hocl

False Ceiling And False Wall - Can Hold Curtains?

My living room under reno has false ceiling, and the "wall" above the windows is also false wall using gypsum board. I want to install curtains.

Just wondering can the gypsum board wall hold the weight of the tracks + curtain ?

Not advisable. Cos wear & tear differ and who noe how long before the surprise came.

hang paintings no problem by using those plugs emant for gysum boards.

the problem is curtains - you always pull to close/open. this one dunno can tahan how long liao :sport-smiley-004:

my mum used to be in the curtain biz...she says you can try drilling the brackets into the wooden support beams used to construct ur false wall or ceiling. then there are two different types of aluminium brackets; one that is drilled into the wall and another that goes into the ceiling so you can adjust accordingly.

i guess material wise don't choose heavy materials also lah.

Yep, that's what my reno contractor just told me ... but can I assume the curtain contractor knows how to look for the support strips (mine are metal instead of wood, as told by my reno contractor) under the false wall .... ?

do the knock-knock test?

*knock-knock* (hollow)

*knock2* ting ting

lol

sorry...but u cld ask ur contractor abt it before he starts, just to check if he knows what he's doing,

How about asking your contractor to do a "cove" so that ur curtain are still mount to the ceiling and not false ceiling. If still under reno, think ur contractor can still change. Hide the track as well.

Example:

mbrfalseceilingncurtwl3.th.jpg

from far look like this:

livingceilingcj4.th.jpg

How about asking your contractor to do a "cove" so that ur curtain are still mount to the ceiling and not false ceiling. If still under reno, think ur contractor can still change. Hide the track as well.

Example:

mbrfalseceilingncurtwl3.th.jpg

from far look like this:

livingceilingcj4.th.jpg

sounds great ... dunno how much my contractor will charge for the change ... better pay then be sorry later ... tks :furious:!