Air

Inconsiderate Neighbours

read this thread, and can't help but went to register and come in to complian.

d a m n suay to have neighbours who like to keep a lot of things at the corridor. its dirty, disgusting, and so inconsiderate.

my neighbour will burn those incense papers at least tiwce a month, outside her flat, using TWO metal tin. i will sometimes find myself waking up to smoke filling up my whole house. mine is a 3 room flat, corridor unit some more. my main door and windows are kept close most of the time, yet the smoke can still fill up mu whole house. then my curtains, my newly washed laundry will smell of that smoke. not to mention dangerous.

complained to town council twice, but i still see them burning.

and i'm not against any religion or anything, i'm chinese too. but i just don't agree with people burning incense paper outside their flats.

n this aunty used to hang her ah ma under wear and bra outside too, facing my door. but she stopped doing that recently.

Edited by homeloverme

read this thread, and can't help but went to register and come in to complian.

d a m n suay to have neighbours who like to keep a lot of things at the corridor. its dirty, disgusting, and so inconsiderate.

my neighbour will burn those incense papers at least tiwce a month, outside her flat, using TWO metal tin. i will sometimes find myself waking up to smoke filling up my whole house. mine is a 3 room flat, corridor unit some more. my main door and windows are kept close most of the time, yet the smoke can still fill up mu whole house. then my curtains, my newly washed laundry will smell of that smoke. not to mention dangerous.

complained to town council twice, but i still see them burning.

and i'm not against any religion or anything, i'm chinese too. but i just don't agree with people burning incense paper outside their flats.

n this aunty used to hang her ah ma under wear and bra outside too, facing my door. but she stopped doing that recently.

Your case also quite jia lat....ya lor...SB suay to have this kind of ppl as neighbours...but are they allowed to burn incense papers outside their flat?? I thought must burn at the grass patch downstairs cos might cause fire?

I tink its allowed...cos my neighbour also burn in a bin outside their unit...grass patches is during the 7th month oni...other than tat, 1st and 15th day if the lunar mth is normal - burn along the corridor in a bin...

Bt why must use 2 bins? 1 bin is sufficient ma...

I tink its allowed...cos my neighbour also burn in a bin outside their unit...grass patches is during the 7th month oni...other than tat, 1st and 15th day if the lunar mth is normal - burn along the corridor in a bin...

Bt why must use 2 bins? 1 bin is sufficient ma...

Oh it's allowed ah? But it's so dangerous leh...the hougang incident shd make the relevant authorities step up on such measures leh....no burning of incense papers outside flat, only can burn it downstairs....and it's so inconsiderate leh...some ppl have no sense of consideration for other ppl one... :P

Maybe use 2 bins can finish burning faster? :dunno:

thats why. i thought they are only suppose to burn downstairs with the bin provided?

its so dangerous lor.

aiyah... living in a flat is all about consideration and tolerance.

If it doesn't happen thru out the year, just bite the bullet and "ren" for a while loh.

I also cannot tahan the smoke from all the burning papers, but it is a religious ritual by the chinese for that one month, let it go. Close the windows for a while, when the wind clears the air a little, then open back lah. That is what air-cons are for... no?

If we are easily riled and irked by these things, where is the harmony going to be when living in high rise apartments?

If it doesn't happen thru out the year, just bite the bullet and "ren" for a while loh.

I also cannot tahan the smoke from all the burning papers, but it is a religious ritual by the chinese for that one month, let it go. Close the windows for a while, when the wind clears the air a little, then open back lah. That is what air-cons are for... no?

If we are easily riled and irked by these things, where is the harmony going to be when living in high rise apartments?

i'm talking about at least twice every month, since i move in one year ago.and not to mention the daily joss stick burning, and this i already live with. again, i must stress i got nothing against any religion.

Edited by homeloverme

Precisely lor....it's about consideration...but what's the use of us being considerate to others when others simply take advantage of it? Actually the smoke smell will stay on fabrics and the worse things that absorb the smell are the curtains....so imagine u come home everyday, even if your neighbours did not burn the papers, your house still reek the smell of smoke? Sometimes when we leave the house, we do leave the windows slightly open to allow ventilation. I for one, don't like to close all my windows cos if you don't air your house, there will be a smell. So with these kind of neighbours, you are forced to go against your routine...you are forced to shut tight your windows...where is the consideration here?

