hocl 0 Report post Posted October 25, 2007 My living room under reno has false ceiling, and the "wall" above the windows is also false wall using gypsum board. I want to install curtains.Just wondering can the gypsum board wall hold the weight of the tracks + curtain ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
raincole 0 Report post Posted October 25, 2007 Not advisable. Cos wear & tear differ and who noe how long before the surprise came. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted October 25, 2007 Not advisable. Cos wear & tear differ and who noe how long before the surprise came.hang paintings no problem by using those plugs emant for gysum boards.the problem is curtains - you always pull to close/open. this one dunno can tahan how long liao Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hocl 0 Report post Posted October 25, 2007 hang paintings no problem by using those plugs emant for gysum boards.the problem is curtains - you always pull to close/open. this one dunno can tahan how long liao siao liao ... liddat how? no curtains? would these help? Molly Bolt & Toggle Bolthttp://www.factsfacts.com/MyHomeRepair/drywallfasteners.htm Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted October 25, 2007 siao liao ... liddat how? no curtains? would these help? Molly Bolt & Toggle Bolthttp://www.factsfacts.com/MyHomeRepair/drywallfasteners.htmya..these are the plugs i am talking about. I DIY hang a painting on my falsewall...somehow felt it's not very secured. For a painting = ok, but for something that requires lots of movement...i dunno... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hocl 0 Report post Posted October 25, 2007 siao liao ... (mace - tks)any others got experience to share? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gumbokins 5 Report post Posted October 26, 2007 my mum used to be in the curtain biz...she says you can try drilling the brackets into the wooden support beams used to construct ur false wall or ceiling. then there are two different types of aluminium brackets; one that is drilled into the wall and another that goes into the ceiling so you can adjust accordingly.i guess material wise don't choose heavy materials also lah. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hocl 0 Report post Posted October 26, 2007 Yep, that's what my reno contractor just told me ... but can I assume the curtain contractor knows how to look for the support strips (mine are metal instead of wood, as told by my reno contractor) under the false wall .... ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gumbokins 5 Report post Posted October 26, 2007 do the knock-knock test?*knock-knock* (hollow)*knock2* ting tinglolsorry...but u cld ask ur contractor abt it before he starts, just to check if he knows what he's doing, Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Tingz 0 Report post Posted October 30, 2007 How about asking your contractor to do a "cove" so that ur curtain are still mount to the ceiling and not false ceiling. If still under reno, think ur contractor can still change. Hide the track as well. Example:from far look like this: Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
hocl 0 Report post Posted November 9, 2007 How about asking your contractor to do a "cove" so that ur curtain are still mount to the ceiling and not false ceiling. If still under reno, think ur contractor can still change. Hide the track as well. Example:from far look like this:sounds great ... dunno how much my contractor will charge for the change ... better pay then be sorry later ... tks ! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites