kajua

Budget For A 5i @ 122sqm

Reno newbie here . Was wondering what would be a realistic estimate for reno for a 5I resale flat?

Hack all the floor (3 bedrooms, 1 study, 1 balcony, kitchen 2 toilet)

Do up 2 toilet (inclde water proofing)

Do up kitchen with cabinet (include water proofing)

Tile the balcony (include water proofing)

Tile living room and dining room (ceramic or homogenous . which one cheaper ah? or better?)

Paint whole house

Rewiring

Bedrooms and Study room tile or laminate ( ceramic, homogenous, laminate which better or cheaper)

Lighting

Wardrobe in MBR

Optional

Change 3 bedroom, kitchen , study window and grille to casement (can change window only? cause the grill looks ok)

Hack 1 wall

Think I can get away with a 20k Budget for just these?

All approx figures...

Reno newbie here . Was wondering what would be a realistic estimate for reno for a 5I resale flat?

Hack all the floor (3 bedrooms, 1 study, 1 balcony, kitchen 2 toilet) Hacking & Haulage, Chemical wash etc $3K

Do up 2 toilet (inclde water proofing) $5K

Do up kitchen with cabinet (include water proofing) $7K

Tile the balcony (include water proofing) $500-600

Tile living room and dining room (ceramic or homogenous . which one cheaper ah? or better?) $2K

Paint whole house $1.3K

Rewiring $3K

Bedrooms and Study room tile or laminate ( ceramic, homogenous, laminate which better or cheaper) Cheapest will be laminate for cosy/warm feel & look. Homo tiles for cooling feet $1.5K to $3K

Lighting $1K

Wardrobe in MBR Size? Approx $2K for 8 feet sliding

Optional

Change 3 bedroom, kitchen , study window and grille to casement (can change window only? cause the grill looks ok) Depends on window size & panes. Our WPC windows with blue tint cost us $2.4K

Hack 1 wall $150-250

Think I can get away with a 20k Budget for just these? $28K-30K would be more realistic.

Edited by cornetto

Juz wana ride on ur thread... cos same type of flat - 5Isqm with same budget, 20K

HACKING / DEMOLITION WORKS

To hack existing floor tiles at kitchen & 2 bathrooms.

To demolish existing sink support at kitchen.

To dismantle existing water pipes, sink, heaters, toilet bowls & wash basins.

Haulage. ( loading of goods & materials )

To supply 1 no. of skip tank container to collect debris.

To clear & disposal of debris to MOE dump site.

To supply plaster sand for cement screed.

MASONARY WORKS

Supply and lay cement screeding for kitchen and 2 nos of toilet wall

Supply and lay cement screeding for kitchen and 2 nos of toilet floor

Supply and construct 1 nos of concrete cabinet base c/w side tiling works

Supply & lay HDB approved 3 in 1 water proof screed with K11 water proofing membrane at kitchen & 2 bathrooms floor.

Supply & lay 300 by 300mm, non-slip, homogeneous floor tiles at kitchen & 2 bathroom

Raise up 50mm fridge & washing machine base with tiles finish at kitchen.

Supply & lay 1 piece of tile of door kerb at main entrance.

Hack/dismantle existing alum sliding door at balcony

Supply & install simple cornices for living, dining room

Supply and lay homogenous floor tiles at balcony

Supply labour to make good at wall after dismantle sliding door at balcony

Supply and install stainless steel flat rubbish chute at kitchen

PLUMBING

Supply & install stainless steel pipes for whole unit. ( cold points )

Supply & install 2 nos. of hot/cold points for shower.

Supply & install inlet/outlet pipes for sink, washing machine & wash basins.

Provide labour to install 1 no. of sink at kitchen.

Provide labour to install 1 no. of storage heater at bathroom.

Provide labour to install 2 nos. of wash basins at bathroom.

Provide labour to install 2 nos. of sitting toilet bowls at bathroom.

Provide labour to install accessories at 2 bathrooms.

DOORS / GATES / WINDOWS / GRILLES

Supply & install designed, wrought iron gate at main entrance.

Supply & install solid door (main)

Supply & install 3 classic doors (3 bedrooms)

Supply & install 1 set of sliding aluminium door at kitchen

Supply & install 2 sets of wire glass, adjustable louver windows at bathroom.

Supply & install aluminum bi-fold doors for 2 toilets

Supply & install 1 set of stainless steel, flat, auto lock, rubbish chute hopper at kitchen

Supply and install Sliver alum grill for whole house

Supply and install sliver alum frames c/w tinted glass sliding window at balcony only

Supply & install 1 set of aluminium clothes hanger at kitchen.

CARPENTRY WORKS

To fabricate laminates approx 26ft solid ply kitchen cabinet c/w laminated

casement door with ABS trimming,stainless steel handles,2nos.of frosted

glass and 1nos.of 2 tier stainless steel diskrack with drip tray

Supply and install approx 12ft solid surface work top at kitchen

Master bedroom (bathroom)

Fabricate solid ply-wood with laminate, suspened low cabinet.

Supply & install 2 feets, solid surface work top for suspended low cabinet.

MISCELLANEOUS

HDB permit submission.

Chemical washing for whole unit. ( Include washing of windows )

Supply & lay currogated paper roll to protect flooring.

Supply & install 3 nos. of stainless steel floor traps.

Can it be done with 20K?

Juz wana ride on ur thread... cos same type of flat - 5Isqm with same budget, 20K

HACKING / DEMOLITION WORKS

To hack existing floor tiles at kitchen & 2 bathrooms.

To demolish existing sink support at kitchen.

To dismantle existing water pipes, sink, heaters, toilet bowls & wash basins.

Haulage. ( loading of goods & materials )

To supply 1 no. of skip tank container to collect debris.

To clear & disposal of debris to MOE dump site.

To supply plaster sand for cement screed.

MASONARY WORKS

Supply and lay cement screeding for kitchen and 2 nos of toilet wall

Supply and lay cement screeding for kitchen and 2 nos of toilet floor

Supply and construct 1 nos of concrete cabinet base c/w side tiling works

Supply & lay HDB approved 3 in 1 water proof screed with K11 water proofing membrane at kitchen & 2 bathrooms floor.

Supply & lay 300 by 300mm, non-slip, homogeneous floor tiles at kitchen & 2 bathroom

Raise up 50mm fridge & washing machine base with tiles finish at kitchen.

Supply & lay 1 piece of tile of door kerb at main entrance.

Hack/dismantle existing alum sliding door at balcony

Supply & install simple cornices for living, dining room

Supply and lay homogenous floor tiles at balcony

Supply labour to make good at wall after dismantle sliding door at balcony

Supply and install stainless steel flat rubbish chute at kitchen

PLUMBING

Supply & install stainless steel pipes for whole unit. ( cold points )

Supply & install 2 nos. of hot/cold points for shower.

Supply & install inlet/outlet pipes for sink, washing machine & wash basins.

Provide labour to install 1 no. of sink at kitchen.

Provide labour to install 1 no. of storage heater at bathroom.

Provide labour to install 2 nos. of wash basins at bathroom.

Provide labour to install 2 nos. of sitting toilet bowls at bathroom.

Provide labour to install accessories at 2 bathrooms.

DOORS / GATES / WINDOWS / GRILLES

Supply & install designed, wrought iron gate at main entrance.

Supply & install solid door (main)

Supply & install 3 classic doors (3 bedrooms)

Supply & install 1 set of sliding aluminium door at kitchen

Supply & install 2 sets of wire glass, adjustable louver windows at bathroom.

Supply & install aluminum bi-fold doors for 2 toilets

Supply & install 1 set of stainless steel, flat, auto lock, rubbish chute hopper at kitchen

Supply and install Sliver alum grill for whole house

Supply and install sliver alum frames c/w tinted glass sliding window at balcony only

Supply & install 1 set of aluminium clothes hanger at kitchen.

CARPENTRY WORKS

To fabricate laminates approx 26ft solid ply kitchen cabinet c/w laminated

casement door with ABS trimming,stainless steel handles,2nos.of frosted

glass and 1nos.of 2 tier stainless steel diskrack with drip tray

Supply and install approx 12ft solid surface work top at kitchen

Master bedroom (bathroom)

Fabricate solid ply-wood with laminate, suspened low cabinet.

Supply & install 2 feets, solid surface work top for suspended low cabinet.

MISCELLANEOUS

HDB permit submission.

Chemical washing for whole unit. ( Include washing of windows )

Supply & lay currogated paper roll to protect flooring.

Supply & install 3 nos. of stainless steel floor traps.

Can it be done with 20K?

