karencQ

Parquet 'insects' ?

hi

i juz moved into my new place and discovered some ant like insects inside my parquet bedroom..

wonder anyone encounter this probelm??

how to solve this problem?

hi

i juz moved into my new place and discovered some ant like insects inside my parquet bedroom..

hope it's not termites - search google for termite.

you need to know what are they before buying the right chemicals to deal with them.

worst comes to worst , engage those pestkillers/pestbusters.

hi

Oops, should have check before moving in. Termites that looks like ants with wing

will fly and make new nest. Usually for small case, they do baiting.

That is, they sprinkle a kind of pink powder at the nest opening.

This termites will carry this powder to the queen and kill the entire colony.

Initial rentokil will charge like $100 to kill all the nest in the entire house.

oh no.. :dancingqueen:

these few days when i doing sweeping, always have these insects..

small, black and got a small pair of wings..

me and my hubby tried to find where they come from.. but cant find the source leh.. :sport-smiley-004:

jialat :dancingqueen:

i juz check google for termites pictures..

none looks like those in my house.. luckily..

but dunno wat are those insects liao.. btw, i only found them inside the parquet room leh

living room dun have..

oh no.. :dunno:

me and my hubby tried to find where they come from.. but cant find the source leh.. :unsure:

jialat :good:

but dunno wat are those insects liao.. btw, i only found them inside the parquet room leh

living room dun have..

better get the pros to handle - find under yellowpages and compare the prices.

oh no.. :good:

me and my hubby tried to find where they come from.. but cant find the source leh.. :good:

jialat :(

living room dun have..

probably termites (does wings fall off easily? Two distinct body parts? (Ants have three distinct body parts))...if these have wings, means they either:

(1) flew in from outside (usually after a very heavy rain in the evening)

(2) the nest is inside your house (these are emerging 'reproductives' leaving a nest)

Anyway, if it is (1), act fast to get rid of these 'reproductives' (i.e. potential queens and kings) as you only need 1 pair of male and female to create a new colony. Check if your parquet is treated with anti-termite chemical?

Don't panic; call the pestbusters. !!

I have those too. But mine is laminated flooring on a platform. I too freaked out when I saw them, but as termites go, they are called white ants and yes with two distinct body parts. They dont look like termites to me. Did you eat something and drop bits onto the floor?Try getting a termite bait first. If not then try ant bait.

I just moved in to our new flat which has parquet flooring. This flat has been built for more than 3 years and we are the new occupants in this house. We noticed little black particles on the floor every 2-3 days after we clean up the place and we notice black ants moving around esp. in this room. We called HDB to check whether there was a nest in this room. HDB came and remove the parquet skirting at the side of the wall. True enough, there were 2 camps of ant nests in one of our rooms! Baygone was quickly sprayed at the infested areas. The nests were removed and from that day onwards, we rarely see any ants in our house.

Our contractor told us that if there are black ants, you will not see termites. They are enemies. The black ants will eat the termites. Not too sure myself. U can do some research on this.

We have to careful when using parquet flooring as it requires maintenance. It looks good but maintenance is key to ensure that we have a comfortable and clean environment to live in.

Just a slice of our experience with parquet and ants.

I just moved in to our new flat which has parquet flooring. This flat has been built for more than 3 years and we are the new occupants in this house. We noticed little black particles on the floor every 2-3 days after we clean up the place and we notice black ants moving around esp. in this room. We called HDB to check whether there was a nest in this room. HDB came and remove the parquet skirting at the side of the wall. True enough, there were 2 camps of ant nests in one of our rooms! Baygone was quickly sprayed at the infested areas. The nests were removed and from that day onwards, we rarely see any ants in our house.

Our contractor told us that if there are black ants, you will not see termites. They are enemies. The black ants will eat the termites. Not too sure myself. U can do some research on this.

We have to careful when using parquet flooring as it requires maintenance. It looks good but maintenance is key to ensure that we have a comfortable and clean environment to live in.

Just a slice of our experience with parquet and ants.

hey deeloh3

i think my case same as urs, jus tat i cant confirm wat insects is tat

till now i haben call anyone down to solve the problem

my hubby paste masking tape on all the skirting and even on the 'air con box' on the wall

very ugly loh

hahaha