ilys 0 Report post Posted September 19, 2007 hi, if i m going to mount tv on a feature wallwat are the cables that i should be getting ..1) hdmi2) component how many should be sufficient for future expansion or a Home theatre system? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
MaCe 3 Report post Posted September 19, 2007 hi, if i m going to mount tv on a feature wallwat are the cables that i should be getting ..1) hdmi2) component how many should be sufficient for future expansion or a Home theatre system?depends on what type of connectors(interface) are avaliable on the AV equipement that you are buying. apart from the usual ones like tv, video..etc Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
deepakvali 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2007 typically 2 to 3 HDMI inputs on ur TV should be sufficient. 1 HDMI from DVD player, 1 HDMI from Playstation or XBox and 1 HDMI from Starhub (future proof).best to use HDMI as opposed to Component for DVD as upscaling to 1080i or 720P is via HDMI outputs on ur DVD to LCD/Plasma. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lifestyle 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2007 Agree with deepakvali. Best is to connect all your input to nice AVR (like latest range of Onkyo or Denon) and output the HDMI cable from the AVR to your TV HDMI input. I believe most TV only have 1 or 2 HDMI input on the TV.You can always run a spare HDMI or component cables to your TV for future use. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2007 Best is to connect all your input to nice AVR (like latest range of Onkyo or Denon) and output the HDMI cable from the AVR to your TV HDMI input.Any particular model to recommend?What is the price range like? Will $500 be able to get me a reasonable set.Me not very into such hi-tech things, just reasonable can liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
lifestyle 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2007 Sorry not research into your price range. As was researching into newest model with hdmi 1.3. Onkyo 805 (S$1500), Onkyo 875 (S$2050) and Onkyo 905 (S$2999). Denon 3808 (around $2K).But you can look at Marantz 5001 or 6001 or Denon 2307 (i think around $700-800).Any particular model to recommend?What is the price range like? Will $500 be able to get me a reasonable set.Me not very into such hi-tech things, just reasonable can liao. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted September 20, 2007 Sorry not research into your price range. As was researching into newest model with hdmi 1.3. Onkyo 805 (S$1500), Onkyo 875 (S$2050) and Onkyo 905 (S$2999). Denon 3808 (around $2K).But you can look at Marantz 5001 or 6001 or Denon 2307 (i think around $700-800).Looks like a reasonable set will cost btw $700 - $1K. Tks! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
deepakvali 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2007 getting an AVR or Pre/Power setup is ideal but if you are unable to decipher the difference between a HTiB/AVR and Pre/Power setup, go for the cheapest : ) makin a purchase of a AVR for the sole purpose of using it as an HDMI splitter per se is overkill : ) Get a HDMI switch box if you really require more HDMI inputs but for most families, I believe 2 to 3 is maximum of all they need Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
TYM 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2007 getting an AVR or Pre/Power setup is ideal but if you are unable to decipher the difference between a HTiB/AVR and Pre/Power setup, go for the cheapest : ) makin a purchase of a AVR for the sole purpose of using it as an HDMI splitter per se is overkill : ) Get a HDMI switch box if you really require more HDMI inputs but for most families, I believe 2 to 3 is maximum of all they needWah, I really dun know how to differentiate. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
deepakvali 0 Report post Posted September 21, 2007 Wah, I really dun know how to differentiate.actually that is good because if you are able to pick up the differences, then it becomes a bottomless pit Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
cookie95 0 Report post Posted October 1, 2007 Hi I am looking for custom length HDMI, about 6 to 7m. Anyone know where I can get for a reasonable price? Thanks. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Light 0 Report post Posted October 1, 2007 Hi I am looking for custom length HDMI, about 6 to 7m. Anyone know where I can get for a reasonable price? Thanks.Go to Sim LIm Tower Basement 1, #B1-27, I think. Cannot remember the name of the shop, but they have various HDMI cables of various lengths hanging from a rack. I find that they are generally good value for money. I bought a 12m one for about $65 only.Alternatively, you may want to check out [url="http://www.monoprice.com"]http://www.monoprice.com[/url] . They offer many types audio/video cables and other types of accessories as well as HDMI switches. Btw, you might want to check if the cable is compatible with HDMI 1.3 so as to future proof your set up. hi, if i m going to mount tv on a feature wallwat are the cables that i should be getting ..1) hdmi2) component how many should be sufficient for future expansion or a Home theatre system?That will depend on what kind of equipment you are using...care to share your set up? Generally speaking, if you don't have any pre-exisitng equipment and are buying new stuff, these days almost everything is HD ready and that means you need a HDMI cable to take advantage of that. As for how many, that will depend on the number of devices you have. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
tingshen 0 Report post Posted October 1, 2007 HDMI is meant for combined Video and Sound lah.Component has no problem supporting up to 1080p, provided you get a good quality one.thinking of selling mine, coz I seldom use it Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
niwdehos 0 Report post Posted October 31, 2007 If you're not too fussy, get a entry level AVR (a new model without HD you can budget around $400+/-)Assuming you're on HD TV and HD DVD player, hook up your dvd player to the tv directly for HD picture while connect your dvd player to the AVR for sound. HDMI cable to TV and maybe coaxial/optical to AVR. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
wensi 0 Report post Posted November 1, 2007 Hi,I'm a 'cables' idiot too.. I have a Bose music system (not home theatre but sound output is link to TV/DVD), DVD recorder, starhub cable box & X-box.Questions:1. How would I know if my DVD recorder can use a HDMI cable?? Think mine is not HD DVD.. 2. Thinking of buying a TV now, do I hv to go for the true HD or HD ready is good enough? Prices can be of $2k difference.. I don't watch movie at home, so not really into 'quality'.. But afraid that will HD Ready TV be obsolute soon?? (for ref, need a minimum 42'' tv, thinking of 46'')3. If I buy a HD Ready TV, and they're giving a HD box free, then will my TV becomes a True HD TV and able to receive HD program?4. Base on my above-listed equipments, how many HDMI point/cables i need?? - must take note when i shop for new TV...Pardon for some dumb dumb questions.. hope to hear replies.. tks in advance! Share this post Link to post Share on other sites