I believe none of us are petty beings who just pick on little things to complain...we all have a certain amount of tolerance for inconsideration...sometimes ppl just cross the line...that's when your patience reaches its limit...

Precisely lor....it's about consideration...but what's the use of us being considerate to others when others simply take advantage of it? Actually the smoke smell will stay on fabrics and the worse things that absorb the smell are the curtains....so imagine u come home everyday, even if your neighbours did not burn the papers, your house still reek the smell of smoke? Sometimes when we leave the house, we do leave the windows slightly open to allow ventilation. I for one, don't like to close all my windows cos if you don't air your house, there will be a smell. So with these kind of neighbours, you are forced to go against your routine...you are forced to shut tight your windows...where is the consideration here?

I believe none of us are petty beings who just pick on little things to complain...we all have a certain amount of tolerance for inconsideration...sometimes ppl just cross the line...that's when your patience reaches its limit...

yah lor, thats my point. the smell on my curtains, on my laundry (which i hang inside my house). i can't possibly wash my curtains twice a month right?

for me i already shut all the corridor windows and door when i'm sleeping. but i woke up to whole house of smoke on tuesday. and its not the first time already.

when i first moved in, i thought got fire leh

Edited by homeloverme

I agree... talking to them help?

if talking to the one who does it does not help, then talking to other members of the home may help

yah lor, thats my point. the smell on my curtains, on my laundry (which i hang inside my house). i can't possibly wash my curtains twice a month right?

for me i already shut all the corridor windows and door when i'm sleeping. but i woke up to whole house of smoke on tuesday. and its not the first time already.

I think even if you shut all your windows also not much use lah cos not air-tight one mah...the smoke will still sneak into your house somehow ....and I had thought that TC would treat this as a serious issue ever since the hougang incident....looks like not the case...

that bad ah?

if taking to them no use, then take picture and call up the authorities.

:dunno: If worse come to worse, install a smoke alarm that triggers the authorities to come when smoke is detected.

and when the fire engines come cos the alarms went off and they find that the cause is your neighbor, they will definitely do something about it :P

see your neighbor scared or not!

I agree... talking to them help?

if talking to the one who does it does not help, then talking to other members of the home may help

i didn't wanna approach them directly. thought not so nice.

I think even if you shut all your windows also not much use lah cos not air-tight one mah...the smoke will still sneak into your house somehow ....and I had thought that TC would treat this as a serious issue ever since the hougang incident....looks like not the case...

yah lor hor, not air tight mah.

i told tc twice already. but no calls, no feedback from them. i called them again to check, they say they gave them advice already. but doesn't change anything what.

that bad ah?

if taking to them no use, then take picture and call up the authorities.

:dunno:If worse come to worse, install a smoke alarm that triggers the authorities to come when smoke is detected.

and when the fire engines come cos the alarms went off and they find that the cause is your neighbor, they will definitely do something about it :P

see your neighbor scared or not!

Haha that's what I thought so too!! :)

i didn't wanna approach them directly. thought not so nice.

yah lor hor, not air tight mah.

i told tc twice already. but no calls, no feedback from them. i called them again to check, they say they gave them advice already. but doesn't change anything what.

Think TC quite passive one lah...they will only act on it unless something major happens...by then might be too late liao lor....your neighbours haven't caused a fire that's y they cannot do anything except to give them warning...

Actually you just try talking to them nicely and hope that they will understand...cos u nvr speak up, they wil think you are ok with it and continue burning lor..

Edited by Air

Haha that's what I thought so too!! :dunno:

Think TC quite passive one lah...they will only act on it unless something major happens...by then might be too late liao lor....your neighbours haven't caused a fire that's y they cannot do anything except to give them warning...

Actually you just try talking to them nicely and hope that they will understand...cos u nvr speak up, they wil think you are ok with it and continue burning lor..

nope, i already pointed out earlier - nobody can do a damm thing about burning incense paper...

thats why homeloverme's neighbour DOES NOT have any neighbours who hang their laundry outside. :P