applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 18, 2007 think not so easy to scratch granite bahand i can accept the scratches after a few years of wear and tear Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redbottle 0 Report post Posted September 18, 2007 hmm, if countertop use tiles then got to worry about the grout lines bahgranite got one joint line already not so nice liaoif use tiles means every 2ft got one line, lagi not swee liao and tiles will scratch quite easily too yes warrior, my furries already explore the kitchen countertop liaojust hope they dun sleep in the sink i think there are now 1000 x 1000 or 1200 by 1200 homo tiles... saw them at hafary... homo tiles not so easily scratched bah... at least it is more scratch resistant than solid surface... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 18, 2007 but hor, doesn't make sense to pay for that kind of sizethen got to cut coz counter only 600 wide still dun know yet but dun really dare to try on my flr tilesthough i've tried my countertop and relatively scratch resistant Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
raincole 0 Report post Posted September 18, 2007 no lar, not in those size. Last time went lookin but dun have.But homo got those slab (like the granite slab), which are meant to be used as countertop (popular as vanity top). Kitchen top, not sure. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redbottle 0 Report post Posted September 19, 2007 no lar, not in those size. Last time went lookin but dun have.But homo got those slab (like the granite slab), which are meant to be used as countertop (popular as vanity top). Kitchen top, not sure.yupz, hafary has the very big tiles, saw them when i went to their defu showroom abt two months ago... but not sure whether 1000 x 1000 or 1200 x 1200... if 1200 x 1200, can cut into half and maybe use both halves?? cos counter top is 600 mm deep... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
applefreak 1 Report post Posted September 19, 2007 but you got to factor in the thickness coz homo usually not very thickand if cut into half maybe not so nice edge? not too sure if you can 'bullnose' a homo tilemaybe you want to check out quartz countertops which i did considerbrands like stiles are available in singaporeit's like solid surface except it's pretty scratch and heat resistant Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
h4happy 1 Report post Posted September 19, 2007 yupz, hafary has the very big tiles, saw them when i went to their defu showroom abt two months ago... but not sure whether 1000 x 1000 or 1200 x 1200... if 1200 x 1200, can cut into half and maybe use both halves?? cos counter top is 600 mm deep...Hi REDDeful laneL how to go there? By public transport.Over there is there any granite, marble and compress stone available for viewing?? Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Relacker 1 Report post Posted September 19, 2007 hmm, if countertop use tiles then got to worry about the grout lines bahgranite got one joint line already not so nice liaoif use tiles means every 2ft got one line, lagi not swee liao and tiles will scratch quite easily too yes warrior, my furries already explore the kitchen countertop liaojust hope they dun sleep in the sink if u dun like grout line then willhave to look for alternative like granite, marble or solid surfaceSo here's my old fashion tiled kitchen top with my granite sink.Front edge of the kitchen top is dark colour to blend with the lower kitchen cabinet doors.Basically HomoG tiles,on concrete structure, the lines seen are common to like any tiles on floor or wall.Actually for me, the lines are not eye sore, looks natural for tiles For the rest of the top away from the oily and wet area, we use postform. but the colour of the postforma and the tiles have to be match properly. Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redbottle 0 Report post Posted September 19, 2007 Hi REDDeful laneL how to go there? By public transport.Over there is there any granite, marble and compress stone available for viewing??i went there with the HBAY tour... not sure how to go there by public transport...also dun know whether got granite etc or not cos only concentrated on homo and ceramic tiles... Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
redbottle 0 Report post Posted September 19, 2007 (edited) if u dun like grout line then willhave to look for alternative like granite, marble or solid surfaceSo here's my old fashion tiled kitchen top with my granite sink.Front edge of the kitchen top is dark colour to blend with the lower kitchen cabinet doors.Basically HomoG tiles,on concrete structure, the lines seen are common to like any tiles on floor or wall.Actually for me, the lines are not eye sore, looks natural for tiles For the rest of the top away from the oily and wet area, we use postform. but the colour of the postforma and the tiles have to be match properly.hi relacker,ur countertop using 300 x 300 or 600 x 600 tiles??i spoke with an ID... he mentioned not advisable to use 600 x 600 homo tiles becos higher tendency for hollowness of tiles to occur... better to use 300 x 300 tiles, more grout lines, but more reliable...i also intend to have one part of countertop in tiles, and another part away from water to use another material, prolly solid surface... but dun know whether will turn out aweful or not... color and pattern matching between the two surfaces will be v important... Edited September 19, 2007 by redbottle Share this post Link to post Share on other sites
Relacker 1 Report post Posted September 19, 2007 hi relacker,ur countertop using 300 x 300 or 600 x 600 tiles??i spoke with an ID... he mentioned not advisable to use 600 x 600 homo tiles becos higher tendency for hollowness of tiles to occur... better to use 300 x 300 tiles, more grout lines, but more reliable...i also intend to have one part of countertop in tiles, and another part away from water to use another material, prolly solid surface... but dun know whether will turn out aweful or not... color and pattern matching between the two surfaces will be v important...tiles is 300by300. for part away from oil and water we use postform for the top, for me it's good enuff. look nice too. yeah we manage to get mayching colour for our laminates for the postform Share this post Link to post Share on other sites