weixiaobao 0 Report post Posted August 6, 2008 Hey guys, BSC called me just now regarding my flooring and walls. They quoted me $2k+ for my tiles top up and abt $2k for labor cost. I asked them why am I paying for the labor cost when it suppose to paid by HDB. They told me that becos I choosen tiles that is 60 x 60, it different from HDB's size. Is it true? They are CRAZY!!! I only pay for the tiles cost abt 2k plus for 60cmx60cm.. labor costs is absolutely free and they dare to charge 2k for the labor? Come on man, how much do they need to pay 2 China workers for laying the tiles over a period of 10 days? Anyway, FYI, mine was relaid using the wet method cos I insisted and that is also the reason why they bought the sand and I got to pay for it. If u want, can drop by see my tiles. No more cardboard to cover my tiles liao. WRite a petition! we sign for you! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
weixiaobao 0 Report post Posted August 6, 2008 2k for labour ? Use big tiles need less tiles and LESS time . Write a NASTY letter to your T.O and CC to his boss , his boss's boss . That will scared the shXX out of them . Now my T.O speak to me also scared cause he know I stand no nonsense . My T.O went to monitor the work and ask the BSC contractor to redo my flooring as they RUN OUT OF TILES half way and the next batch all different tones . So re-hack again Did not know got such thing as dry and wet method . So just ask for the Wet method since it is more lasting. Wow.. ur floor tiles like hack a lot of times man! Tot u mention that ur reno is almost completed. Please indicate your nick and prefered venue (if no preferences, please leave blank) Able to Attend : 1. FaTBaBe 2. Weixiaobao reporting strength MDM! 3. 4. 5. Not Able to Attend : 1. ckoonyin 2. Zen2008 (if my appt kena cancelled, will join u guyz) 3. Cantona7 (Dad birthday) 4. Dlim Pending (To be confirmed by 8 August, 12 noon) : 1. 2. 3. Looks like it will be better if we stick to MJ hhaa.. bowling only WXB vs Fatbabe.. lolz. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
DLIM 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2008 huh? so gota re-do whole flooring again ah... tot ur reno almost fin liao? Haha , i did not tell you guys lah . Actually , they hack everything . Then laid the tiles half way then run out of tiles . And they laid another batch of tiles and two different tones . So the T.O ask them to rehack up everything again . Cause i think the T.O scare of me will reject the work done . I only knew this after the T.O told me why they delay handover for two days . But at the end of the days , got few tiles got trolley marks . I think mine is the DRY method cause i did not see they move any sand in wor . Jialat , can last or not the tiles ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
FaTBaBe 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2008 (edited) Hai.. I called that HDB lady to check on the labor charges thing. She is also unknown about it and she have to call BSC to check on this issue. Will get back to me today or tml. Those people really want to suck my all my blood out.. If I am not wrong, that guy told me that he need to hack the floor deeper. i think is wet method. Looks like it will be better if we stick to MJ hhaa.. bowling only WXB vs Fatbabe.. lolz. Than Mahjong ba.. At my place or Missy's Place. Edited August 7, 2008 by FaTBaBe Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ckoonyin 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2008 i really think BSC is screwing a lot of us up and HDB also gong gong dunno until we all kbkp to them and to their boss and den HDB realise this kinda things Problem is...when u request to upgrade the tiles to the bigger ones, i think this becomes a private contract between u and BSC (who is a contractor company). That is why there is no standard charges e.g. labour and material. But this is what i think la........... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
DLIM 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2008 Hai.. I called that HDB lady to check on the labor charges thing. She is also unknown about it and she have to call BSC to check on this issue. Will get back to me today or tml. Those people really want to suck my all my blood out.. If I am not wrong, that guy told me that he need to hack the floor deeper. i think is wet method. Than Mahjong ba.. At my place or Missy's Place. Hi FaTBabe , will suggest that you deal with T.O and not contractor straight as once the T.O is not in the loop , it is hard to protect your own interest . Remenber to drop a mail to your T.O after each phone call , this is to have black and white record as verbal record is not easy to prove sometimes . Hope it helps. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sohbengkuan 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2008 (edited) Re-laid tiles is best. Best if even bedrooms also tiles. HDB premium tiles Ckoonyin: your bedroom parquet sunken in got rectify? Mine getting more and more, cannot tahan liao. Want to call HDB to come rectify but my wife pregnant now, must wait till dec which one year liability ends. Thinking of writing to them to extend the liability period since their worksmanship so Again! another time! one last time! Btw, since 9 Aug (National Day), the response for bowling not so good, how abt change to the next day? Edited August 7, 2008 by Sohbengkuan Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ckoonyin 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2008 Re-laid tiles is best. Best if even bedrooms also tiles. HDB premium tiles Ckoonyin: your bedroom parquet sunken in got rectify? Mine getting more and more, cannot tahan liao. Want to call HDB to come rectify but my wife pregnant now, must wait till dec which one year liability ends. Thinking of writing to them to extend the liability period since their worksmanship so Again! another time! one last time! mine done liao. wat they will do is to nail a hole into the sunken area, pump in glue, left it to harden den ok liao. Den the hole they will use filler to fill it up. shouldn't really be a problem for your wife ba......and ure daughter so shy leh..........heehee Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Sohbengkuan 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2008 mine done liao. wat they will do is to nail a hole into the sunken area, pump in glue, left it to harden den ok liao. Den the hole they will use filler to fill it up. shouldn't really be a problem for your wife ba......and ure daughter so shy leh..........heehee I've done once liao... but still got more and more appearing. **** sian.. They would knock to nail that's why cannot. Anyway, sure have one cannot finish rectifying. So thinking to write to them to extend the liability. Shy? wait till you get to meet her more.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ckoonyin 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2008 more and more ah...........hmmm......actually technically speaking..........they just using a pop rivet to knock in so not nail leh heeheee........... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
FaTBaBe 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2008 Hi all, My TO did asked BSC on the labor cost. She mentioned that its for my wall tiles. becos i choosen 60 x 30 not their 20 x 20. that is y they need special (another group of) people to handle. The tiles are bigger, heavier, and it's difficult to manage. the original guys can't manage it and the wall maybe uneven and etc. TO can't get involve in this issue.. :s Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zen2008 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2008 (edited) Hi all, My TO did asked BSC on the labor cost. She mentioned that its for my wall tiles. becos i choosen 60 x 30 not their 20 x 20. that is y they need special (another group of) people to handle. The tiles are bigger, heavier, and it's difficult to manage. the original guys can't manage it and the wall maybe uneven and etc. TO can't get involve in this issue.. :s haha.. they'll gv 1001 reason for the inflated cost... e qtn is, y the difference ur paying is so BIG DIFFERENCE?! Bigger tiles ---> number of tiles used will be less (heavier?) Smaller titles ---> number of tiles used will be more (lighter?) i duno... u see the "difference"... i wld say almost same ba.... so they engaging "specialists" to lay ur tiles huh..... Edited August 7, 2008 by Zen2008 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
weixiaobao 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2008 Hi all, My TO did asked BSC on the labor cost. She mentioned that its for my wall tiles. becos i choosen 60 x 30 not their 20 x 20. that is y they need special (another group of) people to handle. The tiles are bigger, heavier, and it's difficult to manage. the original guys can't manage it and the wall maybe uneven and etc. TO can't get involve in this issue.. :s Zen is right, they forever got crap reasons to inflat cost. Btw, I called Ah Wei today, but he doesnt sound really frenly.. ask them to come change my doorbell and do the grouting for 2 pieces of tiles, he say not free, ask me call them next week again... YAwnz.. Anyone touch up their own grouting before? SIck of waiting for BSC since the last saga... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
blurbug 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2008 [ Please indicate your nick and prefered venue (if no preferences, please leave blank) Able to Attend : 1. FaTBaBe 2. Weixiaobao reporting strength MDM! 3. 4. 5. Not Able to Attend : 1. ckoonyin 2. Zen2008 (if my appt kena cancelled, will join u guyz) 3. Cantona7 (Dad birthday) 4. Dlim 5. Blurbug Pending (To be confirmed by 8 August, 12 noon) : 1. 2. 3. Yo guys..just came back from Malaysia work trip..not able to post..regarding the rack contact, my wife havent called yet...cos she says want to wait until the rectifications have been done..pai seh pai seh...pls carry on if you find good contacts... Fatbabe, too late notice liao...already made arrangements for appointment liao..pai seh.. WXB...heads up...sure got disputes with ID when handover one...same here..dun give him payment until you satisfied..handover is only when you are satisfied!!! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Zen2008 0 Report post Posted August 7, 2008 (edited) Zen is right, they forever got crap reasons to inflat cost. Btw, I called Ah Wei today, but he doesnt sound really frenly.. ask them to come change my doorbell and do the grouting for 2 pieces of tiles, he say not free, ask me call them next week again... YAwnz.. Anyone touch up their own grouting before? SIck of waiting for BSC since the last saga... 2 ways to do the grouting thingy... a) Use putty/filler (i've tried.. v tiring leh... haha...) b) use this.. but of coz dun xpect bleach white hor... but at least can clean the stain... am still doing bit by bit... no fish, prawn oso gd ma... Edited August 7, 2008 by Zen2008 Share this post Link to post Share on other sites