Just an estimation... should be ard $20K

Hacking/haulage $2K

Kitchen & 2 toilets $12K

Flooring (Balcony only) + Make good $1K

Simple Cornices (Aim for FOC for whole unit)

Solid Door & 3 classic doors $1K

Window grilles & window $2K

Carpentry $2K

Just wondering... no painting, rewiring, wardrobes?

Edited by cornetto

Painting - DIY

Wardrobes - buy ready made

Re-wiring - means change all the wires? If i'm ok with all the lighting & socket points, juz wana add some only, no need re-wiring?

Painting - DIY

Wardrobes - buy ready made

Re-wiring - means change all the wires? If i'm ok with all the lighting & socket points, juz wana add some only, no need re-wiring?

painting - nipponpaint package 1k+

wardrobes - less than 1k for readymade

re-wiring - if existing wires more than or close to 20 yrs then rewiring them.

Initially also budget 25K for Resale 5 rm.

End up 32K to re-do the whole house. Look like 30K is more realistic

Hi smallfish, what were the items you did for your house? Do you still have your quotation ? Can I take a look?

What I wanna do is just replace the current stuff with new ones thats all lor. No design no feature wall, no false ceiling, no L box, no cornice. Minimum carpentry just 1 wardrobe and kitchen cabinet

Basically just do

Hack old tiles and install homogenous tiles flooring for 3 bedrooms, 1 study, kitchen, 2 toilets, balcony, living, dining room

Hack and replace wall tiles for kitchen, toilets

Water proofing of toilets, balcony and kitchen

Change all piping

Kitchen cabinet

Do up 2 toilets

Change window+grill

Rewiring of whole house

Painting

MBR Wardrobe

Hi smallfish, what were the items you did for your house? Do you still have your quotation ? Can I take a look?

What I wanna do is just replace the current stuff with new ones thats all lor. No design no feature wall, no false ceiling, no L box, no cornice. Minimum carpentry just 1 wardrobe and kitchen cabinet

Basically just do

Hack old tiles and install homogenous tiles flooring for 3 bedrooms, 1 study, kitchen, 2 toilets, balcony, living, dining room

Hack and replace wall tiles for kitchen, toilets

Water proofing of toilets, balcony and kitchen

Change all piping

Kitchen cabinet

Do up 2 toilets

Change window+grill

Rewiring of whole house

Painting

MBR Wardrobe

Send me your e-mail and will send to you

Just an update on my hunt...Frustrating reno contractor hunting as it is . I ask for quotes from the 7 on silver88 list and told them what i want with budget of about 25k , not much design not much carpentry just hack and replace basically. Was expecting them to quote so I can adjust my budget

Kelvin from GPlan said for a floor area of 122 they consider it as an EA and not 5RM and says at least 60K. I told him, okay budget aside give me a quote, so I can revise my budget. He keeps talking, says dont wanna quote then I later say I already said budget 25k then he quote more i use that as excuse to reject him. Says tiles can get cheap one but later if warp i blame them..etc etc...i just said okay just quote me...but just simply refuse to quote, told me about how he is a blunt and direct person, from forum I would know that and 25k too low and so on...I get the impression unless i agree to at least 60k budget he wont even quote, but thats just the impression i got....so I gave up on GPlan.

Frankie from Earnest , says he cant do it for less the 40k thank you for my interest in Earnest. So now asking him his estimation for my work. Hopefully he replies. Benedict says he is not taking on anymore project, as my project starts next March, he says he doesnt even know if he will still be with them by then.

I checked Ideal house website they have a package that has almost all I want but for sizes <121 sqm (mine 1 sqm more dont know can or not) and they throw in a an aircon and kitchen cabinet. The package cost was 15-16K

Baroque website also has a package more expensive but 21-22K. So I thought my 25k estimation was okay....since from this thread i get the impression 25-35 should be able to do it

Have prices gone up for reno? I know sand and stuff prices went up but went up that much?

Hopefully I can hear some good news from the other ID soon

Sibei sianzzzz

Just an update on my hunt...Frustrating reno contractor hunting as it is . I ask for quotes from the 7 on silver88 list and told them what i want with budget of about 25k , not much design not much carpentry just hack and replace basically. Was expecting them to quote so I can adjust my budget

a floor area of 122 they consider it as an EA and not 5RM and says at least 60K.

Have prices gone up for reno? I know sand and stuff prices went up but went up that much?

