Nipponho 0 Report post Posted November 11, 2007 Hi,I was wondering if anyone tried to plaster the walls of the toilet and paint it with weather shield? How long will the paint stay before it flakes? If it can last one year, I don’t mind painting it every 12 months since the area is not big and it will not be too tiring to repaint.I dislike tiles, they look nice when new, but after a few years, they look old & dirty, and sometimes crack, and sometimes the material used in between tiles came off. Worse still, if the workmanship is not good, some can pop out.If painting is possible, every year I can have a new coat that looks new, and I can change the colours, design design, and it is cheaper too, only $50 a can, compare to thousand of bucks per toiletAnybody tried this? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
waileong 0 Report post Posted November 11, 2007 Tiling itself alone does not cost thousands of dollars. A complete toilet reno incl. waterproofing, floor and wall tiles, change of WC & sink, installation of accessories, etc. does cost thousands of dollars. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 Hi,I was wondering if anyone tried to plaster the walls of the toilet and paint it with weather shield? How long will the paint stay before it flakes? If it can last one year, I don’t mind painting it every 12 months since the area is not big and it will not be too tiring to repaint.I dislike tiles, they look nice when new, but after a few years, they look old & dirty, and sometimes crack, and sometimes the material used in between tiles came off. Worse still, if the workmanship is not good, some can pop out.If painting is possible, every year I can have a new coat that looks new, and I can change the colours, design design, and it is cheaper too, only $50 a can, compare to thousand of bucks per toiletAnybody tried this?hmm some wacky new idea you have - it does make sense.especially if you fix a ventilator in the toilet...hmm. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Lakmy 0 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 I think its a great idea!!Esp since you are not stuck with the same tiles forever!!Maybe you can be a trend-setter and get oodles of people doing the same later....Reduce your footprint... save sand/ save cement andleave footprints on the paints on walls instead !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nipponho 0 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 I want to to do this, but looks like nobody did it before, so I dare not try, i scared disastererous. Vaguely, I don't remember seeing wall tiles in hotel rooms, or do they have it? I don't think Meritus or Plaza by Park has it. Does anyone knows or noticed? Of course budget hotels has it.I saw on newspapers, someone advertised $2588 total for both toilets, include wall and floor, forgot to ask whether include sink and toilet bowl. When i called, he says it is for overlay, so for hack and "barlay" lay, got to top up a few hundred, so it is something like $3k total. Mine is 3I model, one for shower only, one for business only. It does costs thousands.By the way, "barlay" means repeat, not another unknown new tile laying technique. (in case u may wonder). Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 I want to to do this, but looks like nobody did it before, so I dare not try, i scared disastererous. Vaguely, I don't remember seeing wall tiles in hotel rooms, or do they have it? I don't think Meritus or Plaza by Park has it. Does anyone knows or noticed? Of course budget hotels has it.I saw on newspapers, someone advertised $2588 total for both toilets, include wall and floor, forgot to ask whether include sink and toilet bowl. When i called, he says it is for overlay, so for hack and "barlay" lay, got to top up a few hundred, so it is something like $3k total. Mine is 3I model, one for shower only, one for business only. It does costs thousands.By the way, "barlay" means repeat, not another unknown new tile laying technique. (in case u may wonder).see, the most important problem to tackle is the moisture/water.just donno those weatherbond paint(external walls of buildings) can tahan the excessive water splashing(bath)....can right?then a ventilator to suck out all the water vapours.hmm.... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 if you are not going to paint on bare wallsbut painting on the tiles insteadi'd recommend epoxy paintquite a few fellow forummers did thatsome got professionals to take care of it, while others DIYedcheck out gendon's blog for pix of the painted tilesme thinking of doing it as well next year Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nipponho 0 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 Hi MacePrecisely! I was also wondering about this. We don't see buildings exterior's paint coming off that often. Weathershield paint is meant for rain & shine, isn't it? Maybe one day, i free free, call Nippon Paint to ask. Sounds doable theoretically. I'm sure some budget budget people must have done this before.For me, as long as it last one year, it is ok. I can repaint.I ever ask contractor about this. He said cannot. But contractors words cannot trust 100%. Example, they say cannot paint kitchen cabinet laminates, must discard the whole kitchen cabinet & remake. I went to find out, can be painted, but must sand paper it, & apply something before paint. If they tell the truth, they will earn less. What they did not tell me is that doors & drawers also can change.Thanks Apple, I heard about Epoxy. Precondition for epoxy : tiles must be ok condition. Mine : some come off, some crack, some the material in between tiles came off, plus, not all the way to top. Like this how to epoxy?I saw epoxy at exhibition, it really look like as though u changed new tiles, but not cheap, floor : $5 psf, same price as overlay. They agreed. They said u save on hacking and haulage only. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 or you want to consider DIYi know christinetan actually did it herselfalso $50 for a can of paint, some putty to patch up the cracked/chipped tilesgetting professionals to do it often mean you are paying for the workmanshipfor ordinary paint, dun think it's the issue of coming off in timemore of the ability to adhere to a tiled surfaceafter all, paint is designed to be applied on absorbant surfaces right? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nipponho 0 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 Mine, some squared tiles totally came off, the whole square is missing. If I buy the putty to patch up the missing squares, it will not level. Plus, i don't know if anymore squares will pop up in the near future. So if i patch up and then paint, if more squares pop out......then how?Better to hack away everything, then level it with plastering. If can diy, i also want to diy, but i don't have the technical skills.If i plaster and paint over, confirm paint sure can adhere, just like your living room. But question is adhere for how long, in view that u will splash water on it everyday when showering. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 oh so you hacking all the tiles awaylike this dun think it'll be a problemjust be sure to do the waterproofingif using weatherbond, dun see a problem of peeling within a year Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nipponho 0 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 U ever see people do like this before? Or u know of anyone who done this? I kia see, need to follow precedent. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 eh, one of the rental flat i stayed in is actually like thisno problem at allbut then again, ventilation was fabulous at that place so Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Nipponho 0 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 Is that a condo? Condo structural quality & older HDB is different. Condo worth hundreds of thousands, & owners usually spend money to maintain. But older HDB.....condition is so terok, better don't elaborate, tears can drop.I also forsee problems with contractor. They sure tell me cannot be done bec they will earn more from wall tiling than plastering. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted November 12, 2007 the place was a old flatthink didn't have wall tiles to begin with dun see why cannot be done, esp if you are going for paint that can tahan the moisture Share this post Link to post Share on other sites