gendon 0 Report post Posted October 8, 2007 ha ha... I know what you mean... there are two units in my block now doing hacking works... when I am on leave, it is a real headache... at the moment, it is better to be at work than to take leave and rest at home due to the noise.btw, which block you at?Me at Blk 299B (the unpopular block that the EAs suddenly sold like hotcakes).Today is Day 1 of hacking works for one of my other neighbour downstairs. And many more to go. Anyway, since the reno timings and days are abided so far, I'm ok with it. After all, it's inevitable that people will do hacking works mah. Aiyah...at least u can take leave or choose to go to work. I'm a homemaker lah. The next closest thing that I can do is to "escape" to my parent's place only when it's unbearable. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
GnM 0 Report post Posted October 8, 2007 Me at Blk 299B (the unpopular block that the EAs suddenly sold like hotcakes).Today is Day 1 of hacking works for one of my other neighbour downstairs. And many more to go. Anyway, since the reno timings and days are abided so far, I'm ok with it. After all, it's inevitable that people will do hacking works mah. Aiyah...at least u can take leave or choose to go to work. I'm a homemaker lah. The next closest thing that I can do is to "escape" to my parent's place only when it's unbearable. Home maker? Opps... I see the nick gendon, I assume you are a man wah... so shiok... homemaker. No need to rush to commute to work... schedule stuff at your own time... heh heh... even got schedule, also not as xiong as when working Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
gendon 0 Report post Posted October 8, 2007 Home maker? Opps... I see the nick gendon, I assume you are a man wah... so shiok... homemaker. No need to rush to commute to work... schedule stuff at your own time... heh heh... even got schedule, also not as xiong as when working I would say it's an own time own target lor. So far, been doing it since mid-2002 to date.Of course, being a homemaker (by my choice, btw) also has it's ups and downs lah. And it also depends on your own expectation.The downside, - u get lesser money for more work to be done- sometimes can feel as if you're on standby 24/7, working more than 16 hours a day.- When I get ill & visit doctor, doctor asked me if need MC or not, I will ask back if can submit MC to my hubby or not. And not guaranteed that I will get off from housework. - alot of people think that I'm free most of the time. Actually, homemakers also need proper schedule to keep their sanity.The upside,- can go to the banks any time during biz hours- no need to wait for weekends to go to the zoo, bookstores, sentosa, IKEA or shopping malls- noon time enjoy see other people rushing back to office, while u enjoy your kopi or tea for a longer time- drive during off-peak hours- use public transport during off-peak and mad hours, no need to squeeze with the crowds- and many many more !! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
GnM 0 Report post Posted October 8, 2007 I would say it's an own time own target lor. So far, been doing it since mid-2002 to date.Of course, being a homemaker (by my choice, btw) also has it's ups and downs lah. And it also depends on your own expectation.The downside, - u get lesser money for more work to be done- sometimes can feel as if you're on standby 24/7, working more than 16 hours a day.- When I get ill & visit doctor, doctor asked me if need MC or not, I will ask back if can submit MC to my hubby or not. And not guaranteed that I will get off from housework. - alot of people think that I'm free most of the time. Actually, homemakers also need proper schedule to keep their sanity.The upside,- can go to the banks any time during biz hours- no need to wait for weekends to go to the zoo, bookstores, sentosa, IKEA or shopping malls- noon time enjoy see other people rushing back to office, while u enjoy your kopi or tea for a longer time- drive during off-peak hours- use public transport during off-peak and mad hours, no need to squeeze with the crowds- and many many more !!there is always a upside and a downside to everything... heh heh...and yes... being a home maker does have her/his own schedule... but it is FLEXIBLE! that is what is most important to me. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Odielim 0 Report post Posted October 8, 2007 bluberi - what gathering??? GnM - yeah u seen avatar before also !! hee hee Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted October 8, 2007 odie, we are organising a gathering to visit fellow forummer's home... as for details, muz check with the organiser..applefreak, pls feed odie with the details. mi visited 2 coffeeshops at tongkang n renjong LRT there.. nothing much to eat leh. tried the other 2 coffee shops near coris also nothing much or not nice to eat. am simply sian at the food dat the coffee shops n foodcourt (compasspoint n rivervale mall) offers. missed the food at hougang where i used to stay.. lotsa yummy food, 24hrs also haf. tink i better brush up on my super lousy cooking skills or eat instant noodles. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zeny 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2007 din know SK pple so happening one Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahnah 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2007 odie, we are organising a gathering to visit fellow forummer's home... as for details, muz check with the organiser..applefreak, pls feed odie with the details. mi visited 2 coffeeshops at tongkang n renjong LRT there.. nothing much to eat leh. tried the other 2 coffee shops near coris also nothing much or not nice to eat. am simply sian at the food dat the coffee shops n foodcourt (compasspoint n rivervale mall) offers. missed the food at hougang where i used to stay.. lotsa yummy food, 24hrs also haf. tink i better brush up on my super lousy cooking skills or eat instant noodles.which part of hougang ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zeny 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2007 which part of hougang ?yah lor...which part of hougang has got 24hrs coffee shop ? blk 401 >? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahnah 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2007 yah lor...which part of hougang has got 24hrs coffee shop ? blk 401 >?Yah .. 1 part is Block 401 got 24 hour. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zeny 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2007 Yah .. 1 part is Block 401 got 24 hour.beside that one anymore ? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahnah 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2007 beside that one anymore ?got a few wet market. .Kovan, Hougangthen got HOugang Mall, Sport Stadium, Swimming Pool .. Kovan Heartland Mall.. got more coffee shop. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
zeny 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2007 got a few wet market. .Kovan, Hougangthen got HOugang Mall, Sport Stadium, Swimming Pool .. Kovan Heartland Mall.. got more coffee shop.hmmm........ yah lah ...hougang more developed than SK/ Punggol mah Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
bluberi 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2007 (edited) which part of hougang ?mi used to stay at ave 5.. juz ave 5 already haf 3 coffeeshops (1 below my blk). ave 7 market and hougang plaza are juz mins away. if hardworking abit, can walk to 24hrs KPT at blk401. or take bus or cab or upper serangoon rd for teochew porridge (24hrs), midnite curry rice, AMK bak chor mee or punggol nasi lemak. if my hubby haf nt insisted of buying a new flat, i would haf wanted a re-sale flat in hougang. those newer flats in hougang also over at buangkok, abit far. Edited October 9, 2007 by bluberi Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
ahnah 0 Report post Posted October 9, 2007 mi used to stay at ave 5.. juz ave 5 already haf 3 coffeeshops (1 below my blk). ave 7 market and hougang plaza are juz mins away. if hardworking abit, can walk to 24hrs KPT at blk401. or take bus or cab or upper serangoon rd for teochew porridge (24hrs), midnite curry rice, AMK bak chor mee or punggol nasi lemak. ave 5 ... the red brick that side ? There is 1 stall selling Hoteplace Chicken Chop $7.50 behind the Hougang Plaza right ... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites