bluefrog

When Designers Come To Your Place For Consultation.

Hi, sorry long post ahead ....

Just wanted to share an experience which kind of put me off. But I'm not sure if I'm wrong feeling this way so I hope you guys can share with me your thoughts.

Recently I wanted to extend my bedroom into my balcony and my developer had agreed. But they said I need to apply with the URA. So I randomly chose an designer firm to ask someone to help me make a drawing so that I can apply for approval. it was later then I found out that The firm can actually help me do all the necessary paper work.

So this designer guy said he will come and take a look for me to see if wat I want to do is feasible. I asked if I need to pay him and he said no need as its just a small thing.

So he came, I told him wat I want to do, and he left with my letter of approval from my developer and my ONly copy of floor and lighting plan. The day after, he called me and said the cost of Just the application itself will be about 6K, as mine is quite a complicated process. and to do the actual renovation will be at LEAST another 8k. This is too costly for me so i told him i will not do the renovation if that's the case.

He said he agree that its not worth doing it, and he will meet me to pass me back my documents. When I sms him to arrange a timing to meet, his reply was " Sure. Then you can buy me din din"

I was instantly Put off by his reply. Firstly, why would a grown man in his 30s use "din din" for dinner? act cute ar? Secondly, Why should I buy him dinner?

So I just leave it as it is and did not reply him.

On the day we are suppose to meet, he called me to tell me he's on his way. then he said " eh, you are buying me dinner rite? " I was , again, thinking" WAt??:)" but I nicely told him " No. I already had mine"

And When I finally met him and got the documents back, I thanked him very sincerely and apologise for the trouble. he said "no problem. But you owe me dinner though"

(he was not joking!!)

Ok this may seem like a very small matter but I really felt disgusted. To me, its kind of shamelss for a man to be asking for a free meal from a lady.

But my queston is, Do I really Owe him? Am I obligated to buy him a meal as a show of appreciation? I'm not fimiliar with the designer services and I was wondering if by right, I should pay him for the consultation? Or when its free of charge, is there is an unwritten rule that we should at least buy dinner? If not, why is he acting like I Owe him? :furious:

Edited by bluefrog

He is trying to hit on you.

Did you tell him that you are not married, hubby overseas or something??

A man will only act cute in front of women; if a guy msg me "din din" will immediately get a tight punch on the face...

So dun worry lah, you don't owe him anything. He is just trying to make it sound like you owe him so that he got a chance to go out with you...

A man will only act cute in front of women; if a guy msg me "din din" will immediately get a tight punch on the face...

Normally guy msg u "din din" u better be careful of the Section 377A. 8|:)

just give him $2 dollars and ask him go EAT HIMSELF! 8|

Ask your HB to msg him back and say Dear Mr. x I want to buy you din din. Are you free tonight? See he want or not? :)

Wei Zirkh33 don't punch me hor. I am no gay ok.

Edited by TPY