smurfy

Opinion On This Quotation

yo.. thanks for all the comments.. i really appreciate it :thumbs up:

met up with the id another day and some changes he made to the proposal remove my doubts on him..

this is his final quotation.. err no, never bargain with him

A Professional Services

1 Design & site co-ordination

2 Space planning layout plan

3 Perspective drawings on all carpentry works

4 Consultation on selection of lights, furnitures & accessories

B Wet Works

1 Supply labour to hack existing kitchen & 2 bath rooms flooring tiles. $ 850.00

Inclusive of removing kitchen cabinet & toilet fixture.

2 Supply labour to hack existing master bathroom walls tiles. $ 600.00

3 Supply labour to hack 1 nos. of new entrance at master bathroom. $ 150.00

4 Supply labour & materials to seal of existing master bathroom entrance using 75mm hollow block. $ 360.00

5 Supply & lay ceramic tiles for kitchen & 2 bathrooms flooring. $ 2,200.00

6 Supply & do water-proofing for kitchen & 2 bathrooms flooring. $ 150.00

7 Supply & construct 50mm cabinet, washing machine & fridge base @ kitchen. $ 450.00

8 Supply & lay ceramic tiles for master bathroom walls. $ 1,500.00

9 Hack & create an opening between dining & kitchen wall. With design mosic tiles @ the sides. $ 480.00

Sub total : $ 6,740.00

C Miscellaneous

1 To supply & lay cardboard protection for the whole house. F.O.C.

2 Clearing of debris from site after renovation. $ 650.00

3 Supply labour & materials to grain & vainshes existing 3 bedrooms parquet flooring. $ 850.00

3 Clean up whole unit with chemical F.O.C.

Sub total : $ 1,500.00

D Painting Works

1 Supply & paint 02 coats of ICI Pentalite Emusion paint for whole house wall and ceilings. $ 1,100.00

Inclusive of patching up of damage ceiling.

2 Supply & paint ICI Glossy paint for whole house pipings, doors and door frames. $ 350.00

Sub total : $ 1,450.00

E Plumbing Works

1 To supply labour to install kitshen sink, hoob & hob. $ 300.00

2 To supply labour to install 2 nos. of W.C. & basin. $ 340.00

3 To supply do alteration in coming water supply copper piping for effected area. $ 200.00

4 To supply re-run consel copper hot & cold water pipings for whole master bathroom. $ 850.00

Sub total : $ 1,690.00

F Glass / Aluminium Works

1 To supply & install bronze colour aluminium sliding grilles for the whole house base on 4ft height. $ 800.00

2 Supply & install 10 mm thk temper frosted glass swing doors @ master bedroom entrance. $ 560.00

3 Supply & install 10 mm thk temper glass swing doors shower screen @ master bedroom. $ 550.00

Sub total : $ 1,910.00

G Plaster ceiling works

1 Design & fabricate partitional gysum board box-up panelling behind master bedroom head board.. $ 600.00

sub total : $ 600.00

H Custom Made Build-in Furniture

1 Design & fabricate bottom kitchen cabinet in laminated finish c/w ABS triming swing doors.

Max. 24ft L. $ 2,880.00

2 Design & fabricate top kitchen cabinet in laminated finish c/w ABS triming swing doors.

Above sink & stove area. Max. 10ft L. $ 1,200.00

3 Design & fabricate solid surface counter top for the above cabinet. Max. 17ft L. $ 1,360.00

4 Design & fabricate solid surface counter top @ opening between dining & kitchen wall. Max. 4ft L. $ 400.00

sub total : $ 5 ,840.00

Living / Dining Hall

1 Design & fabricate full height partition dividert in laminated finish divider @ foyer area. Max. 3ft L $ 520.00

2 Design & fabricate full height T.V. feature with player storage in laminated finish as per proposed.

( Max. 2400mm L ) $ 2,400.00

sub total : $ 2 ,920.00

Master Bedroom

1 Design & fabricate writing desk with drawers drawers in laminate finish as per proposed area. $ 1,050.00

Max. 2100mm L

2 Supply & install 1 nos. of 3ft * 3ft custom made mirror with polishes edges @ master bathroom. F.O.C.

sub total : $ 1 ,050.00

Contact Amount : $ 2 3,700.00

why this time clear debris higher than 1st time n somemore lay cardboard foc this time, but total higher? I tink u better print out n check item by item clearly.

