doramo

Golden Years' Dwelling

Hi every one :P

my old folks just got a resale 3 room standard flat at central area.

the handover was on 10 Oct and immediately after handover, we started the hacking and rewiring.

below is the floor plan of the flat

32693200fb1.th.png

due to budget, we will only do a simple reno and hopefully it will turn out to be a cozy dwelling for my old folks... :(

will upload more pre-reno pictures once i get them...

am getting the same contractor who did my house reno to do up this flat as well...so far quite happy with her services and quotes and she is able to value add...value for money...

:P looking forward to see the transformation...

welcome to renotalk

can't wait to see the transformation :(

care to share where exactly in central?

the kitchen looks a little small though.

welcome to renotalk

can't wait to see the transformation :good:

care to share where exactly in central?

the kitchen looks a little small though.

hello there

it's in Toa Payoh...yep, the kitchen is really small, so we will be hacking away the wall in between the living room and kitchen and replace with glass panels...

:dancingqueen: we want more light to shine in from the kitchen so hacking away the wall should help lor...

pre reno pictures:

view of main entrance from living room

dscn0915le2.th.jpg

small cement kitchen

dscn0919pp1.th.jpg

tiny toilet

dscn0922zf6.th.jpg

view of master bed room from living room

dscn0917ew6.th.jpg

the main wall of living room

dscn0918iq0.th.jpg

ahhhh, the main door colour is the same as my old place :jawdrop::fire:

more pix for me to :bangwall::jawdrop: k?

i love pix, before, during and after pix all makes me :fire: :fire:

sure man, twill share whenever the pics are there

progress so far for the last few days:

the hacking has completed and now doing plastering for the whole flat;

next week onwards will be doing the tiles for kitchen and living room and utility room;

hopefully will be doing the cement stove/sink support as well for next week...regretted not doing that for my own house, actually it can done quite nicely if the right tile is being chosen :dunno: and it is more hardy and durable than solid top with sink...

any way...time to move on...

actually, if you look at the dimensions, its not that small you know. The rooms are bigger than the new flats that we get now which is like 2.9 by 3m and some even smaller. Dont think your parents will cook heavy since i guess its now for 2 persons. Its kinda sweet in a way too, like their cosy retirement home. Its central, with many amenities around. And main point, smaller house less cleaning to do.

I wish you all the best. And I am quite amazed no one ask who is your ID? hahahahahah (Thats like the number one question on the hit list)

actually, if you look at the dimensions, its not that small you know. The rooms are bigger than the new flats that we get now which is like 2.9 by 3m and some even smaller. Dont think your parents will cook heavy since i guess its now for 2 persons. Its kinda sweet in a way too, like their cosy retirement home. Its central, with many amenities around. And main point, smaller house less cleaning to do.

I wish you all the best. And I am quite amazed no one ask who is your ID? hahahahahah (Thats like the number one question on the hit list)

hi junkay

thanks...being small has its advantage, at least my old folks do not have to clean too often...and considered the price we paid for this flat (we got it before the price of 3 room flats in TP hit real high with crazy cash above valuation), not much complaints la! :good:

yep, the bed rooms are indeed bigger and quite airy, so we learnt to count our blessings la :)

hehe, no big budget, so no ID, just a reliable contractor was all we can afford...she has done my own house, so i can trust her...though this job is small and i had budget constraint, she tried to meet my budget and needs...now really looking forward to see this flat done...btw, this flat was really raw, no floor tiles at all in the living and bedrooms, nor kitchen...the only tiles are found on the kitchen wall, the upgraded utility room floo and toilet's floor and wall...so we need some major overhaul in these areas.

Some updates on what I will be getting the contractor to do for the house...

