armani

Ceiling Fan Height

Hi all, just wanna hear some comments and experience on ceiling fan.

I went to a shop at balestier and asked the shop owner whether 2.6 m is too low for 5blades ceiling fan.

Then he said it's better to get 3blades ceiling fan becoz they are generally higher compared to 5blades becoz they don't have a long holder.

I'm wondering if what he said was true becoz i've seen so many hses with 5blades ceiling fan.

Ans note that my flooring is not done yet and it's already 2.6m from ceiling to floor.

hmm, general rule of thumb is distance between highest point and floor not less than 2.4m

do you have over active toddler at home?

if yes, then ceiling fan may not be a good choice

otherwise, those standard 4" stub should be good enough for you

my floor to ceiling is 2.62m coz dun have false ceiling or anything,

and i have 3 five blade ceiling fans at home

so far so good, me using all wooden blades :P

hmm, general rule of thumb is distance between highest point and floor not less than 2.4m

do you have over active toddler at home?

if yes, then ceiling fan may not be a good choice

otherwise, those standard 4" stub should be good enough for you

my floor to ceiling is 2.62m coz dun have false ceiling or anything,

and i have 3 five blade ceiling fans at home

so far so good, me using all wooden blades :yamseng:

mmm... ok.

but i'm thinking of getting those fan with lights.

from wat i know, the lights will lower the fan a little bit more.

i do hv L-boxes but won't be fixing the fan on the L-box. it'll be fixed on the ceiling

think lights will have no impact whatsoever

the worry is injuries caused by the blade

this is my fan with lights at dining area

IMG_1767.jpg

wow... ur fan with lights is so nice.

what brand is it and the model number

how much does it cost and from which shop.

i really liked it alot

hehehe, it's fanco 48"

uncle refused to tell me model, he just say warranty card put this can liao

think all are 48" but you get to choose colour of blade, colour of fan motor and light kit e.g. one light - four lights and the light cover

got it for $200 without installation, installation is another $45

hehehe, it's fanco 48"

uncle refused to tell me model, he just say warranty card put this can liao

think all are 48" but you get to choose colour of blade, colour of fan motor and light kit e.g. one light - four lights and the light cover

got it for $200 without installation, installation is another $45

reasonable price. but u haven tell mi from which shop

Hi all, just wanna hear some comments and experience on ceiling fan.

I went to a shop at balestier and asked the shop owner whether 2.6 m is too low for 5blades ceiling fan.

Then he said it's better to get 3blades ceiling fan becoz they are generally higher compared to 5blades becoz they don't have a long holder.

I'm wondering if what he said was true becoz i've seen so many hses with 5blades ceiling fan.

Ans note that my flooring is not done yet and it's already 2.6m from ceiling to floor.

aiyoh... your floor to ceiling is 2.6 meter = 8 feet 8 inches liow

my floor after laying the tiles is only 8 feet 4 inches... and I have a celing fan in every room (cept for the toilets, store and kitchen). You got additional 4 inches leh... No worries as long as the fan is installed on the ceiling itself and not on some lowered false ceiling.

I can only touch the blade when I tip toe and only the tips of my fingers can touch the blade.

If you dun throw your baby in the air when playing with him/her, there is no issue!

The only thing you need to be mindful when you install the ceiling fan in the bed room is the height of your bed.

If the bed is really high, then you have to be mindful if you have a kid who likes to jump on the bed.

thanks all for all the valuable inputs. :notti: guess i can now go shopping for my fans. wat's the rough price guide for the fans including installation

ceiling fan prices differs a lot depending on

1. where you buy them

2. what brand you want

3. the design you fancy

saw a fellow forummer who paid close to $1k for a fan

bcoz he really liked the design

my fans are all fanco and i paid

1. $170 for 60" without lights and $40 installation, total $210

2. $200 for 48" with light kit and $45 installation, total $245

3. $260 for 52" with light + remote and $40 installation, total $300

ceiling fan prices differs a lot depending on

1. where you buy them

2. what brand you want

3. the design you fancy

saw a fellow forummer who paid close to $1k for a fan

bcoz he really liked the design

my fans are all fanco and i paid

1. $170 for 60" without lights and $40 installation, total $210

2. $200 for 48" with light kit and $45 installation, total $245

3. $260 for 52" with light + remote and $40 installation, total $300

mmm... ok. thanks for the valuable inputs. shall be hunting for my ceiling fan after my reon is almost done.