Wah you engage LAWRENCE FROM BAROQUE to do up your house? Driving a mazda 6 gold colour. 5008?Good luck to you. He owes my friend some $800 for a year already. Just before completing his house, HE HAS THE CHEEK TO BORROW MONEY FROM MY FRIEND AND GAVE SOME STORIES LIKE "My child is in the ICU and i need some money for his medical fees, i will deduct the money from the last 10%. Is this under table? Is he going back to his office and tell his boss that the owner deducted some money from the contract sum? And still have not paid it back since augaust last year. My friend said he heard from his sub-cons all borrowed money after a job is completed and never returns. Beware he maybe a bankrupt and will have several implications on your house later. My friend is a owner and his house was did up by him, untill today the touch up for the painting was not done despite calling him almost every week. Luckily he did not give him the last 10%. The house he brought you to view is his boss's house, Jason, 5room at seng kang. Of course he will bring you to see a palace, will he bring you go and see his usual works?

My ID dont drive Mazda 6 leh..anyway,thanks for ur advice

Once my reno is done, i will post up my pictures. :thumbs up:

Edited by Yang Guo

My ID dont drive Mazda 6 leh..anyway,thanks for ur advice

Once my reno is done, i will post up my pictures. :bangwall:

Actually I think better dont kpo id private life lah.

Everybody has their own private life lah.

Nobody is perfect.

What matter most is : DO A GOOD JOB, THE REST IS NOT IMPT.

Right Yang Guo?

Actually I think better dont kpo id private life lah.

Everybody has their own private life lah.

Nobody is perfect.

What matter most is : DO A GOOD JOB, THE REST IS NOT IMPT.

Right Yang Guo?

yup yup,thats what i thought too =)

A quick update on my side.

Initially i was getting real worried upon hearing all ur comments n inputs. And not having any perspective drawings from the id/contractor just make things worse. In fact, we were just having brief sketches and still meeting up to make changes even after he hacked my walls.. this is very scarly right??

But but, i went to the flat last nite.. he had laid the bathroom wall n floor tiles, and kitchen tiles oredi.. and i must say the workmanship is really there... the tiles r done up very closely n evenly... and the aircon water discharge line to the toilet is done up very nicely oso..

now my mind is at ease.. it seems worth it lor, despite the high price he ask for and the messy ways he handles things.. now awaitin to see the kitchen wardrobes to be assembled.. shall update if i got further news.. but really lor, thanks for all ur inputs :yamseng:

as long as ur house can be ready and move in happily.. tis is wat we all askin for :yamseng:

no matter how much we pay.. as long as we are comfortable and e id or contractor don disappoint us..

one of the forumer here got a disappointed reno.. almost fall off w her hubby.. workmanship not gd, id missing in action.. tis is something tat we hate to see and don wish to happen..

another got delayed by her id.. even though her id got gd reputation..

so blessed all those others will hav a happy reno and wishes those that hav prob can get them resolve asap, this is wat they are longing for..

:dribble:

Updates, updates

I am still camping at my mum's place... 2weeks plus oredi..

