gohkm

Chinese Rosewood Screen

Yesterday i went to upper paya lebar look look see see. I saw this chinese rosewood screen 4 panels, one side is crafted with some flowers and one side is filled with mother of pearls. Wah i abit stunned and like it very much. But abit exp, the boss quote me $2100...........i wonder is this a good price? Is there any rosewood expert out there can help me? The boss told me rosewood very good wood, two man also cannot carry that 4 panels of rosewood screen..........wah i very impressed..........pls advised........

sam tat? their cheapest screen is $600+ if i m not wrong.

rosewood good to invest, you can get back at least 50% or more if you choose to sell it in future.

but i would recommend normal wood ($250-$400) chinese screens(4 panels) unless you are really hardcore rosewood lover.

yep rosewood is very good wood, i have a bookcase made of rosewood ...

r e a l l y h e a v y

but seriously dunno what is market price for such stuff .. in another thread leen did mention that some of these artwork from PRC is quite cheap there but price inflated when reach Sg ... if you're interested can check out Dragon Export at Chinatown opp the Indian Temple, having gone to quite a few of such shops, found this one the most reasonably priced.

good luckz

yep rosewood is very good wood, i have a bookcase made of rosewood ...

r e a l l y h e a v y

but seriously dunno what is market price for such stuff .. in another thread leen did mention that some of these artwork from PRC is quite cheap there but price inflated when reach Sg ... if you're interested can check out Dragon Export at Chinatown opp the Indian Temple, having gone to quite a few of such shops, found this one the most reasonably priced.

good luckz

just in case you wanna sell your rosewood bookcase, there is one member here whom i believe would love to buy... :thumbs up:

that sounds like me

hi skweerel, care to share how much and where you got your bookcase?

me still hunting for them. think will check out Samtat

hi gohkm, i always find that it's good to compare a few places

some places to check out is Oriental Handicraft as Henderson industrial park (near scanteak), SIngapore Handicraft at Eunos, Gnee Hong at bencoolen (until end of the month) and the place skweerel mentioned. i'm gonna check out that place too :thumbs up: !!

that sounds like me

hi skweerel, care to share how much and where you got your bookcase?

me still hunting for them. think will check out Samtat

hi gohkm, i always find that it's good to compare a few places

some places to check out is Oriental Handicraft as Henderson industrial park (near scanteak), SIngapore Handicraft at Eunos, Gnee Hong at bencoolen (until end of the month) and the place skweerel mentioned. i'm gonna check out that place too :good::P

Initially i want to buy camphone screen, but when i go to feel the wood, it gives me a light and cheapskate feeling. Lucky i never buy. Then these 2 days i off, go jalan jalan, i saw this shop selling rosewood screen at paya lebar. One look i fall in love with it. The wood is heavy, it can stretch to 213 cm long and the finishing so beautiful. One side mother of pearl, one side with flowers( dont know what 4 seasons flowers)........

Its not at samtat, samtat abit expensive............I also check out oriental and justanthony. then i realise many shops now never sell screens anymore. I saw a similar one at yahoo auction selling at $8000 now. I faint.....anyway i bought already last nite already. Cos the boss quote me last price at $2000 and it is really the last piece.....i go home a happy man...........mayb there r cheaper one elsewhere........but i really like this rosewood screen...........i am flying, heehee.

Initially i want to buy camphone screen, but when i go to feel the wood, it gives me a light and cheapskate feeling. Lucky i never buy. Then these 2 days i off, go jalan jalan, i saw this shop selling rosewood screen at paya lebar. One look i fall in love with it. The wood is heavy, it can stretch to 213 cm long and the finishing so beautiful. One side mother of pearl, one side with flowers( dont know what 4 seasons flowers)........

Its not at samtat, samtat abit expensive............I also check out oriental and justanthony. then i realise many shops now never sell screens anymore. I saw a similar one at yahoo auction selling at $8000 now. I faint.....anyway i bought already last nite already. Cos the boss quote me last price at $2000 and it is really the last piece.....i go home a happy man...........mayb there r cheaper one elsewhere........but i really like this rosewood screen...........i am flying, heehee.

care to share where you got your screen?

me want to check it out too

the one at yahoo auction, the carvings are jadite leh

of course $8,000

even soap stone ones are going for a few thousand liao wor

if i got the money i'd go for it

really :good: :good: :D

most important thing is you feel it's worth it

千金难买心头好 :good::P

not samtat??? opposite justanthony?

your screen NOT easy to find in sg, rosewood+mop. envy siah....

not samtat??? opposite justanthony?

your screen NOT easy to find in sg, rosewood+mop. envy siah....

Hi Mace,

Seems like u also like rosewood furniture. My love with rosewood furniture begin with my primary school bestfriend house. During my school days, when I go his house, i always got this grand feeling........anyway that shop i patronise is somewhere opposite justanthony. I go there 3 times then i buy. The boss very sincere and unscheming type.

Actually, these 2 days i off, so I intend to follow forumers direction and go justanthony but my wife notice another ulu shop nearer to the bus stop that we drop off. So we intend to take a look inside the shop cos lazy to cross the road.....

After i saw the rosewood screen in the shop, it already conditioned my mind. Whatever screen i saw at justanthony cannot move me. Even the lady at Justanthony tell me new stocks coming at the end of the month cannot move me. I tell my wife i will give up buying new nokia N95 hp just to buy this rosewood screen. :P

i will take a picture and post it when it touches my clementi new house around december. Cheers...

care to share where you got your screen?

me want to check it out too

the one at yahoo auction, the carvings are jadite leh

of course $8,000

even soap stone ones are going for a few thousand liao wor

if i got the money i'd go for it

really :dribble: :dribble: :dribble:

most important thing is you feel it's worth it

千金难买心头好 :sport-smiley-003::sport-smiley-003:

Hi applefreak,

its somewhere opposite just anthony. A ulu shop and not as famous as Justanthony. But the uncle very nice type and the price can slash here slash there but must stop before u annoyed him :notti: the shop also do touch up for your old rosewood furniture.

I am not a spendthrift person but this screen really melt my heart....sad lah, there goes my plan to buy a nokia N95 hp.

do you have the address, should be on the invoice

i dun know where is justanthony :dribble:

honestly, i find nokia phones' value drop way too fast

can you imagine you buy the phone now, think next year got no resale value liao

but the screen you can sell probably at 50% discount 20yrs down the road

or maybe wood prices increased so much you can actually make a profit out of it :sport-smiley-003: :sport-smiley-003:

do you have the address, should be on the invoice

i dun know where is justanthony :dribble:

honestly, i find nokia phones' value drop way too fast

can you imagine you buy the phone now, think next year got no resale value liao

but the screen you can sell probably at 50% discount 20yrs down the road

or maybe wood prices increased so much you can actually make a profit out of it :sport-smiley-003::dribble:

alamak....it's near my house lah...remember the ending part of paya lebar > lor ah soo.

Hi Mace,

Seems like u also like rosewood furniture. My love with rosewood furniture begin with my primary school bestfriend house. During my school days, when I go his house, i always got this grand feeling........anyway that shop i patronise is somewhere opposite justanthony. I go there 3 times then i buy. The boss very sincere and unscheming type.

Actually, these 2 days i off, so I intend to follow forumers direction and go justanthony but my wife notice another ulu shop nearer to the bus stop that we drop off. So we intend to take a look inside the shop cos lazy to cross the road.....

After i saw the rosewood screen in the shop, it already conditioned my mind. Whatever screen i saw at justanthony cannot move me. Even the lady at Justanthony tell me new stocks coming at the end of the month cannot move me. I tell my wife i will give up buying new nokia N95 hp just to buy this rosewood screen. :sport-smiley-003:

i will take a picture and post it when it touches my clementi new house around december. Cheers...

wah...very near my house lah...been there twice but DIDNT see anything screen leh...alamak.

alamak....it's near my house lah...remember the ending part of paya lebar > lor ah soo.

wah...very near my house lah...been there twice but DIDNT see anything screen leh...alamak.

Now i know mace is a rich man........u live near there.........that place mostly private property plus the house all very big type.................now i more envy of u..........now i remember last time army always say, dont compare :sport-smiley-003:

i also dont know that shop got sell screen, outside they mostly sell chairs and tables and altar. But i walk deep inside the shop, then i saw this rosewood screen which arrested my attention..........keep shouting at me to bring it home. I ask the boss to show my other design, he says no more liao. Cos they stop producing already and want to focus on chairs, tables and etc. Go take a look, the things not expensive plus the boss so sincere.

Now i know mace is a rich man........u live near there.........that place mostly private property plus the house all very big type.................now i more envy of u..........now i remember last time army always say, dont compare :sport-smiley-003:

no lah...down there also got HDB lah...some members here been to my house, PIGEON HOLE hdb house.

if i so rich, then me beri busy flying here/there liao where got time for internet man....21.gif

i also dont know that shop got sell screen, outside they mostly sell chairs and tables and altar. But i walk deep inside the shop, then i saw this rosewood screen which arrested my attention..........keep shouting at me to bring it home. I ask the boss to show my other design, he says no more liao. Cos they stop producing already and want to focus on chairs, tables and etc. Go take a look, the things not expensive plus the boss so sincere.

ya, talked with the boss b4 when i was looking for rosewood altar table....his sofas not bad, good pricing also.

but grandfather clocks beri lousy...

hmm, i might bring my stools for him to revarnish/repair....