scopero 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 Hi all,I just bought a 3 room HDB and my first appointment is only on Dec 5th I need and want to do a complete renovation incl. hacking walls (ID evaluation and quoting ongoing) and my wish move-in date is before end of Jan 08 as my current lease expires by then. I am looking now into a possibility to expedite the whole renovation and start in November to complete at least the wet work before CNY. I got different feedback from HDB so far, some say this is not possible to start any renovation before the 1st appointment, others say it can be done under the condition the current owner is agreeable. I already have the agreement of the current owner that she will sign the required forms and let us start with the rennovation before end of Nov.Anyones know what we have to do?Any help is appreciated!Thanks Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
raincole 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 Ur seller not staying there? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
latitude 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 i do not think its possible. bearing in mind that after 1st appt, the HDB officer will inspect the place. if the place under reno, they have nothing to inspect. better get clearance from HDB. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
raincole 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 Inspection is done long before 1st appt. Just that the reno permit is applied under whose name? Cos u not owner yet until 2nd appt. Dunno what form but i'm sure there is some form which release seller from any liability and u to take up all responsibility. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
scopero 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 Seller can move out before reno starts... As soon as my new fllor plan / ID is defined I want to get HDB approval, once approved => hack hack hack:P Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
phoenix 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 I think as long as owner sign some permit papers can liao. Aiya, hdb always like this one... I've also encountered different answers from different officers before.But if you do major hacking.. in less then 2mths can complete? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
raincole 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 Seller can move out before reno starts... As soon as my new fllor plan / ID is defined I want to get HDB approval, once approved => hack hack hack:P As long as seller support u in this -> they can get the reno permit or what. THen u can start ur reno.HDB only need doc for filing. If u r doing hacking, need PE permit also. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zirhk3355 1 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 The only issue is with the seller. You see, they will be ones who apply for the permit since they are still the owners, somemore its major reno with hacking and such. If got penalty, noise pollution, etc, they will get it.Some buyers will sign a personal agreement with the seller to say that buyer will bear all liabilities, but when come to the crunch, HDB don't care and the seller has to bear the charges first and then ask you to pay. Should you refused to pay, they will have to go all the way to small claims (if under $10k) or get a lawyer to sue you (if more than $10k).Ermm...of course if you know yourself that you will be really responsible, and the seller is abit blur blur like that, then don't tell them all these and ask them to apply permit for you lor...kekeke... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
waileong 0 Report post Posted October 18, 2007 You're setting yourself up for trouble. Rushed renovation in Dec. Sounds like first time doing renovation. And trying to cut corners with 1st/2nd appt. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
scopero 0 Report post Posted October 19, 2007 You're setting yourself up for trouble. Rushed renovation in Dec. Sounds like first time doing renovation. And trying to cut corners with 1st/2nd appt.What troubles will that be? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
waileong 0 Report post Posted October 21, 2007 Rushed job means more risk, lower quality.Do you know how long it takes to find a reliable contractor/ID, to finalise a design/quote, to select materials, to get permits to start work, to rectify defects, etc? Do you know how long it takes to do a good job? A good contractor is like a good hawker-- they'll have a long queue of people waiting for their services, but the food is worth the wait. So it is with contractors. If you are in a rush, you won't get a good contractor. And you can read the horror stories of those who did not have good contractors in this forum. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
scopero 0 Report post Posted October 22, 2007 Rushed job means more risk, lower quality.Do you know how long it takes to find a reliable contractor/ID, to finalise a design/quote, to select materials, to get permits to start work, to rectify defects, etc? Do you know how long it takes to do a good job? A good contractor is like a good hawker-- they'll have a long queue of people waiting for their services, but the food is worth the wait. So it is with contractors. If you are in a rush, you won't get a good contractor. And you can read the horror stories of those who did not have good contractors in this forum.Ok, point noted and understood.Assuming we found a reliable ID (assessment based on 2-3 meetings, quote review, forum feedback etc) and this ID confirms he can do the wet work (move in condition) before CNY under the condition he can start Dec 1st would you guys do the project?Thanks or your shared thoughts. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites