h4happy 1 Report post Posted December 17, 2007 Huh? $1K for living room n Mbr!Wow that is alot.Btw, if you have free time, go to TB plaza (ground floor), there is one stall selling curtains.first time in my life that i spend money like nobody business, hehe, every week go and buy stuffs, lol, spend spend spend er, bought a toilet roll holder over the last weekend only. Cost is $9 each. bought 2 for 2 bathroomsalso bought a sprayer (the thing that u hang beside the toilet bowl) @ $12.50 eachhehe over the weekend spent only $43BUT! next week will be eyeing on curtains already. another "$ bomb". after a long search of curtains yesterday, realised that for my hse, the curtains need to custom made **** room and mbr. estimated cost for the whole hse curtain is almost $1k.. initially thought that i can settle all the curtains at most $400 at ikea. but i am wrong.hai Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 (edited) just an update on my purchase, no pictures to show yet bought custom made curtains for my mbr and living room already- living room window is "semi-circle" type. need to custom made so that the curtain flow nicely.- mbr window is full L-shape. there is no break in between. so cant do 2 rod curtain too. must custom made so that the flow can go smoothly. if use 2 rod, i cant cover the window 100%. there will be a gap at the right angle area of the window.total damage for custom made curtain for my mbr(night curtain) and living room(day+night)=$804bought at one of the curtain shop at clementiwow, money spent so fast.. Edited December 18, 2007 by Yang Guo Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 Wow that's alot of money spend on the custom made curtains.No other way out?just an update on my purchase, no pictures to show yet bought custom made curtains for my mbr and living room already- living room window is "semi-circle" type. need to custom made so that the curtain flow nicely.- mbr window is full L-shape. there is no break in between. so cant do 2 rod curtain too. must custom made so that the flow can go smoothly. if use 2 rod, i cant cover the window 100%. there will be a gap at the right angle area of the window.total damage for custom made curtain for my mbr(night curtain) and living room(day+night)=$804bought at one of the curtain shop at clementiwow, money spent so fast.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 ya lor, no other alternatives. most pple said must custom made for living room and mbr if want to do the best..if do 2rods, there will sure be a gap in betweendo curtain for our hse is also a headache cos of the living room and mbrthe 2 other rooms is ok cos its straight, can easily solve the problem Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 duno whether did i made a wrong decision to do custom made..anybody did a 1 rod for the curtain at the living room? if 1 rod can do, can the curtain close fully? (cos at the end of the rod you cant close the curtain completely) Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
sam07 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 duno whether did i made a wrong decision to do custom made..anybody did a 1 rod for the curtain at the living room? if 1 rod can do, can the curtain close fully? (cos at the end of the rod you cant close the curtain completely)ermm... is it really that important on whether curtain can close fully arh? Sorry, i'm not particular so i dun mind... anyway, i'm intending to use all Ikea accessories for window, the rod, the hook.... coz i bought it liao.. hopefully it can work, coz it nvr crossed my mind till u guys mentioned Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gadgetgal 0 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 just an update on my purchase, no pictures to show yet bought custom made curtains for my mbr and living room already- living room window is "semi-circle" type. need to custom made so that the curtain flow nicely.- mbr window is full L-shape. there is no break in between. so cant do 2 rod curtain too. must custom made so that the flow can go smoothly. if use 2 rod, i cant cover the window 100%. there will be a gap at the right angle area of the window.total damage for custom made curtain for my mbr(night curtain) and living room(day+night)=$804bought at one of the curtain shop at clementiwow, money spent so fast.. Yang Guo,...are you doing grilles?. *I remember you do not... and also, can you PM me your curtain supplier?. was thinking to ask him to quote for me...Two weeks ago (on one of the weekend), we saw a curtain man (in a van) selling curtains,.. his materials looks okay, and quoted us like around $980 for the whole house.. package price. (only thinh is his curtain kinda thin and silky type and can't see through though, while we prefer a thick cloth one)Didn't proceed with him due to one reason and another... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted December 18, 2007 hi gadgetgal, yup i am doing grilles..my $804 is only for the living room and mbr..haven include the 2 bedrooms.the 2 bedrooms i will buy it at ikea,so total cost will be around $900+also. at clementi there are 2 big curtain shops, i got it there at one of the shopsHi Sam,do post a picture and let us know whether can do it or not,hehe,this issue has always in my mind.hope u can clear for us. ya its important for me that the curtain dont have gap.cos privacy.i stay in low floor also that if the hse do till swee swee liao,then if curtain do not so satisfy also no point..so i rather that it can be done completely Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Simpleboi 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 hi gadgetgal, yup i am doing grilles..my $804 is only for the living room and mbr..haven include the 2 bedrooms.the 2 bedrooms i will buy it at ikea,so total cost will be around $900+also. at clementi there are 2 big curtain shops, i got it there at one of the shopsHi Sam,do post a picture and let us know whether can do it or not,hehe,this issue has always in my mind.hope u can clear for us. ya its important for me that the curtain dont have gap.cos privacy.i stay in low floor also that if the hse do till swee swee liao,then if curtain do not so satisfy also no point..so i rather that it can be done completelyHi,Wat grille shape u choose? Wow.. didnt know curtain also eat into so much.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Yes custom make curtain is very expensive.That is why their business boom especially for this period of the year.Hi,Wat grille shape u choose? Wow.. didnt know curtain also eat into so much.. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
prodigic 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 hi gadgetgal, yup i am doing grilles..my $804 is only for the living room and mbr..haven include the 2 bedrooms.the 2 bedrooms i will buy it at ikea,so total cost will be around $900+also. at clementi there are 2 big curtain shops, i got it there at one of the shopsCan I ask u? There's only 1 rod izzit? Coz I intend to make a "slide-in" day and night curtains. I dunno if tat curtain has only 1 slide-in?Hmmm hope i make sense here. LoL Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Can I ask u? There's only 1 rod izzit? Coz I intend to make a "slide-in" day and night curtains. I dunno if tat curtain has only 1 slide-in?Hmmm hope i make sense here. LoL u mean the curtain in ikea? they sell 2 types of rod- 1rod with 2 sliding space (for u to do day and night curtain) - 1rod with 1 sliding space (for u to do night curtain only)do u intend to get from ikea?Hi,Wat grille shape u choose? Wow.. didnt know curtain also eat into so much.. i will post the photos for u later, hehe duno how to describe the shape Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lavendery 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Yang Guo,...are you doing grilles?. *I remember you do not... and also, can you PM me your curtain supplier?. was thinking to ask him to quote for me...Two weeks ago (on one of the weekend), we saw a curtain man (in a van) selling curtains,.. his materials looks okay, and quoted us like around $980 for the whole house.. package price. (only thinh is his curtain kinda thin and silky type and can't see through though, while we prefer a thick cloth one)Didn't proceed with him due to one reason and another...U can try "Arts Living" at Furniture Mall. The price is consider reasonable, depending on your window length and the curtain material. I did a full length "Day-and-Night" curtain for both living room and MBR, and two roller blinds for the other two bedroom. It cost 1.2K. In addition i also did a string curtain for $100 at my MBR. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
prodigic 0 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 u mean the curtain in ikea? they sell 2 types of rod- 1rod with 2 sliding space (for u to do day and night curtain) - 1rod with 1 sliding space (for u to do night curtain only)do u intend to get from ikea?Most probably from Ikea. But do they do customization and installation? Do we need to drill holes on the wall to put the rods up? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Yang Guo 7 Report post Posted December 19, 2007 Most probably from Ikea. But do they do customization and installation? Do we need to drill holes on the wall to put the rods up? yup they do customization with installation, its the sub-contractor of ikea to do for u, they are located at the alternation deptif u r buying the rods yourself, u need to drill hole on the wall to put the rods Share this post Link to post Share on other sites