Sibei sianzzzz

don't despair!! actually do you need an ID since it's hack and replace? why pay for jacked-up ID prices if you're not into much design? get a main con with his team of subcons or if you have time, can take up the challenge be your own contractor! but that is only if you really have the time to coordinate and oversee your whole reno process and be there on-site daily. if you need someone to run the show for you, i guess you gotta pay them for it.

my place 5-I 128sqm and i also kena one subcon who can tell me it is a 6-room flat! :lol: first time i hear got 6-room flat built by HDB! they can say everything and anything when they want to charge you more lah. :lol:

to date my reno plus all the aircon, electricals, carpentry, flooring is hitting $50K. so your budget of $25K will definitely be climbing upwards!! be prepared! :lol:

don't despair!! actually do you need an ID since it's hack and replace? why pay for jacked-up ID prices if you're not into much design? get a main con with his team of subcons or if you have time, can take up the challenge be your own contractor! but that is only if you really have the time to coordinate and oversee your whole reno process and be there on-site daily. if you need someone to run the show for you, i guess you gotta pay them for it.

my place 5-I 128sqm and i also kena one subcon who can tell me it is a 6-room flat! :) first time i hear got 6-room flat built by HDB! they can say everything and anything when they want to charge you more lah. :jawdrop:

to date my reno plus all the aircon, electricals, carpentry, flooring is hitting $50K. so your budget of $25K will definitely be climbing upwards!! be prepared! :lol:

Thanks for the encouragement... :lol::wub:

Whoa 50K?!?!?!? What did you do for your reno?!?!

Yeah contractors are the ones I will try next. Its just that from feedback on the forum and the packages I see on some website and i went to some reno shops and just ask, i thought 25k was okay if a bit low . I was quite okay with increasing my budget. Thats why I wanna try ID as I dont have the time to coordinate and oversee myself

Anyway today just got a quote from IntraDesign. Total quote was 46k but there were some additional items that I didnt want (false ceiling, feature wall, study desk, additional carpentry), so I guess I can reduce the amount. Thats not too bad

Oh well the hunt continues :lol:

Thanks for the encouragement... :dancingqueen::ph34r:

Whoa 50K?!?!?!? What did you do for your reno?!?!

Yeah contractors are the ones I will try next. Its just that from feedback on the forum and the packages I see on some website and i went to some reno shops and just ask, i thought 25k was okay if a bit low . I was quite okay with increasing my budget. Thats why I wanna try ID as I dont have the time to coordinate and oversee myself

Anyway today just got a quote from IntraDesign. Total quote was 46k but there were some additional items that I didnt want (false ceiling, feature wall, study desk, additional carpentry), so I guess I can reduce the amount. Thats not too bad

Oh well the hunt continues :sport-smiley-018:

hi

PM you already. I think realistic should be about 28 to 32k. Good luckz!

Kelvin from GPlan said for a floor area of 122 they consider it as an EA and not 5RM and says at least 60K. I told him, okay budget aside give me a quote, so I can revise my budget. He keeps talking, says dont wanna quote then I later say I already said budget 25k then he quote more i use that as excuse to reject him. Says tiles can get cheap one but later if warp i blame them..etc etc...i just said okay just quote me...but just simply refuse to quote, told me about how he is a blunt and direct person, from forum I would know that and 25k too low and so on...I get the impression unless i agree to at least 60k budget he wont even quote, but thats just the impression i got....so I gave up on GPlan.

Frankie from Earnest , says he cant do it for less the 40k thank you for my interest in Earnest. So now asking him his estimation for my work. Hopefully he replies. Benedict says he is not taking on anymore project, as my project starts next March, he says he doesnt even know if he will still be with them by then.

I checked Ideal house website they have a package that has almost all I want but for sizes <121 sqm (mine 1 sqm more dont know can or not) and they throw in a an aircon and kitchen cabinet. The package cost was 15-16K

Baroque website also has a package more expensive but 21-22K. So I thought my 25k estimation was okay....since from this thread i get the impression 25-35 should be able to do it

Sibei sianzzzz

welcome to the real world. Most IDs are like that, they look at your budget first. when they realise you got a small budget, they got no time.

many pple did their houses for around $20k, my EM 146sqm 20k exact, why cant you?

look for a contractor instead.

most pple(youngsters) spend 40-60k on reno without thinking of the future, for the sake of just ONE time HAOLIANING to their friends during housewarming. Any amount spent on reno is as good as burying your money. - doesnt apply to those who pay with hard cash but certainly to those who go on loan(future money).