Someone asked about me in this forum and this is my reply

<b>The tilers did a very good job, the tilings r done very evenly and very finely I was impressed with it then and posted to compliment him

But the carpenters are horrible.. the workmanship is simply not there...the laminates r cut irregularly .. u can see the uneven finishes (and the only way he could touch up is by putting more sealant or the white color things , so u can imagine a study table with thick bold white lines at the sides where the wood n the walls joined),

i dunno what went wrong.. wrong measurements were given to his carpenters, and the top portion of the kitchen cabinets were redone.. the guys even measure the area for the hob wrongly (luckily we came in that night and spotted on this and told him off, otherwise i dunno what will happen if he go and give measurements for the granite top) ..

his carpenters did a few wrong cabinets oso and had to redo... the worst thing is that the saturday before last saturday, he told his carpenters off For leaving halfway..that group of carpenters went on strike and he got to get another grp to finish up my stuffs.

haiz.. there was so much delay that I have been camping at my mum's place for the past 2 weeks plus. Finally this is the 3rd week of delay and he had finishes up everything, will get him to come by this sat to do the final touch up and pay him the remaining money.. i am hoping to move in either this weekend or next lor...coz i got a young baby with me, and i dun wanna expose him to the residual dust and paints so fast

I am sorry but this is my experience with him. Maybe he had a good grp of carpenters before? Maybe he is good? But definitely he cannot cope at this current timing. And I did not receive any perspective drawing as of now.

My whole reno cost is $24k... for a 5room resales.. </b>

Simply disappointing is the only 2 words I have for my reno guy now.... He might be good prior, but he simply cannot cope when just started running his own business now. And, gotta admit lack of time is an issue.. The next time I move house, I am gonna make sure I got ample time to prepare.. Hahaha but that would be another few years when my boy is older and the 5room is too small for us. Anyway, will try to post up the pics after I move in, coz it is really hard to load the pictures when I am always moving ard without a proper base...

Shortage of time is one prime factor for unsatisfactory renovation. Be warned!

now you know why waileong post the above comments.

欲速则不达

anyway, just keep your EYEs open wide wide and spot for defects - asap. if possible go to your house everyday, the moment you see the workers doing something wrong, quickly call your contractor.

Yo mace.

I am back there everyday, to bath and unpack some stuffs. tHOUgh my mum's and the new flat is on the same stretch of road, it is really causing alot of inconvenience. Imagine 7 ADults and 1 baby cramping in a 4 room flat AND my silly little baby is the one with the most stuffs and taking up the most space hahaha (that's why me and hb goes back to new home to shower every nite) Oso sent my maid to do the cleaning on days tat it does not rain.. but she can onli be there 2hrs at the most when my baby is sleeping. So, the clean up and move in is very slow.

The reno guy is not coming up these days oredi, his stuffs r done. But making him come up to do the final touch-ups lor. My only consolation is that this is his own business and so far he is very responsive to my calls for defective issues (just that he will not pick up my calls immediately and wait a few hrs for my anger to subside, clever move ahahahaa) and he will really do all the rectifications for me, but at HIS OWN SPEED and Time. Just my luck that he is unable to cOpe and has a poor batch of carpenters under him.

Edited by smurfy

Yo mace.

I am back there everyday, to bath and unpack some stuffs. tHOUgh my mum's and the new flat is on the same stretch of road, it is really causing alot of inconvenience. Imagine 7 ADults and 1 baby cramping in a 4 room flat AND my silly little baby is the one with the most stuffs and taking up the most space hahaha (that's why me and hb goes back to new home to shower every nite) Oso sent my maid to do the cleaning on days tat it does not rain.. but she can onli be there 2hrs at the most when my baby is sleeping. So, the clean up and move in is very slow.

The reno guy is not coming up these days oredi, his stuffs r done. But making him come up to do the final touch-ups lor. My only consolation is that this is his own business and so far he is very responsive to my calls for defective issues (just that he will not pick up my calls immediately and wait a few hrs for my anger to subside, clever move ahahahaa) and he will really do all the rectifications for me, but at HIS OWN SPEED and Time. Just my luck that he is unable to cOpe and has a poor batch of carpenters under him.

buy your maid a feather duster - less cleaning + 99% of the dust will be gone. :bangwall: