mint

Skirting Made Of Tiles

Is this shoddy works, or is this acceptable?

Should be the the tiler never do a good job (nvr clean that cement?), thats why got that streak above the skirting, right? That streak is part of HDB wall right?

I asked my ID if the skirting can make it rounded, and not so sharp at the edges. He said cannot. Is it true? he said only timber skriting can make rounded, but not for tile skirting. I keep thinking its very dangerous to have such sharp skirting edges.

Picture302.jpg

Picture305.jpg

How about these dots/ specks on the wall? Is this usually come with HDB walls? Or drops of cement dropped on the wall and not cleaned off?

Picture304.jpg

Edited by mint

i would think this is normal cos most HDB wall are not even unless you plaster them but then if you plaster them it wont last long too...haiz........ so the streak in picture look norm to me

btw i will get them to scrap off the dot on the wall (last picture) just in case someone young (kids) cut themselve

mint, really must sympathise you for getting such a LOUSY ID....most your works I can never accept, i mean i am considered a very chinchye person liao YET most your pics realli makes my blood boil. :thumbs up:

I understand that HDB wall are slanted, and are rough, not smooth. Besides plastering cost $ too. So rough walls are ok with me. But those big specks (see pic) are quite big, and looks dangerous (if young kids scratch them). My ID never spotted it and I just notice it now, so tot of asking my ID to remove them. But Im already past the touch up stage, final paint touch up. Me ID never seem to inspect the works done by his workers. I somehow feel his job is to arrange / coordinate workers to come n do the job only. Whether is it a job welldone a not, he dont seem to notice. Cos I seem to spot so many 'flaws' here n there.

Know something, Mace - the thread at Brides.com about this ID is deleted! Someone mentioned it.... ooohh..

I understand that HDB wall are slanted, and are rough, not smooth. Besides plastering cost $ too. So rough walls are ok with me. But those big specks (see pic) are quite big, and looks dangerous (if young kids scratch them). My ID never spotted it and I just notice it now, so tot of asking my ID to remove them. But Im already past the touch up stage, final paint touch up. Me ID never seem to inspect the works done by his workers. I somehow feel his job is to arrange / coordinate workers to come n do the job only. Whether is it a job welldone a not, he dont seem to notice. Cos I seem to spot so many 'flaws' here n there.

Know something, Mace - the thread at Brides.com about this ID is deleted! Someone mentioned it.... ooohh..

haiz...till now you still havent PM your ID leh.....seems to be so protective of your ID...

Dunno how many people have signed up the id liao. Sigh....

sgbride remove, but renotalk has it :good:

huh you know ah? PM me leh...me curious how come such Lousy ID can be popular???

Edited by MaCe

I intend to use tiles for my skirting too. Any reason not to do it? My new home is landed. I thought if I use tiles, I reduce the problem of termites in the future.

my house(hdb) no skirtings.

1) save the money

2) no gaps behind your cabinets( playground for insects/lizards)

3) looks nicer to me

My fren's house required skirting to "compensate" for the slanted walls. If you don't put skirtings, the part where the floor tiles touches the side wall might be "uneven", slanted or worse => zig zag holes!:P

As for my house, I'm doing parquet skirting as my FH likes the cosy feeling. Keeping my fingers crossed that all those negative elements e.g. termites would not come in...

the parquet should have been already treated with anti termites.

If U are going to have babies soon, please consider MaCe's suggestion : No skirting.

My son regretted having marble and parquet skirting in his house cuz his 1-year old toddler had a nasty accident with the skirting. Juz tahan a simple but SAFE abode for a few years for the sake of kids.