DEMOLITION WORKS

1. HACK EXISTING HOLES ON EXISTING CEMENT **** ONLY

2. HACK EXISTING HOLES ON EXISTING CEMENT AT KITCHEN

3. HACK EXISTING WALL TILES AT KITCHEN

4. HACK EXISTING FLOOR TILES AT BATHROOM

5. HACK EXISTING WALL TILES AT BATHROOM

6. DISMANTLE EXISTING SANITARY WARES & ACCESSORIES FOR BATHROOM

7. DISMANTLE EXISTING KITCHEN CABINET, SINK&STOVE SUPPORT (IF ANY)

8. HACK EXISTING WALL BETWEEN LIVING & KITCHEN

9. DISMANTLE EXISTING 3 NOS OF DOOR FRAMES & 3 NOS OF DOORS

10. DISMANTLE EXISTING WINDOWS & GRILLES **** & CORRIDOR BEDROOM

11. TO DISPOSE OFF ALL DEBRIS AND TO HAULAGE GOODS

MASONRY WORKS

1. LAYING OF 600MMX600MM CHINA HOMOGENEOUS TILES C/W SKIRTING FOR LIVING ONLY

2. LAYING OF 300MMX300MM CHINA HOMOGENEOUS FLOOR TILES FOR KITCHEN & UTILITY ROOM C/W WATER PROOFING

3. LAYING OF FULL HEIGHT HOMOGENEOUS/CERAMIC WALL TILES ON EXPOSED WALLS OF KITCHEN

4. CONSTRUCT 50MM KITCHEN CABINET BASE, WASHING MACHINE BASE WITH MATCHING TILES & REFRIGERATOR BASE WITH MATCHING TILES

5. CONSTRUCT SINK & STOVE SUPPORT C/W HOMOGENEOUS TILES

6. LAYING OF HOMOGENEOUS FLOOR TILES FOR BATHROOM C/W WATERPROOFING

8. LAYING OF FULL HEIGHT HOMOGENEOUS/CERAMIC WALL TILES FOR BATHROOM

PLUMBING WORKS

1. REPLACE EXISTING PIPE TO NEW STAINLESS STEEL PIPE FOR KITCHEN & 1 BATHROOM

2. INSTALL KITCHEN SINK WITH INLET & OUTLET PIPE

3. INSTALL 1 NO. TOILET BOWL

4. INSTALL WASHING MACHINE INLET & OUTLET PIPE

5. INSTALL 01 NO. INSTANT HEATER

6. INSTALL WASH BASIN WITH TAP C/W INLET & OUTLET PIPE

7. INSTALL 01 NO.CHROME SPRAY

PAINTING WORKS

1. PAINTING OF ENTIRE HOUSE’S WALL & CEILING

2. PAINTING OF ALL EXPOSED PIPE, DOORS, DOOR FRAMES & MAIN GATE

ALUMINIUM WORKS

1. TO SUPPLY & INSTALL WROUGHT IRON GATE

2. TO SUPPLY & INSTALL BRONZE ALUMINIUM SLIDING WINDOW WITH TOP HUNG C/W GREEN COLOUR GLASS FOR LIVING HALL AND CORRIDOR BEDROOM

3. TO SUPPLY & INSTALL SINK & STOVE SUPPORT N.A. SWING DOOR C/W PVC PANEL

4. INSTALL SLIDING WINDOW GRILLS FOR LIVING HALL AND CORRDIOR BEDROOM

OTHER WORKS

1. ACID WASH FOR ENTIRE HOUSE

2. REPLACE EXISTING RUBBISH CHUTE

3. SUPPLY & INSTALL PVC FOLDING DOOR AT BATHROOM

4. TO SUPPLY & INSTALL 1 NO. 10MM THICK FIXED TEMPERED GLASS C/W 1 NO. TEMPERED GLASS SWING DOOR C/W HANDLES AT KITCHEN ENTRANCE

5. TO SUPPLY & INSTALL 3 SETS OF TIMBER DOOR FRAMES

6. TO SUPPLY & INSTALL 2 SETS OF CLASSIC DOOR C/W LOCKSETS & STOPPER FOR 2 BEDROOMS

7. TO SUPPLY & INSTALL 1 SET OF SOLID NYATOH DOOR C/W LOCKSETS & STOPPER FOR MAIN ENTRANCE

8. TO SMOOTHEN WALLS & CEILING BY PLASTERING

9. BOX UP CURRENT TOP GLASS PANEL ABOVE MAIN DOOR

ELECTRICAL WORKS

1A 1 MCB 32AMP BOX

1B 10 NOS LIGHTINGS & INSTALLATION OF LIGHT FITTINGS

1C 1 NO. SCV POINT

1D 1 NO. TEL POINT

1E 1ONOS 13 X 2 DOUBLE POINT

1F 05NOS. 13 X 1 SINGLE POINT

1G 01 NO. 15 X 1 AIR CON POINT

1H 01 NO. HEATER POINT

CARPENTRY WORKS

1. TO CONSTRUCT FULL HEIGHT STORAGE CABINET C/W LAMINATE FINISHED

Current quote is below $17200, within my budget :dribble:

wow that's a really reasonable budget for the amount of work done

esp when it's from someone whom you've had dealings with, at least you know the kind of quality :dribble::bow:

wow that's a really reasonable budget for the amount of work done

esp when it's from someone whom you've had dealings with, at least you know the kind of quality :bangwall::notti:

G'day applefreak

ya, it was a good quote cos i told her got budget constraint, so i am willing to settle for those tiles which is $2/psf.

she was quite nice and helped me to get those offer tiles which was previously costing above $2/psf and i managed to get something which we like, simple and nice. Of course, I must also cut down on carpentry cos that will cost a lot and also lower my expectations of build in stuffs, can't expect too much...must let my contractor earn a bit la :(

other than above, my laminate flooring for 2 bedrooms is direct contract from Power Dekor (support my bro-in-law's friend tho i know possible to get cheaper quotes for some other lower quality ones) :notti:

Overall, with aircon added in and purchase of kitchen and sanitary wares, so far I will be spending about $23k, excluding furnitures, electricial applicances and lightings which will also be getting bargain ones...

wow, reno is like bleeding blood.... :bangwall:

for a total revamp like yours, it's already very reasonable liao

i also spent a similar amt for my new flat, considering that the workmanship for laying tiles is 'free'

for bargain lightings, i'd suggest you try ikea or wait for the nan wah sale

got lights for my whole unit at a low price of <$400 at the nan wah sale

or check out the shop at blk 30 kelantan which MaCe got his lights from

electrical appliances can go for those display sets at harvey norman which usually comes with extended warranty

furniture-wise, depending on your requirements, there are quite a number of threads on where to get what :notti:

for a total revamp like yours, it's already very reasonable liao

i also spent a similar amt for my new flat, considering that the workmanship for laying tiles is 'free'

for bargain lightings, i'd suggest you try ikea or wait for the nan wah sale

got lights for my whole unit at a low price of <$400 at the nan wah sale

or check out the shop at blk 30 kelantan which MaCe got his lights from

electrical appliances can go for those display sets at harvey norman which usually comes with extended warranty

furniture-wise, depending on your requirements, there are quite a number of threads on where to get what :)

keke, great minds think alike, will be getting my lightings from ikea - getting those pendant lights, easy to change bulks for my parents cos dont need a ladder to climb up...

will be going harvery norman these few days...thanks for the tips, will check with the sale pp there on the display sets...for my own house, i got from those neighbourhood shops but actually it isn't cheaper by that much and need to pay in cash, was thinking I might as well buy from some bigger shops to get my points for credit cards this time, hehe, may be can get vouchers... :bow:

now head ache on furniture, thinking of getting those wardrobes and dining set from neighbourhood shops, saw a few not bad, so quality is not that bad after all...no point getthing from those high class ones cos my parents won't appreciate any way :) another place is v.hive, can pay via installment i think...quality ok, can tahan there is proper maintenance...

looking forward to my site survey tomorrow after work, hope can catch some time to take photos as well

no time to survey the house till today after work, make a quick check but since it was going to be night time soon, took only a few pics with my phone, think effect not that good :wub:

plastering has been completed for majority part of the house, will required some touch up here and there, electricial wiring has been done, wall tiles are also done for kitchen, workers will be speeding up to do the tiling work to complete before end of next week so that we can install the aircon next weekend.

some pics to share:

outside the flat, along the corridor, may want to use the remaining paint to make it cleaner as it is quite dirty..

dsc00210dh6.th.jpg

view from main entrance, wall bet kitchen and living room has been hacked, will be replaced by glass door and fixed glass panel, visually it should make the flat look longer and brighter...

dsc00211gp0.th.jpg

complete wall tiles for kitchen...simple shining white tiles with wavy curves on the tiles, can't really see from the pic tho

dsc00212ay5.th.jpg

dsc00213lj0.th.jpg

plastering completed for the master bed room but touch up will be required cos there are patches shown up on the wall, am checking with my contractor on what are those patches...

dsc00216tm9.th.jpg

that's all for today...

oh yes, went to order 2 wardrobes and 2 metal shelving for utility room from v hive today as well...within budget and like the designs, so ok lah, no complaints :wub: