mint 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2007 I'm asking my ID to drill a hole onto my homogenous tiles at the front door kerb, so that HDB door and the HDB grilles can push that 'latch' down into the hole. HDB door and grille comes with 2 latches - one to push up and another to push down. ID says no need to drill a hole in the homo tiles. He said the top one is good enough, and furthermore nobody drill a hole on the homo tiles cos homo tiles will crack easily. He said drill a hole on the door kerb is an old fashioned method which is used on ceramic tiles only (cos ceramic tiles dont crack). Is this how u all go about it??I got to ask here for feedback, cos no longer trust my ID already... (always got many excuses!)I see someone in my area having this.. i think theirs is also homo tiles leh, and they manage to drill the hole - see pic. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Brainstorm 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2007 I'm asking my ID to drill a hole onto my homogenous tiles at the front door kerb, so that HDB door and the HDB grilles can push that 'latch' down into the hole. HDB door and grille comes with 2 latches - one to push up and another to push down. ID says no need to drill a hole in the homo tiles. He said the top one is good enough, and furthermore nobody drill a hole on the homo tiles cos homo tiles will crack easily. He said drill a hole on the door kerb is an old fashioned method which is used on ceramic tiles only (cos ceramic tiles dont crack). Is this how u all go about it??I got to ask here for feedback, cos no longer trust my ID already... (always got many excuses!)I see someone in my area having this.. i think theirs is also homo tiles leh, and they manage to drill the hole - see pic.Its all up to you. My ID told me Homo tiles still can drill, but will need special drill and have to drill very slowly. For me, I choose not to drill as I find latching the top for door/gate is stable enough. And when I open my door fully (the big and small door/gate), the floor looks nicer without the holes. Cheers. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted October 21, 2007 yes i agree it looks nicer without the holesalso, with the holes it's easy to kick your toes on themi dun have the hole too...one more thing, but it concerns only shifting timewhen you try to push bulky items over the holes, it's very difficult Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
waileong 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2007 CRACKING is not the problem with the right tools. Having a floor hole is good. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gumbokins 5 Report post Posted October 21, 2007 we didnt bother with drilling the holes too altho the prev owner did and it was quite badly done. there really isnt a need to secure both top and bottom latches. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
raincole 0 Report post Posted October 22, 2007 If not experience enough to do it, don't do it.Since id not confident to drill the hole without cracking the tile and has already informed you of this possibility, if that is the end-results, dun think you can blame him if it turns out not your way. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted October 22, 2007 With both top and bottom holes, the gates and door will be more secure. Else it will be easier to pry open. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
mint 0 Report post Posted October 22, 2007 Hmmm thanks.. shall think abt it.. (thou wld prefer to have the hole).Actually isnt it just to drill the hole, how come got a rim around the hole? It's to protect the floor from cracking? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted October 23, 2007 With both top and bottom holes, the gates and door will be more secure. Else it will be easier to pry open.agree...or else why install a gate? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Brainstorm 0 Report post Posted October 24, 2007 With both top and bottom holes, the gates and door will be more secure. Else it will be easier to pry open.That's what we thought last time, that's why my old house floor got drill hole. But after see my neighbour's door and gate being open with just a hand drill.... don't think people these days use prying any more. The story goes... neighbour couple divorce, HB change the house lock to prevent wife from entering, wife get locksmith to open the gate and door. We saw the locksmith use a hand drill, drill some holes and the lock just fell apart and door open liao.... And the HB used Abloy lock some more.... Unless you expecting "Ah Long" to come bang door, no point having bottom hole. To illegally open the gate and door is not that difficult.... its just illegal to do it.... get caught get jail/cane !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted October 24, 2007 my new place no bottom hole for both gate and doorfind that it really doesn't add much to the securitycoz the bottom hole is for the smaller piece of door / gate to plug intobut thieves will be more interested in the bigger piece anyway Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted October 24, 2007 my new place no bottom hole for both gate and doorfind that it really doesn't add much to the securitycoz the bottom hole is for the smaller piece of door / gate to plug intobut thieves will be more interested in the bigger piece anyway Try latching only the top hole of your windows and push it. Is it more secure latching only the top hole or latching both top and bottom holes? Its the same for the door and gate.Anyway, I will still insist on both top and bottom holes. Why make it easier for the thieves? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites