit ex leh.........$120 per square foot run ah? :good:

And also the submission for approval is to approve what ah? :good:

Also ah, the brands of the solid top ah, Cresto is the cheapest and Corian being the most ex ya? what about in betweens?

Hi Missysg,

saw your quotes le but er..........your kitchen cabinent abit ex leh.........$120 per square foot run ah? :good:

And also the submission for approval is to approve what ah? :good:

Also ah, the brands of the solid top ah, Cresto is the cheapest and Corian being the most ex ya? what about in betweens?

hi ckoonyin ~ ya the kitchen part i got to talk to him to find out more also. ya lor and also the permit. got to ask him cos just gotten the quote from him yesterday night. so maybe later give him a call and find out more. not sure if the quote for the cabinet includes the bar counter cabinet cos i got ask him to do a bar counter with cabinet for me ma. got to check.

Ya cresto is the cheapest. in between got a few brand. one of it is LG. But no matter what brand u get still got scratches. so if id standard package quote u with free 10ft solid top or what got to check what brand they using. cresto is quite bad. like squareroom they using cresto lor. lolx.